Steemit, Steem, Steem Dollars, and Steem Power explainedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago

  

                             I got introduced into this platform by my team leader @cryptostash and I took my time to learn the in and outs of steemit. Many see it as a very hard or complicated platform but it's actually simple once u get to know most of the basic things about steemit.
 

 
WHAT IS STEEMIT?     

 As we get to introduce our friends to this great platform, they will as the big question?
                Steemit is a blogging and social networking website that runs on a blockchain database known as steem. It's a service which users get paid for posting, discovering  commenting on interesting content.

Monetary System of Steemit      

 This includes the Steem, Steem Power and the Steem Dollars.

STEEM- this is a cryptocurrency and it's the main network base token and it's being traded on cryptocurrency exchanges and markets. It's what's used to power up the whole system 


STEEM DOLLARS- usually abbreviated as SBD, ie STEEM BASED DOLLARS. Its the currency of the steemit platform and this is what people send to each other when they upvote posts. 


STEEM POWER- this is a token that shows how much of an influence u have in the steemit platform. If you have a lot of steem power, your upvotes will count more and will award different authors steem power and Steem dollars as well. 


           Authors have the option to choose post rewards of 100% STEEM Power instead of the usual default 50% liquid currency (a combination of STEEM and Steem Dollars) and 50% STEEM Power.
Users and investors do have the option of converting liquid STEEM into STEEM Power, this is called powering up.

                          This is a brief description of the steemit platform for a newbie and you can learn more about them as you navigate through this awesome platform.


                          Thanks for taking your time to read this and if you have any questions or contributions, leave a comment below. I do upvote all comments *lools*
 

Sort:  

hamzeto, you posts has been the best explanation for me on the Steem vs Steem Power and SBD. I will using your post going forward to educate those who follow me into the Steemit World. When will post on how the calculations are more for PowerUP and PowerDown? Also, is their an obvious arbitrage I am missing when SBP Fluctuates +- $.50 and Steem +- $1? Upvoted, followed and resteemed.

How to login to steem chat? The email id and the steemit generated password or newly we have to sign up ?

You have to newly sign up on steemit chat with the same email and username

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.
Also - check out @reblogger, by reading this post.


Check out the other content resteemed by @resteembot.
Some of it is really cool!


Perfect info for newbies. I've been here about 5 weeks, still learning. Thanks 😊

Sure, you are welcome!!

Thank you for the information.

You are welcome

Hi @hamzeto,
I'm new to Steemit, I'm trying to learn at least the basics. What attracted me to your post was the first image and I said I'll find something interesting in this post but while reading I realized that you missed the opportunity to make a Call to Action. The post has many images. Remember that "Less is more".
The best of luck!

Thanks a lot for the corrections and I really appreciate that.

You're welcome! I'm going to follow you. I'm happy for the new announcements by Team Steemit. I share it. :) https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitblog/announcing-the-steem-bluepaper

Am following u back already, I am also thrilled abt the announcement

Loading...

nice article for new on steemit like me thanks

You are welcome, I will be dropping more about what I've learned so far on steemit

Some great info for new users. I would be happy to help you get it to new users. Feel free to message me on Steem Chat is you want :)

I really appreciate the help and I will be sure to message u today

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99