How to stop being a crypto newb (in less than two week and without much effort)

Less than two weeks ago, I literally knew nothing about crypto except that it was mostly based on something called the blockchain, that I was earning it here at Steemit, and Bitcoin and Etherium were the two most popular kinds. Now I have a vague idea about how this stuff works, how to trade it effectively why it's so exciting and where it may be going. I can also list about 50 coins off the top of my head differentiate between their purpose and have an idea about where they stand in the charts and if there is any warranted hype around them. No doubt I have a long way to go and compared to many on the platform, I'm a relative newb, but compared to your average dude on the street, I know what I talking about.

The purpose of this post is to give you a self study plan for crypto and the blockchain. I won't be providing too much explanation as there are countless resources, many of which you can find with a simple steemit search (google, YouTube, or Wikipedia work too). The answers to the questions are elsewhere, but for those who still don't know what to ask, this is for you.

IMG_1702.JPG
image link

Where to start? (Day 1)

Since most crypto is based on blockchain technology, it's essential to first learn what the hell that is. My first day was devoted to this. I spent about two hours researching blockchain. I didn't understand half of what I read so I made a list of questions on anything that sounded important. Some of my questions included...

  • what is scaling?
  • what's the main difference between Etherium and Bitcoin?
  • who is keeping Bitcoin running if this Nakamoto guy took off?
  • what is mining?
  • what hencurrency its value?
  • why is blockchain such a big deal?
  • Which wallets are best and how do I use them?

I didn't find all the answers to these questions in the first day, and often when I find the answer, another question reveals itself to me. Since my first day of research in the topics, I've made a habit of trying to find the answer to one question a day. I'll ask friends to clarify some things and try to do my own research to fill in the gaps and make sure I'm getting the right information.

It's not important to understand everything before jumping in, you just want a general idea to start and then to continue to learn as you go along.

IMG_1703.JPG
image link

The big guys (Day 2-3)

Obviously there's more to it than that. There are tons of cryptos and at first it's hard to believe so many have anything unique about them but that changes quickly. First things first, learn something about Bitcoin and Etherium since they are such major players in the scene. They each deserve a day of their own and you'll have to go back to learn more in the future because there's always more to learn about them.

The wallet and how to convert steem to btc and other coins (Day 4)

From there i downloaded a wallet (I started with Exodus and Jaxx, I may upgrade to something more convenient or secure, but these two are ok to dabble with). I spent this day figuring out how to use these coins and how to transfer from steemit. I used @blocktrades cause it was easy and they have a presence on steemit. (If you are really I need a hurry you can do this on day one but if not no need to rush).

Going down the list....(Day 5 onward)

I've spent about 1-2 hours a day doing some light research on 2-3 coins every day. You could go down the list at coinmarketcap.com if you want. I've found it helpful to start with the coins I've heard of before, litecoin, dash, eos. Then I moved on to the coins I could find in my wallets. From there I'd research any coin whose name I came across on steemit. To learn about these coins...

  • find some explanations on steemit. I appreciate the series Investigating the Top 50 Cryptocurrencies by friend and fellow steemian @heymattsokol .
  • find a youtuber who is knowledgeable and relatively unbiased. I was introduced to Data Dash by my buddy @rondonson .
  • @rondonson also gave me some wonderful advice : if you are really interested in a coin, go to their website and read their whitepaper. I haven't done this with many coins but for coins like EOS and litecoin which I have decided to invest in long term, this seems pretty essential.

As questions come up, and problems arise, seek answers and solutions.

I realized my exodus and jaxx wallets charged crazy fees and only allowed exchange between coins if you were a changing a relatively high amount. I asked around and discovered Binance and signed up. A problem arises and you find a solution. Just make sure your problem isn't messing up wallet address or lost passwords because then you lose your money.

Some hints for people who want to stop being newbs.

  • Make coinmarketcap your friend
  • look at the charts to see how something is doing, long term and short term.
  • look at the amount of coins in circulation to understand the possibility of a coin reaching crazy prices and to understand why it's ranked where it is. Ripple and IOTA are not going to reach $1000 usd per coin because there's too much of it in circulation.
  • get info from multiple sources, you don't know who is paid to talk hype about what.
  • don't invest anything you can't handle losing. I don't feel much pressure with my investments because all I invested was time on steemit, no fiat investments at all.
  • Don't put too much faith in any advice, remember everyone is human and heir advice won't be perfect.vir you lose money listening to someone else it's still your fault for listening. I listen to others but I always know they could be wrong.

I'm still learning my stuff. There are plenty of very knowledgeable people here at steemit so make use of their posts and if you can't find an answer steemit.chat is full of people who can help.


IMG_1406.JPG

Join the "Be Awesome" community

The Be Awesome discord chat, was created with the intention of making deeper connections with fellow steemians. Come talk about "deep shit", practice languages or make friends.

Be Awesome discord channel

Confessions of the Damaged - a collection of short stories

Sort:  

Blimey. You've covered a lot in 2 weeks and managed to find time to make great posts and reply to comments. I'm dead impressed! (If I could find a superhero emoji it would go here). 😁

Just 1-2 hours a day! You can do it too! I wrote this article for you ;-)

LOL. Just 1-2 hours a day. No chance of finding that at this time of year. Before I move onto other currencies I'd really like to get to grips with how Steemit works. That's my first goal. 😍

Always attracting new member and putting the best posts out.
Very detailed learning curve, I enjoyed the best 'The Hints'.

:-D I just want to see lot of people who are working hard be able to better their situations in this window of opportunity that the crypto explosion is presenting us with

@whatamidoing I appreciate the comprehensive resource you’ve laid out for the newbies like myself. I’m still reading up on these and it will take some time before I jump into investing just yet. Now that I’m on Steemit, I have the help of others like you to guide me so thank you for that.

Make it happen. I was so clueless at first and I blew crypto off for a while cause I thought it was all motivated by greed. Some of it is, but it's really a new paradigm and by getting involved we can make a difference, however small, on what direction it moves.

Excellent post especially from a new member. Great hints and experience. I will use some of your hints and knowledge fro sure. Thanks!

haha last two lines are interesting ........

and obviously, those pieces of information is too good..........

steemit.chat helped me so much!

yes...... may be it was your past post and i came to know about #be_awesome group...... though i am a member there but could not manage a single fried there...... :(

Just reading your post and thinking, what exactly I did in last two weeks and the answer was "nothing" :P
BTW, quite informative post :)
Stay passionate, stay blessed !

Wow....I wish something like this existed when I first started following cryptos. Great guide as learning about this stuff can be overwhelming (I imagine lots of 'investors' lose money, or make it on accident by simply picking alt $ in the top 10 or 20 without understanding anything about it...aka cardano...it's literally just an idea right now, yet its in the top 10)

thank you nice shares

Do you know the improv game "what are you doing?"

So I would say something about how you've managed to cover more in a week or so than I did in longer :O Though in fairness I think our end goals for the research were slightly different XD

Hope all your cryptos do well :D

goatsig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59933.20
ETH 3191.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44