You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 7 Days Later Finally Purchased Steem. I'll tell you how to buy Steem Fast!

in #steem7 years ago

I want to try buying some steem power. I am really new, have no clue about digital currency at all (and am afraid of it actually). I don't have access to much money, and use paypal when I am online. Can I just use that on changelly with USD and buy some steem power? Sorry, I feel so stupid trying to learn this stuff and feel that I have to take a step to actually be involved to learn. I am on Social security disability, and can't afford to waste anything. Thanks @binkley

Sort:  

I have just bought steem. You can see it in my wallet. It took about 24 hrs to figure it out for me. I'm a noob. It is a complicated process but once you do it a few times it will not be too hard to do....I have figured out a few things so far to watch out for. www.Bittrex.com is a well respected trading platform that trades Bitcoin for steem or SBD. Since they don't take debit cards or paypal to buy either you have to buy Bitcoin and then transfer it to Bittrex and then once their you can follow this guide https://steemit.com/bittrex/@cryptos/how-to-transfer-steem-from-bittrex-to-steemit-com

I will try my hardest to put together a complete step by step walk through but it will take some time as it is very complex.

But again once you do it once or twice you would feel comfortable doing it. Learning the terminology and finding the right websites is half of the battle. For ease of use I would suggest Coinbase for creating an account that accepts normal payments and is safe and secure. It is easy to use to buy bitcoin and they have a lot of help and faqs to get you started. The less transfers you have to make the better. So Buy Bitcoin on Coinbase. Read their how to send section https://support.coinbase.com/customer/en/portal/articles/971437-how-do-i-send-digital-currency-.

You have to make sure you click the plus sign for the currency you are wanting to deposit at bittrex...This is super important. The address for deposit is what you need at coinbase to transfer funds from coinbase to bittrex Read about bittrex bitcoin wallet and how to deposit bitcoin...https://support.bittrex.com/hc/en-us/articles/115000199631-How-do-I-deposit-coins-to-Bittrex-

Until buying steem is resolved I know it is going to be difficult for new people to buy steem or SBD.

I have written an article urge people to try and help come up with a solution. https://steemit.com/steemit/@binkley/the-death-of-steem-unless-something-is-done-fast
There is an update to steemit coming very soon. Let's hope this update helps with this.

Sorry, It looks like changelly isn't handling steem any more. I'm not even sure where to buy it at all as of right now. I will have to do some research to try and find a way to buy it. At changelly you could use your mastercard or visa at least to buy it which made it super easy butthe credit card processing fees were high so it was best to use coindesk to buy a block chain currency such as Bitcoin, Ethereum, or Lightcoin and then use it to trade for steem at changelly.Since they don't trade it anymore and neither does pollinex. I'm lost and now find myself in your shoes. Ill try to find an easy solution for the both of us.

You are in the exact same position that I was in. As steem grows in popularity one day you will be able to do exactly as you described and that will be so easy. The people that created most of these block chain currencies are geniuses at computer programming but have almost zero idea how to market and sell to customer. They all should take a class in making things easy for users to do so that they get more users.

It took me a while to figure it out also. I was like you and asked a ton of people how to do it and always got vague answers. My mother is in your same shoes and recently my dad passed away. She is on an extremely fixed income and she is trying to figure it out also. Would a video help? I was thinking about making a video or maybe just a well written step by step guide with pictures?

I will try to help you. Let me put the step by step guide together for you. I'll come back here and share a link for you.

Changelly IS NOW SELLING STEEM AGAIN! Super Easy To Purchase Steem if you are new to exchanges and stuff. Good Luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64081.52
ETH 3398.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62