Here are the reasons I bought more STEEM today and Powered Up

in #steem7 years ago

Just a note to say that I purchased even more STEEM while the price was below $1.00 USD. It's certainly possible the price will continue to go down, but here are a few of the reasons why I bought more:

  • Dividends - Perhaps not quite the right word, but as my stake in STEEM increases, the more I influence I have on Steemit, which gives me more in payouts. That's kind of like getting a dividend as a shareholder.
  • I am really enjoying being a part of the Steemit community. It's a whole lot more interesting than buying a random crypto-coin that you think will go up and holding or trying to trade at the right time.
  • I'm hoping to continue learning how to program and build something on top of blockchain tech. From what I've seen, there are good javascript libraries to access blockchain data. I have several ideas for apps on top of STEEM blockchain, so I'm continuing to invest in something that I see as having potential.

Those are a few of the reasons. I also like how Steemit encourages long term holdings with Steem Power. That makes it less likely for people to panic sell, like often happens with other crypto-currencies.

Also, because there is a community that actively communicates with eachother on Steemit, I think there is a great opportunity for an economy to arise: people buying and selling, as well as working for STEEM. I'd like to be active in that STEEM economy.

Let me know what you think.

Sort:  

It will be lower man
stay calm!

I'm calm :-)

Thanks for commenting. I try to buy at least once a week. The real power of Steemit is being able to meet great people... but I'm sure hopeful that I can buy STEEM when it's low and then ride it up to a higher price.

I powered up a little bit of Steem today too. My theory is, the more Steem power I have, the quicker I can grow my Steem balance by commenting and upvoting. Upvote this comment and follow me if you agree :)

I do like how the more Steem Power you have, the more influence you have on the Steemit and potentially more payouts.

I'll check out what kind of posts you've written. If I'm interested in what you've been writing, I'll follow. Otherwise not. I like to use Steemit to connect with people, not just to try to get a few cents in payouts.

Hey, man! About our talk on how to get knowledge to be a blockchain developer...I gathered a lot of good content to get started.
Check it out: https://pastebin.com/raw/rdEM1hRm
I'm investing a lot of time reading Andreas Antonopolous's book, learning Solidity, checking out some codes on Github, amongst other things.
What do you think?

Very nice post. I'm hoping to buy some steem as well. I think you are doing the right thing, invest in something you know and something you believe will work. In the long run you will always be using steem and it will pay off faster than just doing trades. I'm happy for you and thanks for sharing this strategy.

Roberto, muchas gracias por tu commentario. Good to see you here. Thanks for reading my posts. I appreciate it.

Con mucho gusto. Muy interesante el análisis que realizo sobre el mercado de las criptomonedas y como es un buen momento para comprar steem.

Thank you for sharing @matthewdavid... and thank you a lot to be the first visitor to my first post in steemit... thank you... thank you...

It's definitely a good idea to buy while the price is low. Who cares if it gets $0.02 lower at some point? It will bounce back up again in the future and you will have made a good profit from the Steem as well as making a profit from having increased power over time. I would do the same if I wasn't a skint college student ahahaha :)

Thanks for commenting Kyle! Good to see you here.

Good content. Clean logic. I am going to buy a lot more in the coming days

Thanks for resteeming my post. I think that building up Steem Power is a good investment because it can increase what you are able to earn by being a contributor (with posts, upvotes and comments). Given enough Steem Power, it's possible to have a good daily income from Curation and Author Rewards.

But I think making honest connections with people is the way to do it, instead of trying to "game the system". Also, I think there's a real possibility that the Steem Economy to take off and that's when real connection with people will make a big difference.

I am most definitely with you on "making honest connections." I made put up a post about the need to cut down on the bots intended to "game the system." You might want to check that out on https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@misterakpan/shouldn-t-we-kick-some-bots-for-steemit-to-really-work 😉
Let's keep steeming, friend

Well done, I am thinking to converte all that I have in bitcoin into steem, I think steem will have an amazing future and active people here will be very rich :)

Congratulations @matthewdavid! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Agree with everything you have said here. Being on Steemit feels like a time machine back to the golden days of blogging when not everyone was doing it and everybody was happy to support one another, engage etc. This became less valuable on most social networking sites over the years as the quality diluted.

Let's hope this place stays high quality.

Always interested to hear peoples projects they are building. I'm a web developer and SEO consultant and so always experimenting in one way or another. :)

Keep up the good work. One tip. I noticed a typo that would have been easily picked up if you ran your post through Grammarly the free version which checks contextual mistakes. Hope that brings some value to your Steemit future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44