There But For the Grace of God Go I - Or You

in #steem6 years ago

sunflower.jpg

HELP! A fellow Steemian needs your support. Read about it here.

Down On His Luck @Macksby Needs Us Steemians Today!

I'm from a small village where no one is homeless. Benefits are regular events. Someone's house burns down and there is no insurance, someone is sick, someone's spouse dies - friends and neighbors get together and organize an event to raise funds.

People make fudge and sell it. People bake cakes and there is a cake auction - some of those cakes sell for $500. Musicians and singers provide entertainment. People show up with cash donations in an envelope. It's a Sunday afternoon of entertainment and camaraderie and good times.

@Macksby lives in New York City and there is no benefit being held for him. The man is in a desperate situation and weeks away from being homeless.

@rigaronib has a post where 100% of the revenue it generates goes to @macksby.

It's Always Time for Generosity and Kindness

There are hundreds of thousands of us here. Everyone has their own problems but sometimes it is important to realize that problems come in relative sizes.

I know I am new here and you don't know me but do what you can to help @macksby. If we are all kinder to one another, it will be a better world

Sort:  

A lovely charitable act and attitude, Joanne. Deservedly upvoted.

Your community of people who help each other in the hard times sounds like it's got a lot going for it.

That sunflower picture is gorgeous, too.

Gary

I love sunflowers. Oh, this is just what we need to do. It's such a part of life on the Island. People who work seasonally and are not rich can miraculously come up with $10,000 or more on a Sunday afternoon and laugh and dance while they do so. I love the cake auctions when 2 guys get into a bidding battle and go nuts outbidding each other.

This is so kind of you, Joanne. I wish I had more Steem here to give @macksby. Like you said, it could be any one of us.

Same here. It is so frightening how quickly it can all go wrong. I once lived with a person I think of as "The Madman." The day he went out to the shed and got a 6-inch spike and used it to nail a handwritten piece of paper to the back of the main door in the house upon which he had written "The List" and put my best friend's name on the list, I had to get out of there. Within 2 hours, someone offered me a free place to stay, fully furnished and the husband of the woman whose name was on the list came with a van and helped me load it up with my belongings. I felt like the town's pet mascot for a while until the dust settled.

Sometimes I think there's just no rhyme or reason to life - when I see the Rohingya people escaping from the horrors in Myanmar, when I see the victims in the war in Syria, when I see the survivors from school shootings, and more, inclulding @macksby. I've had my down times in life, but nothing like any of these poor souls. I just can't understand. Is karma real?

I have always believed in karma. In spite of my posts today, I believe in karma, not in the big-G god. I cannot imagine how it feels to be in any of those situations. There are limits to my imagination. I always felt like Wile E Coyote. I escape unharmed over and over again.
coyote-clipart-wile-6.gif
source

Congratulations @joannereid! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

You have a very kind and understanding heart @joannereid... I appreciate your words, good thoughts and efforts. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64170.07
ETH 3425.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59