STEEM MARKETING PROPOSAL: An Open Source eBook Introducing Musicians to Steemit

in #steem7 years ago

Hello Steem,

This is an idea that has been kicking around in my head for a little while.

Steemit for Musicians eBook

Here’s the deal: Steem is a viable income source that any hard-working musician could use to fund their work.

A few examples of what Steem enables:

  • A band can post content until they raise enough money to fund recording sessions for their next album, or to buy a tour van, or fund a PR campaign, etc.

  • An amateur musician who wants to go pro can develop a part of their future music income stream here, earning upwards of $50 per day for posting and engaging on the steem platform.

  • Music Journalists can crosspost content here to create additional monetization - without harming any of their current media/monetization channels.

It’s amazing. I know that if more musicians knew what I know, they would be here earning money. It’s just a great idea and you can do well on Steem with maybe 10 hours per week of hard work.

Improving the Conversion Rate of New Users to Active Users

Some people are aware of Steem, but to be honest I am surprised sometimes by the low adoption rate. I feel like once people make the leap to get more involved here, they have a great time.

The question is - how can we increase the number of new users who become active, everyday posters?

To that end, I suspect that a free ebook could be perfect: a guide that would walk any musician through their first 30 days on Steemit. The goal is to simplify the process - how can somebody get hooked on Steemit before they understand all the blockchain stuff?

How can a more casual person learn about this? I want joining Steemit to be like joining Reddit - you don’t need to know how the internet works to join Reddit, and you shouldn’t need to know how the blockchain works to join Steemit.

A guide that gets people to connect with exciting new opportunities on Steem is exactly what might convert casual users into diehard steemians.

And in the end - the more musicians become active here, the stronger the music industry gets. Because this is a new, better form of music monetization. The world doesn’t know it yet - but it will find out over time.

Just like Bitcoin was once worth $1, so too is steem in its infancy today. Perhaps a great ebook guide for musicians will help us push things forward.

Proposed Hypothetical Table of Contents

I’m thinking off the top of my head right now… but here’s an idea of how it could go:

——

Intro: What is Steem and Why Should You Care?

Chapter 1: Opportunities on Steem (Open Mic, Illuminati Inc, OCD, Sndbox, etc)

Chapter 2: How to Create Your Steem Account

Chapter 3: Your First Week on Steem: Meeting People & Joining Communities

Chapter 4: Creating Content - How to Build a Steem Post Schedule

Chapter 5: From Good to Great - How to Grow From 100 to 1,000 Followers

Chapter 6: Advice from Successful Steem Musicians (interviews)

Conclusion: Where Do You Go From Here?

Appendix A: An Explanation of Bitcoin, Blockchain, and Cryptocurrency

——

That could be cool, right? Each chapter would be as short as possible while still having all the details, probably 2,000 words (5-6 pages) or so per chapter.

I would plan to do the bulk of the writing (I’d do first drafts at least for all chapters, pending edits / suggestions / added content from other steemians). That way the core of the work is guaranteed to happen on a fast pace.

What about the other stuff? Designing a cover for the book, font / text layouts, original images for the chapters, even advertising on Facebook and beyond?

That’s where it gets cool. We can use utopian.io to get paid in steem for our work while crowdsourcing the entire creation of the book.

How Utopian Can Pay You to Help Create a Book

In case you aren’t aware, utopian.io is an open source platform built on the steem blockchain. It’s designed for open source projects that push the steem platform forward.

You can think of it as an incentivized open source platform. It’s like open source on steroids.


source: utopian.io

What I will do is I’ll set up something akin to a code repository, except for a book. Rather than having lines of code, it’ll be chapters of text for the book. Anybody who wants to contribute content - imagery, text, interviews with other steemians, whatever - can do so as a proposed “fork,” and then I can merge the best content into the book.

The important part is that every contribution to the book, when posted on Utopian, will be eligible for big upvotes from the Utopian account. You could easily earn $20+ for your contribution, and I think the sky’s the limit (upwards of $100 for huge votes if I’m remembering right).

My previous experience with Utopian was awesome and this experiment is a way to take it to the next level.

What Comes Next?

It’s simple.

