utopian.io Is Awesome!! — Documenting My First Contribution to Steem’s New Open Source Platform

in #steem7 years ago

Utopian is an open source steem development platform, but it’s for more than just coding. You can contribute anything from promotion to documentation to graphic design and so much more.

Most importantly for many of you, Utopian offers powerful upvotes in exchange for legitimate contributions. They’ve received an avalanche of delegations, with the main @utopian-io account sitting at 3.5 million SP of delegated power!!!

If you want easy access to real steem upvote support, Utopian may be the best way to get it. The reason that Utopian is special is that every submission gets reviewed by a moderator. If it’s good enough, it is approved and receives a Utopian upvote soon thereafter.

My First Utopian Experience

While browsing Utopian, I saw that one user was working on a new promotional game for steem. They laid out the idea for the game, something reasonably easy to complete, and asked for help.

A lightbulb went off over my head. This was the perfect chance to try my first Utopian contribution.

I responded:

A few days later, I spent about 3 hours putting together some audio assets. Maybe a little longer… sometimes I go into a trance when I’m working on songs.

I knew I was supposed to put the files up on GitHub, but I couldn’t make heads or tails of it. So I just uploaded the songs to dropbox and posted the contribution of music + Sound FX to Utopian. Then, unfortunately… REJECTED:

Brutal.

Luckily Deveerei was able to offer me some advice on using GitHub via discord. After speaking with them, I was able to go on GitHub, create my own fork of the Steem Cannon project, upload my music and sound, and then do a “pull request.”

I edited my original post on Utopian with the new GitHub link and anxiously awaited the verdict.

Cha-ching! Money in my pocket. That 7% upvote was $30 of steem rewards allocated to the post, plus another $20 that I earned from my own followers and a @sndbox upvote. $50 total for my contribution to the project has me feeling good.

Reliable Rewards Lead to Consistent Contributions

I am a huge fan of reliable rewards within the steem network. When upvotes are promised ahead of time for quality content, that lets the content creator / developer / etc know that they can dedicate more time to the project.

Even when you have a large fanbase on steem, you still have some luck involved. Sometimes I make what I think is a great post, and get little rewards for it. That’s how it goes. Having a reliable upvote for contributions that improve the value of steem just makes sense.

What if we are able to build “Open Source 2.0?” Incentivized open source networks don’t just rely on human curiosity, they pay anybody who can make a real contribution.

utopian.io is an exciting new steem platform and I am happy with my first impression. I’m looking forward to do doing more work for steem, helping to develop this platform while earning some rewards for myself in the process.

Have you used utopian.io yet? What do you think?

Sort:  

Im also looking into it for a project i've been developing myself as closed source. Trying to weigh up the pros and cons of which direction to go in.

Utopian is pretty sick. I suspect that it is able to drive a lot of steem-related development. You don't have to commit your whole project to it right away, maybe try contributing on something else to get a feel for it first.

That's pretty cool. I've just started looking into Utopian myself, but I haven't used it yet. Nice to know that they want a broad skill set!

yeah it's great. Helps to stimulate the entire steem economy that way. You should give it a try if you are curious

This was so useful to read. Thank you!

Thanks cool
Thanks for the info
Just hearing of utopian.io for the first time, would surely check it out

Just started into Utopian myself too - Made a few contributions too

Definitely will be investing a little more time getting familiar with the platform. Keep us posted on how your experience develops

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45