My bitcoin journey .. picking up where I left off two years ago

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

 Navigating thru the bitcoin jungle has taken more effort than I initially anticipated. When I first learned of bitcoins in 2013, there were a handful of services available at the time, however, their mobile wallets were lacking. Today we have many robust options to choose from and they continue to improve as the months go by.

I purchased my first bitcoin using coinbase. It was easy to set it up and draw from my checking account whenever I wanted to buy bitcoins. I also setup my account with blockchain.info in order to have a wallet for which I had access to my private key. 

 Jump forward 2 years and I continue to buy bitcoins thru coinbase. I store my purchased bitcoins with Aribitz for future spending. I have a private key for my airbitz account and am able to spend my bitcoins thru their app whenever I want. 

 I tend to try out different service providers, but I don’t close the accounts. I was chatting recently with some bitcoin friends and was told that blockchain.info is coming out with a new mobile wallet. This industry is constantly evolving and the service providers are in a race to be the leader. 

 Recently I took a refresher course with coursera on bitcoins, it is available for FREE to anyone and it is offered by Princeton University. The course offers a lot of good information on the entire process of mining, transactions, the blockchain, etc. I was impressed at how detailed the information they provided was. The course explained several things I don’t fully comprehend yet, but I recommend anyone interested in learning about the functionality of the bitcoin technology to take the class.

Thanks for reading much appreciated !


Sort:  

Just don't use shitbase PLEASE!, Localbitcoins is a better choice.

You really have to stay in the loop when it comes to these things. Thanks for the info on the class. I only took a few months off from all of this and next thing I know, Steem is here.

Congratulations @pietpiraat19! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @pietpiraat19! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @pietpiraat19! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94