[LIVE DEBATE UPDATE] HOW MY POST WENT FROM 3,000 Dollars to 3 Dollars

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

So I posted a LIVE video debate which was happening on YouTube and posted the video so people could participate in the Youtube chat. The Post got a lot of attention and to my surprise when I woke up this morning it was on the front page and worth over 3,000$.

Funny thing is the blog posts are supped to payout after 12hrs and mine post had been posted over 18hrs prior with no payout. How did my post go from being valued at over 3K USD to 3 dollars?

https://steemit.com/steem/@satoshifpv/live-debate-about-steem

I understand this is not my video but I posted it LIVE as it happened to give everyone on STEEMIT the chance to participate which everyone did. NO ONE ELSE HAD POSTED THIS VIDEO FOR OVER 2HRS when the LIVE CHAT aspect was over.

After 1hr my post was worth over 2K USD. Which demonstrates people took notice and tuned in to the LIVE debate. Why was this value then removed from my post? I don't see how everyone in the Steemit community found this link valuable then and no longer now...

The video was eventually posted by the original creator @blakemiles84 and earned well over 7 thousand USD. So I do not feel I took any value from the original creators. In fact my post most likely increased the popularity of @blakemiles84 post below.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@blakemiles84/the-great-steemit-debate-tone-vays-vs-blakemiles84

I must say this platform is very misleading when it values posts at very high values only to evaporate the value before the payout occurs. On top of the fact that 3$ the payout is still pending over 20hrs after the post.

The Steem HARD FORK was supposed to reduce the time of blog payouts to 12hrs. Unless the fork was a complete failure there seems to be a unreasonable amount of manipulation of post value, voting and honesty.

Unfortunately at this point it looks like Tone Vays was correct.

Sort:  

@satoshifpv - I definitely didn't want that to happen. I was glad you had earned a lot on posting that... Looks like there were a bunch of people that removed their votes?

All I can see is the community had an organic response to me being the one in the debate?

One component that explains price fluctuations is that the 7 day rolling average has decreased, but there were A LOT of people that removed their upvote from your post. That sucks. I didn't remove mine from yours, but I'm sure thats of little consolation now.

I think your best question would be to ask why people unvoted your upvote?

He, i've unvoted to protect your right to get rewarded for your work u have done @blackmiles84 – and fight for STEEM in the arena of Bitcoin Max.! So i will give you vote again, as i'm seeing you're absolutely ok with this @blackmiles84 :)! @satoshifpv, this was nothing personal, i apologize if u got bad feelings due this action. This was not my tend.

That's why i love this community :) let's talk about an get things done together this transparent way!

Again @satoshifpv pls don't take to personal - just think of if u would be the person who would get this kinda protection from the community about your content.

Happy steeming


I was just trying to post quality content in a timely manner to inform the community. I guess it's clear they do not value my participation in this community. :-(

We do value your participation but also we are trying to protect our community members against "plagiarism / fraud" as best as we can collaboratively ! Nice to see both seems to be working.

ok was to late so upvoted this one - hope this helps! Now, go ahead and get some awesome content out there :P

Hello,

The chat system isn't ideal here, so I'm sorry for having to try to catch you here.

Just noticed that you have a great attitude about Steemit.com and how you value others as exhibited in this comment above. Then I noticed that you had upvoted a post of mine that never even made it to becoming published, due to a blunder on my part.

Just curious what you saw was worthwhile in my post.

Cheers and thanks for the upvote!

@blakemiles84 I did ask that question... The little time I've been on this platform i've tried to contribute quality content. Go look at all my blog posts! Were the downvotes because of my post of a Steem Copy Cat ? https://steemit.com/steem/@satoshifpv/steemit-copy-cat-looks-like-steem-has-some-competition

I found that article interesting and thought it was good information. I don't see how one post can affect another one.

I was just trying to post quality content in a timely manner to inform the community. I guess it's clear they do not value my participation in this community. :-(

Well, I would argue they do. I do. Interesting dynamic to see play out.

