What is Steem?

in #steem6 years ago

tibd57j09o.png

This post is primarily a response to @whatsup's post where she's sharing her thoughts on Steem and looking towards the future.

There's a lot that's been swirling around my head about Steem lately and I figured I'd just bring it all into a post rather than leaving an insanely long comment.

I'm left looking around at Steem and wondering who we are and what we are trying to accomplish here.

My next posts will be focused on trying to find a new vision. We do not reward engaging content that well. We aren't really even trying to onboard people to a social media site. (Some apps are, but not Steem as a whole)

More and more of the reward pool is going to fund projects and I am not really sure that is a bad thing.

I'm thinking Steem isn't a social network at all. It is a group of Apps. Some of those apps continue to focus on Content, while others are going in different directions.

I think the era of Free Votes for the concept of rewarding content will continue to slowly fade. We need to find a new vision as that vision is naturally fading away. More and more of the reward pool is being delegated and funding various projects and then redistributed back to some users. Most of it has nothing to do with content.

That doesn't have to be a problem. It could be a natural development.

So most of this I agree with, but some parts not so much. The more I've learned about Steem I agree that it's not a social network. That's just one application. Given the functionality of Steem it's an intelligent first application. Also given one of the greatest challenges for any cryptocurrency is going to be distribution, I think it's actually a genius application. The stakeholders having the power to distribute the newly minted Steem means that what direction we go in is completely in our hands. That's incredibly powerful. We can continue down the social media track(which I think we should btw) or we can take Steem in a totally different direction. Frankly, we can do both, no problem. The possibilities of what we can do is only limited by our own ability and willingness.

Steem is like a set of legos. The thing that was on the box for us to reference was social media applications, but nothing is stopping us from taking those same building blocks and making whatever we want. For example, I was reading @pennsif's post about how we might create committees for Steem to facilitate different initiatives. Basically creating some sort of organizational structures so we can actually get stuff done.

My first thought was "Damn, that's going to be hard". I feel like there's so many challenges to overcome with that. How do you elect the people? What happens when someone isn't doing what they're supposed to do? How is work evaluated? With no one actually being "in charge" how are disagreements handled? I could go on like this for a while. So I was thinking about solutions and I thought, well how can we leverage the tech that we have at out disposal? So disclaimer, this isn't like an actual proposal just a brainstorming session I had with myself.

So what if there was an entire Dapp dedicated to this? What I envision is any user creates an initiative, some "thing" they want to get done. They create roles, responsibilities, decide rules on elections, terms, whatever. They launch/post it and people can start applying for the roles. Who gets what role is either assigned by the original initiative creator or via stake based voting or one person one vote voting, the original creator could decide that too. Also if someone likes the initiative, they can copy everything, but change the parameters and launch their own initiative, these two could compete to get whatever work done and whoever gets it done gets it done. Maybe they both do. Financing could also be a parameter that the initiative creator sets along with how it's distributed to the contributors.

At first I was thinking this would be a great use case for an SMT, but it could actually all be done with Steem as well. Is the initiative funded via the reward pool? Via donations? These are all part of the initiative creation process and could be used to persuade people to support one over the other. As a decentralized community, I think we have to find creative ways of dealing with organized chaos, and the more I ran this random idea through my head, I couldn't see any real areas where the TECH was the limitation. Of course it would be a ton of work to build that entire structure, but Steem itself could be used without an issue.

All of that is just an example to speak of the incredible amount of variety and diversity that we have here with this technology. The limits are really just our own imaginations.

So what about the idea of rewarding content creation? I still think this is also a good application of Steem not so much because I feel anyone "deserves" this or that or whatever. It's a bit more pragmatic for me. I think that use case makes Steem the lowest barrier to entry cryptocurrency. There are parts of ALL cryptocurrency that are really hard and not user friendly and Steem isn't exempt from that, but as times goes on all of this will get easier and easier, and as it does, this blockchain has the highest probability(IMO) of being greatly adopted because earning it is easy. Earning a lot will and should get more and more difficult, but earning "some" should continue to be easy. Once people have it, then that will give them a reason to figure out what they can do with it. Right now, there's only a handful of things you can do with it, but everyday people are working to increase what you can do with it. I think in the future all of these things will work together for the betterment of Steem.

So in the end answering the question "What is Steem?" Has an answer, but it's not simple, or elegant, or particularly informative unless the person asking already has a certain literacy in cryptocurrency and blockchain technology, so I agree, we should shift it to What is Steempeak? What is Fundition? What is Steem Monsters? What is Busy? What is Esteem? What is Dtube? What is DSound? etc.

Every Dapp is still in pretty early stages, the entire crypto market is still in early stages, but when we're building Dapps that don't require people to know that much about or care about crypto(Which is the road we're on IMO) We'll start to set ourselves apart from the rest of the herd and really be able to demonstrate the true value here.

Sort:  

The way I am thinking about it is that Steem is a platform of apps. (just trying the idea on)

At the Steem level they should market to and use the reward pool to fund apps.

The apps, in turn will try to onboard, promote, and support their own users. If the model supports it they can give out rewards from the apps as well.

I'm just considering the idea. I can no longer say I would feel comfortable telling anyone they can be rewarded for content on Steem. While it is possible that is fading quickly. However, some of the apps, like busy.org still pull that off.

So yea, I think the idea that Steem is a platform for apps is pretty much a fact right? That's always the way I've thought of it and explained it to other people.

But I think the main thing I like about what you were saying is when it comes to promotion, promoting individual Dapps. Trying to promote Steem is like promoting Windows or iOS, they do it, but it's usually just people dancing or something because the only thing they could advertize is a bunch of technical stuff regular people don't care about, so they each just try to seem "cooler" than the alternative.

I think the rewarding of content just has to do with how many people are here, and what they want to do with their SP. Any whale or pod of dolphins could start a curation initiative to reward whatever type of content they'd like to see, but I think the mood right now is more around "How do we save Steem?" and I think a focus on curating content is more like a thing to do in the good times. I dunno I could be wrong about that, just what it feels like to me. Thanks for taking the time to read and reply :)

I thought this was going to be one of those memes. Like, what is christmas? A pile of miserable presents, kind of memes... XD;;;

Interesting blog post, @midlet :)

I think Steem remains one of those things for me. It's like a platform to build stuff on, and there's either too many cooks in the kitchen or the head chef is thinking to serve both ramen soup noodles and budget hamburgers at once, all the while the owners are thinking maybe the best thing is to crowdsource all the positions in the kitchen.

...

But yes, a platform to build stuff on.

Haha, sorry to disappoint if you were primed for some memes XD

Haha, yea it's a chaotic place, and I think when we learn to organize within that chaos we'll be able to do a lot more cool stuff. @curie is a good example. They've got organization, process, and incentives all figured out so that they're getting stuff done. I think we need more stuff like that attacking different problems.

i think steem expanded too quickly and just needs some time for the dust to settle. With some community spirit and positivity and the realization that there's a lot of talented people invested financially in this system and everyone should want everyone to succeed.

I'm sure its tough for those developers/witnesses who have a foot in both the crypto world and the real world.

Yea, in a way what happened here is just a reflection of what's happening in the greater crypto ecosystem, so I think when things turn around out there, we'll see things turn around here as well.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Wanted you to know I saw this... Interesting. It's really late and I will respond tomorrow.

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @midlet!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.289 which ranks you at #2590 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 5 places in the last three days (old rank 2585).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 373 contributions, your post is ranked at #52.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60676.09
ETH 2903.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46