You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ⏺Knowledge vs. intelligence.. Why I hated school!

in #steem7 years ago

I feel like I was in the opposite position in school, lol. I was one of the ones getting all the good grades, but not really having knowledge that I could apply to my life from that. And then when I got out of high school and went to university, I suddenly became aware of how stupid the system was. I realized that I was getting good grades in university not based on my knowledge and application of it, but based on whether or not I could rotely spit out the answer that that particular professor or that particular TA wanted to hear. There was no correct way to write an essay, there was no skill that I was developing and learning. It was just a matter of talking to these professors and TAs enough until I figured out what they specifically wanted to see in my writing, and then I just had to do that robotically and I'd get an A. Needles to say I dropped out after two years, and could not be happier for having done that.

The problem with this is that rotely spitting out the answer that others want to see has nothing to do with intelligence and application and everything to do with being a puppet, or a cog in the system, if you will. That's what the society needs. People who follows orders but don't think for themselves. And people who have gained little to no intelligence or skills form their 20 some years in school.

Sorry to be blunt, but this is how I honestly feel about the education system today. And I couldn't agree more with you, that education has almost nothing to do with intelligence. And that's because the education system today does not improve one's intelligence or give them a skill set that they can use in life. Being able to spit out memorized answers for a test does not give a person intelligence, and it certainly does not give them skills that they can use in life, except maybe memorization skills, haha. Great post! Cheers! :)

Sort:  

This is the reason why some people call it government indoctrination camps. Pupils are just repeating what the books say (or the government wants them to say) but waste their youth and most creative time doing so to become a brainwashed, easy to control puppet. Instead of developing skills that might acutally help them for the rest of their lives.

So true. Look, I'm not here to hate on school. I think it's a great thing for many people out there who want stability for their future. But the problem comes in when the system only accommodates a single personality type, and that's for being a follower.

They have a very mono-approach to things. Like expecting a fish to climb a tree. They call that fish stupid. Yet, they don't ever attempt to put it in the water, and see how fast it can swim. That's literally my story in a nut-shell lol!

Thanks for stopping by again brother. Talk again soon.

Wow, love this comment. You are awesome, Natasha.

Yeah, look I was obviously speaking for my own thoughts on this topic. Majority of others will have a different experience for the schooling career. I respect anyone who get decent marks in school. Even though it's a very simple process (Just do what the teachers look for), I didn't have time for that.. That's all. I'm not saying getting good grades was easy though. Anyone who got decent grades definitely worked in some way for it. Expecially the really high achievers, it's clear they had to work really hard.

I'm more upset, like you stated, about the schooling system itself, and the unhealthy paradigms that people have about education.

Awesomely said. It's alright, you can be blunt! I am very much in the same mode :)

Thanks for stopping by. You are awesome. I have given you a follow, and I have checked out your blog and engaged :) Talk soon.

Couldn't agree more @enazwahsdarb!

I am glad!

Are you avoiding opportunity without knowing it? That's my latest post. Enjoy :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60535.76
ETH 2598.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54