(1) You tell me what you think in the comments on this post. Can you help me? I could use anybody who is good with: Making images, designing the cover for a book, and even editing/writing the text.

(2) I’m going to figure out the best way to host the project, and will also coordinate with some other people from Utopian and elsewhere re: supporting this endeavor.

(3) Once I confirm the technical and financial aspects of this, I will launch. You can expect 1-2 updates per week through December 2017, and a launch in the first 3 days of January.

The schedule will look something like this:

Now until December 31, 2017: Finalizing details, preparing the technical side of hosting an open source book, and talking to Utopian staff to make sure this project will be eligible for upvotes there.

January 2nd - January 31st, 2018: Create the book in open-source fashion. I will have several chapters written in advance to kick-start the progress. Daily progress posts from here until the book is done.

February 1st: Launch advertising campaign on Facebook ads and possibly other platforms - all expenditures will be documented and funded via Utopian support.

That’s It For Now

Please let me know what you think! Tell me: (1) Do you like the idea?, and, (2) Do you have skills you can contribute to this in January 2018?

This is a Sndbox project. For more info on Sndbox check it out: https://sndbox.co

Sort:  

I am a musician that started to earn income through the web about 3-4 years ago (Music production for Media via royalty free online libraries). Now it's one of my regular income streams.

I discovered Steemit 2 months ago, and am having a lot of fun exploring this world. Like you, I am dazzled by the possibilities.

During that immersion in the Steem world, naturally, some ideas for musicians forge, but I still need to do some deeper exploration to fully grasp the fine nuances of this ecosystem, and how it can help the pro-musician community.

Unfortunately, I have no skill in coding the blockchain or digging info from it. Yet, I like your idea, Wouldn't mind giving it my humble grain of salt :-)

This is a great idea. I think it could draw more musicians to the steemit platform as well. I've been working to bring more people I know in the entertainment industry to Steemit given the advantages it holds over the traditional social media platforms but it's been a challenge. I'm not sure how much i could contribute aside from creating awareness within my circle of people .. or maybe contribute some music or a testimonial?

When the book is done you can maybe help by resteeming the posts or sharing them on other social networks.

Hey I'd love to help, I have experience designing layouts and type settings for books and have been thinking about creating some sort of quick start guide for Steemit.

PERFECT! I just saw this now - you would be awesome to have on board dude. I will reach out to you soon. Are you on steemit chat?

Yeah, same username, hmu.

Congratulations, you have received a free upvote from @bonds!

Bonds offers a hedge against volatility as well as paid upvote and reSTEEM services.

Bonds is not a bot- this is run by humans, for humans.

Check out our #introduceyourself post to find- out more- if you like the idea, like or reSTEEM it, and we all benefit.

Happy STEEMing!

Hi, this looks great. I'm on my third day on the STEEM platform and finding my way around. I'm a musician and was, for many years, a professional translator and proofreader. I'd be happy to help out with those skills.

How did the timeline pan out? Is the project under way?

Let me know and I'll join in in any way I can.

Yup its still going if you follow my account you will see an update post in the first 2-3 days of this week

Cool. Already followed you, so I'll keep an eye on my feed for some news.

I'm the furthest thing from a musician, but I like your idea. I'll have to take a closer look when I get a chance later tonight. Maybe your idea can be a template for a bunch of things?

It absolutely can! If this ebook is a success, other people can copy the process to create promotional books for other niches on Steemit.

Brilliant idea. I'm thinking if there is anything I can add to this project. I'll watch out for any updates for now. You remind me how if I have an idea I should go make it happen ASAP cause someone might make it happen while I'm messing around.

I mentioned you in my latest post :
https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@whatamidoing/how-to-stop-being-a-crypto-newb-in-less-than-two-week-and-without-much-effort

@heymattsokol Any initiative to support musicians and musicians blockchain soluttions im behind 10000% kudos on the initiative, i been loggin and doin few guides in the community since i joined sharing my personal learnings on the blockchain as a musician and my experience on blockchain musicians platforms if you interested i can send u some links to check out or just peeps my page i posted one last night, and if any information can be of use to your initiative or anything i can help u with it will be my pleasure to contribute or share along. Looking forward to see this taking shape, Good luck n kudos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45