The Thing About Marketing Steem

in #steem5 years ago

9427i6feg3.jpg

How to market Steem is something I've thought a lot about. Just for fun, I've created loads of Steem related images like the one above, and with a more serious attempt I made my entry for the sixty seconds of Steem competition.

The thing is, I feel like there's a bit of an issue here. In the messages I've come up with before it's really about selling the "potential" of Steem, and I do think that Steem has a ton of potential, but I think that's something you might be able to sell to investors, not casual users.

What we currently have I think is a hard sell for a casual user. When you think about it, in order to market something, you need to be offering a product, service, or solution, or some mix of these.

Do we have a product? Is Steem the product? What will it do for them? How will it improve their lives?

Do we have a service? Some dapps do for sure. Fundition offers a service, but Steem itself is not a service.

Do we have a solution? Yes, we do. You can monetize your content...only Steem is not very good at that. At least not at a serious, you could live off of your earnings here way(this is relative of course)

All of this to say, I think when we talk about marketing Steem we need to frame that conversation not from the perspective of, how can we get people on Steem, but rather...

What products can we offer people?

What services can we offer people?

What solutions can we offer people?

Of course I'm going to circle this back to continue to campaign for my idea of improving the UX for donations on Steem frontends.

I think this is a low hanging solution we can offer to people that is still on brand for the current narrative we have out there anyway which is you can get paid for posting content on Steem.

This would allow for a use for Steem for a casual user. This really just makes me irritated about the whole DLive BETRAYAL all over again because I think this would work best with live streams. I know we still have Vimm, but not being able to save your videos in all reality means that's not really ready for prime time yet.

*edit As I was writing this I realized I hadn't been to Vimm in a while and what do you know
4r57annxf5.png

They already have have I'm talking about, and guess what? People are using it!!! THIS! THIS! is a valuable service and solution we can offer to people. Not just being able to send the Steem, but having it visible that YOU sent it and having in visually reflected in the payout, really happy to see that there.

This also addresses in part the issue of the 7 day payout, as donations wouldn't have a time limit.

So anyway, if you think this idea is stupid that's fine, but I think we should all be brainstorming ways we can use Steem to deliver some value to the outside world other that just the opportunity to invest in a super risky asset that is down like 95% from it's all time high.

Thoughts? Let me know in the comments, and thanks for looking/reading peeps!

Sort:  

I've been living off steem since Dec 2017. Other people in the 3rd world are doing so too. Others are not living off of it but do take it for various regular expenses.

I power down weekly and make it back - and more - by blogging. When spammers ask me if I am a holder or a trader, I tell them I am a user.

I do think you want to push the dapps. Some of them pay very well. @tasteem for restaurant reviews and @steemhunt come to mind as places to get dependable and significant rewards. Reseach them one by one and target the people who do the things they do for free elsewhere.

That's awesome that you've been able to make a living here. I think mass adoption looks like what you mentioned. People aren't just going to be investing, they need to use it too. I haven't really gotten into steemhunt, I need to check them out.

Steemhunt is not for me at all. You need to like to shop and be tech-y. But I see some people get good rewards every single day on it when they are that kind of person. And they jsst had 2 token sales or ico's or whatever they are and blew out in minutes. I think that would be a good one to start with :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @midlet!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.534 which ranks you at #1960 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 8 places in the last three days (old rank 1952).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 182 contributions, your post is ranked at #30.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all the latest news on the Steem blockchain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63632.98
ETH 2727.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58