2017 Guide on How to Become Steemit Whale!

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

If you are new to STEEM or want to have a bigger stake and influence on the platform before it goes out of Beta and dethronizes Medium/Facebook/Reddit..

...Then there is a perfect moment now!

I will explain steps and give reasoning by each one so you can read this guide up and decide for yourself on what to do.

1. Buy BTC and then buy STEEM.

Obviously first create account here but then you need to get STEEM. The cheapest way is to first buy Bitcoin then exchange is to STEEM and send to your account.
If you are from EU buy BTC ie from Bitstamp in USA buy from Bitfinex or use some local exchange.

You can also buy STEEM directly with Credit Card with a little higher price but instant from Changelly

If you go this route all you do is choose amount, put your STEEM nickname in the field and thats it.

Bitcoin has raised so price of STEEM is really good now to enter.

2. Power Up.

STEEM is a currency, to make it usable on STEEM platform you need to Power Up. Go to https://steemit.com/@YOURNICKNAME/transfers
and click Power Up.

3. Start autovoting stuff!

Join http://steemvoter.com from @steemvoter @thecryptodrive @marcgodard and put there users you want to automatically vote up when they launch posts, times and amounts of your power.
This will not only make this people earn more but also will let you earn as a curator (guy choosing content that will be popular before its popular).
Choose people you like content of or look for people with big payouts.
Of course do not forget to put me there :)

If you prefer initially do this with your own hands to see who is worth auto voting and who is not.

4. Follow popular vote trails!

http://streemian.com by @xeroc and @chainsquad allows you to follow manual votes of people who you think vote on good stuff. You can add me there too https://streemian.com/profile/curationtrail/operator/199 (just made account few days ago so not many followers yet) or go for other popular guys like @rusteemitblog
@charlieshrem or @instructor2121.
Then even when you are offline your account will follow good curators and get you paid. It is an great addition to self-chosen authors to auto vote.

5. Produce content


To "mine" STEEM unless you want to be hosting a witness node the best way is just to write. Do not ever copy-paste (it will make you flagged) just write on topics that interest you.
Below pot there is place for tags and you can add 5. GO only for 4. Currently If you add 5 it will count as adding one - so your content will be less visible.
Always keep tags on topic and you will gain viewers!

6. Promote your posts


After you write post its good to let people know about it. Login to http://steemit.chat and post it to ie https://steemit.chat/channel/postpromotion and other channels. Just look for channel rules ie never put links in general channel

Tweet them on twitter with tags #steemit $STEEM (yes with a dollar) you can also mention me https://twitter.com/kingscrownBTC for a chance of retweet.

Follow and VOTE UP @kingscrown the creator of http://fuk.io blog for 0day cryptocurrency news and tips!


Confused about witness voting ? Its very important on STEEM. Read more here.

Sort:  

Hello @kingscrown,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

Thanks guys! Appreciated

Just found your post 7 months after you shared it. Thank you very much for the tips!

Try to use 4 tags...;)... If you use 5 tags, your post shows just in main category...

case solved.. by mistake i have put # + the world in the text and made the tag ;)

thanks for noticing man i owe you one!

No problem...:)...

Thanks, good to know.

Enjoy hope it helps you a little (or alot)

Ah this saved me from making the mistake on my introduction post. thank you thank you!

Glad this helped!

@heymattsokol adding 5 categories like me? :D

Start autovoting stuff!

Autovoting is harmful for community in the long run.

I would say so It just propagates the ones that are well of to be better off , I was just arguing about that topic, on another post , but t be short , I like steem , because it's different and I would like to see it in its better light , to form community of helpful people , rather than mirror real life , where everyone judges the top1% and nobody pays any attention to the rest of the people , who are sometimes better people :)

, also doing some shameless promotion again :)
https://steemit.com/story/@j3dy/how-to-be-a-master-challange30-day-1-play

most whales here don't even write or comment. If you want to be a whale sell your house. Otherwise you could become a dolphin or a shark, a really fat one.

Hey but we want users to comment and write right? :)
Initially most people used to post and comment when the payouts were huge like 1k per post

Can't say I got into this to be a 'Whale'. Still not even sure what one is. But this is a sweet post with some tasty advice that is helpful on its own. Appreciate you droppin the knowledge.

That said, in regards to transferring money into steem: I'm looking for links on 'how to' to do all that. Still confused by the options and channels to go about it. I linked my steemit to bittrex. Do I go through them? Do I go through Poloniex? Do I sound like a super newb? All the same, thanks for this post.

The "whale" is little bit of a joke in the title. Its more a guide on how to become popular author and get some extra money from curations

Thanks for the guide. The ideas need some time to germinate before the action happens. I have been doing some things - promoted first post yesterday (one does need to hold a few SteemDollars in handy to do this) - i.e., do not power up all the Steem you bring over.

This is how far I have got.

Now to get onto some good curation trails and do a little more promotion via my (large) Twitter followings.

Indeed it takes time but its really worth it!

Really from you experience, does promoting posts work?

Some really good information. Thanks for the post!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Thanks man! Enjoy :)

Yeah simple and easy , quick question since all I've learned here is some insight on the autovoting and the 4 categories thing.

How would you become a whale without the first 3 steps , ie. without investment.

Also I'v made my first post so please show some love :) , I'd appreciate it
https://steemit.com/story/@j3dy/how-to-be-a-master-challange30-day-1-play

Thank you for the post I actually gave it a read , not just a skim. Very helpful , I will try to keep up with the race for inflated currency :D , still havent read the WhitePaper. :D and thanks for pointing out that there i a steemit chat , i was wondering about that for months.


Hi @kingscrown, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads yesterday and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Man I cant keep up with all this information , Just once have I cleared my feed and that was at the start , I'm afraid If I start following people I will drown :D , the insanity of posting has began :D , I can't imagine i STeemit grows to host millions of users , :) , I bet we would like that :)

oh you want to start following people... that is how you grow your network and following. You read what catches your eye. Just because you follow them doesn't mean they get all your attention, it still needs to be earned.

Of course , that's how it goes , I've started exploring and investigating steem and the related subjects , albeit its hard and takes a lot of time , but on here that's what i've done , just relate to the people you find interesting and hope for the best.

I have to say the community aspect and the people involved are the thing keeping me here, the idea of a better world.
I've been reading some of the first posts from @norbu and have to say they are very engaging for me and strike at the heart of the matter.
I just don't like the fact that on steemit the past content gets frozen and the way to make a living would be to be consistent and not rest on your laurels like in life , so it's just me being a whiny :D

,a quick promo , would you mind taking a look at my first post

sure I'll have a look at your post. There are many people not real happy with the content not being able to earn past 30 days but you know, the content you put on other social media sites don't earn past a second of existence so while it is frustrating, Steemit offers a lot more.

Thank you , yeah that sure is true , a small part why people are autovoting , it's a small step towards breakdown , to value rewards of inflation more than the content and creation.
For me I'm happy I'm here , for all the people and the topics , There isn't any other place where I can find so many , free thinking , sharing and genuinely helpful , individuals , sharing their stories ad their love.

got a 2nd one , this time with a bit more meat on the bone :) .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53807.82
ETH 2237.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30