Only advice I can offer is to keep driving on if you enjoy it.

The community support has pleasantly surprised me :-) I am working on some good content that should add some value and interest to the Steemit platform. Thanks for your help and advice.

this is exactly what i am talking about, people keep moaning at me because i keep pushing the subject but it has effected alot of people. what happened was the whales removed their votes. removing all value!

https://steemit.com/steemit/@egjoshslim/another-post-about-whales-not-the-legitimate-ones-that-actually-read-content-i-love-the-legitimate-whales-less-than-3
we need need normal peoples upvotes to be worth more, something to bring abit of balance and motivate people too keep on posting!

Great post, thank you for sharing; can you advise on "down voting bots"? I am continuously plagued by them on all posts, blogs and comments?? Check this comment after I've posted??

Why don't we make an vote lock-in mechanism? This would then only activate say after 5min or what ever

so when people remove thier update it does reduces the value ot your sd

For the record I downvoted the original post because at the time it was making far more (5x) than the post by @blakemiles84 himself, which I didn't agree with.

Now I'm not against posting links to content in general, but when the content creators themselves make posts about their content on Steem I prefer to let the rewards go to them.

actually it has been reduced, but as that was already the case for the 24hours, there are some over time, something like 4hours (don't ask... I am new here lol). Also as I have noticed before the end, you'll lose about 25% of the actual post value.
Not sure though why yours went down to 3 dollars... yeah may-be because someone noticed, the original author wasn't you ;) (I personally would be pretty pissed off, if someone was posting the content I was intending to post before me... lol)

This is supposed to be a blockchain... not proof of someone noticed! Read my post, everyone used and enjoyed the link while it was up... Made of 2K before any other similar link was posted after the fact the live video was over. Everyone took benefit from the link and info and then removed the value as they saw fit...

people are also free to do whatever they want...

I think it's because on your blog most of your posts are anti-steemit, so the whale who upvoted you for $3000 decided to remove the vote because you mostly blog about bitcoin and altcoins, if I was that whale I would do the same.. makes perfect sense

That whale is a idiot... We need to diversify to cater for more topics not just steem... 'A blog that blogs about it self" just look at the trending page

We need to diversify ...

What exactly are you proposing? You can't force people to behave how you want. There's other governmental systems for that and steem sure as hell isnt it

I know, I personally would like more content. I didn't intend to Force anyone. My view is to make STEEM something usable and there for has value. If we were to diversify in tags/topics we would be able to take on any platform regardless of their size. And that is what I'm gunning for.

Your post was useless. I didn't upvote it to begin with. I can't believe your whining still got you anything at all. I hope you leave Steemit.

You can find out on the blockchain explorer :

https://steemd.com/@satoshifpv

Many downvotes and un-votes 1 hour ago

In anycase this site in manipulated by a few. Five million people could upvote this post and nothing would happen because some dudes named @smooth @ned has the voting power of the entire planet. Also the post never paid out when it was supposed to, the countdown was in slow mo to give these guys time to shuffle their money around.

Post payout time is affected by votes in a stake weighted manner. So votes from a whale will increase the time to payout by several hours, depending on factors like how many votes the post already has and the current payout time.

No manipulation is going on, it's just how the system works.

that main post has not payed out yet ...
perhaps if there's an influx of upvote / downvote it postpones the payment ?

i'm really not sure about that , but I think this is more plausible than a conspiracy theory about the timer being slowed down just for this post "to give these guys time to shuffle their money around"

the more active the post the longer the payout time

btw you sounds as if you deserve the money, well you dont. It is their upvote and sadly they can give it or take it away if they please

In my personal experience, the time until payout gets extended when high weight votes are cast.

You still have votes from whales i think this is one big bullshit.
You have voteup from @berniethesanders and his vote is worth +200$.

And of course you dont get even one vote from whale. They like only positive info...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59956.07
ETH 2524.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49