My two-cents (and it's only worth 2) on downvoting

in #steem7 years ago

Downvoting is a feature

For better or worse, downvoting is a feature of STEEM. And as a feature users can use it. Users can use it without having to justify their use.

Can people downvote for nefarious reasons? Sure.

Can people upvote for nefarious reasons? Sure.

That’s where we hope those who are heavily invested in STEEM are incentivised not to act in ways that will undermine the platform. I think for the most part this is the case. People just have different opinions of what constitutes undermining.

More downs than up

I’m not a fan of the downvoting. It causes more friction than it’s worth. A person on the receiving end of a downvote will inevitability harbour ill-will, regardless of the intention behind it. On the flip side people will sometimes see downvoting as their only recourse to bad practices. Be it plagiarism or voting practice that they perceive as harming the platform.

Another committee might work

I like the idea of a Flag Review Council. I'd like to see a group of people, voted in and incentivised (like Witnesses) to arbitrate on whether to flag a piece of content or author.

I’d like to see a Council operating within a narrow remit. If the community does not like the way the members of Council is arbitrating, like Witnesses they can be voted out and new ones who represent the Community voted in.

I think there are some content that most would agree merit flagging e.g. plagiarism or spammers. There are other situations that would probably merit more discussion (e.g. over-rewarding).

Users can decide how far down the muddied corridors of flagging debates and policy they wish to go without it being paraded like it's a core feature of the platform. In truth, flagging is a fringe feature with limited mass appeal.

Don't sweat the small stuff

From what I’ve seen there is nothing “bad” or “evil” happening on Steemit at the moment. If you think what is going on on this site is wicked or sinister, I’d say travel a little. Being deprived of a few dollars on a website that rewards people for posting content is small potatoes.

At worse, I’m seeing a dialogue that can be paraphrased as,
“You downvoted me? WTF? I sweat my balls off providing quality content for this site. Fuck You!”
“I’m downvoting you for the overall good of the platform. Fuck me? I’ll do what I want Fuck You too.”

Been there, done that

Believe me, I get it. I can see both sides.

I was here in May and watched “my” rewards shrink drastically, after I had mentally ‘banked’ the money. I’ve been on my rants too… threatened to do all sorts to the Dans and Neds of the platform

Now I see myself as more of an investor, than an author and can see how some heavily investors in STEEM can look at a post/ poster as being ‘over-rewarded’, factoring in
How much does a post get?
How often does the author post? How much reward do their other posts attract? How much is the author raking in daily?
Are post rewards likely to go towards projects to enhance the platform?
What is the content? Will it help on-board users? Is it formulaic?
Is the post over-benefiting from lazy curation (or worse still collusive curation)? Is there similar (better) content missing out as a consequence?
Etc. etc.

Eventhough 'over-rewards' is not a particular bug-bear of mine. I can see how the issue is not black and white - good vs evil.

However all-in-all, it's childs play. Particularly when you consider the amounts involved and the prize at stake should STEEM get it right and achieve mass adoption.

Get a room

I’d like to see these flagging debates moved off-line and handled by a Council of moderators voted by the Community. The Council can make decision on flagging and publish the rationale behind any contentious decisions in a post. They can be held accountable through voting.

Hell, I cannot wait for Communities. This would certainly be a niche community ("Steemit Moderation") that I wouldn’t want a newbie to be exposed to unless they choose to go deep into the recesses of the inner workings of STEEM. I hope Steemit can become a "go-to" place for casual users to find exciting, new, provocative content. And where they can bag some rewards for their participation.

Frankly my dear...

The whole debate on who flagged who, “bad whales”, doing “evil” etc etc is of interest to no-one outside of a handful of people on this platform. It will help on board no-one. I dare say, the silent majority that are here, couldn’t give a hoot about who got flagged by whom. They'll deal with the "problem" of having their "over-rewards" curtailed when they get there!

Bottom line is… Let’s get rid of downvoting as a feature for individual users. My aunt won’t use it! Move the moderation and flagging of content to a back-office function. And leave the creative, interesting, informative, engaging content front-and-centre.

That’s all folks!

99947-rabbit-season-duck-season-imgu-npal.gif

Sort:  

Im all for a flag review councel !! Bring it on , something needs to be done soon , people are getting fed up and leaving or not joining !! Because of all of this plus the lopsided ness of lt all my 2 sons 27 and 30 will not join ! The downvoteing has become a joke especially if you only may get 1 good payout per month ! Its only 1 or 2 whales here that will come along and downvote it saying your draining the rewards pool ! Its total BS ! And as said by @krnel its : Irrational , Hypicritical and Inconsistent !! Upvoted and resteemed !!👍😉

Sorry to hear that @karenmckersie. Yea I had possible prospects lined up but this issue is what is preventing me from being able to on board more users and to invest my bitcoins into STEEM.

Its quite understandable !! 👍😉

If it were handled similar to witnesses I could get behind this. As I stated at this point I'm willing to try anything. If what we try doesn't work we need to be willing to back up and try something else.

EDIT: I don't think doing nothing is a very good option either.

EDIT 2: And yes communities, interest groups, etc is something that's been need for a long time now.

I love steemit and all it's potential to get involved with crypto currency for the creative community but I don't like the few sp whales that hijacked steemit. Downvoting effects rewards but it also puts creative authors in no man's land if these few whales get you in their targets. I think if the community did back one another when outrageous downvoting or upvoting took place it would show we could break out of the same old same old and really decentralize. I'm new here so, maybe, a lot of what I'm saying needs more light shed on my perspective. I took the founders vision and saw the community as different. Loving, caring and stronger in making a better platform. I am believing in better times for Steemit because the majority of people here have imagination, creativity and we need to be ruled by that rather than bean counters, money junkies and power players.

I’m not a fan of the downvoting. It causes more friction than it’s worth. A person on the receiving end of a downvote will inevitability harbour ill-will, regardless of the intention behind it.

A big problem is that I usually don't know the intention for flags, because the flagger does not have to give a reason at all. You said that some will harbour ill-will regardless of the intention. In reality, I would rather know the intention, even if I think it's a lousy one, than to not know why I was flagged.

I am a very understanding and flexible person, but you can't understand what you have zero information about.

I think that if someone is going to flag they should have the courage to say why. But since most people don't seem to have the courage, the system should have it built in that a reason must be provided before a flag is applied.

So if I get a flag I don't know if it's because my topic is controversial, they don't like me, or they think I earned too much. Assuming that they think it earned too much, why do they think that? I have no clue? So if they choose the reason that payment is too high, they should add some further reasons that they think so. Was it very poor quality? (in their opinion) Should the topic I talk about never get to trending because you don't like that topic? ??
(p.s. I was flagged recently by transisto after getting to trending for my first time ever in over half a year)

Anyways, I'm not sweating it anymore and I've just decided that Steemit is the Wild West where anything goes and no reason is needed and I'm taking my chances. That has made me more content.
But if things could change that would be nice.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.05 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Downvoted... j/k :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52