Steem Bounty : Import posts from Medium

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

From last June I had moved most of my blogging to Steem platform. But there are some issues which gets me frustrated from time to time. I know that there are other interfaces which solve this problem to a certain extent but still there are many gaps that needs to be fixed.

Couple of pain points for me are

  1. Ability to save the drafts on the server side.
  2. Intuitive UI and better formatting options.
  3. Better handling of image uploads.
  4. Ability to publish my posts in various publications.

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 12.03.34 PM.png

For the above reasons I find medium a much better option. So I am using medium as my drafts interface and then am posting the articles both on medium and steem blockchain. You can check my articles on https://medium.com/@gokulnk While it is a breeze to import your steem posts into medium it is not the case other way around. So I have created a github repo https://github.com/steem-projects/import-from-medium where any developer can provide a pull request. I am just looking for a basic version as of now. Even if it takes the url as the input and generates a text area with the post contents that I can copy paste into Steemit.com I am fine with it.

The bounties are managed by http://steem-bounty.com/

Sort:  

Do you use Chrome or Brave? I've written blogs on both my phone and laptop and have even closed the browser or accidentally went forward, hit back and it's still in edit mode with nothing deleted. Maybe I'm lucky but there isn't really a need to save a draft. I use note pad for some stuff. There are also third part editors.

The biggest issue with Steem is the complications surrounding the keys. Also if you lose your key, you're in trouble. Followed because I like Steemians who want to improve the platform.

@crypticat that drafts are stored locally on your machine. So for example if you prefer steemit.com you can edit only one article at a time. Whereas I keep having so many ideas and would like to keep multiple drafts.

Also there was an issue where my drafts on busy.org as well when I deleted my cookies :(

Regarding the keys while it might seem so when compared to other blogging platforms, it is still the best I have seen in any cryptocurrency projects. The best I like about Steem it is the middle ground between other blogging platforms and the cryptocurrency projects. That is what I like about steem.

Good Luck everybody!

It looks like Steemit supports markdown, so you can use this Medium to Markdown Chrome Extension then just copy and paste over. Going to try that now and will report back.

Reporting back @gokulnk!

It worked pretty well! All you need to do is remove any <span> tags from the captions— I just wrapped those in italics instead. I was able to import a Medium post in less than a minute: https://steemit.com/running/@dtran320/boston-marathon-2018-race-report-part-2-what-it-was-like-to-run-in-38-degree-rain-and-25-mph-headwinds

Thanks for the input. I will give it a run and check how it works out.

Thanks for the input.
I will give it a run and
Check how it works out.

                 - gokulnk


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Can be tricky from time to time. For me formatting posts was a whole new thing to learn as I started on steemit a few months back. Never even heard about markup before starting to blog. I do not have an alternative I can relate to compare things but like you I find formatting, especially pictures quite difficult since there is no real option to change anything on the picture once it is in the markup text.

Maybe they will implement some user friendlier post formatting in the future.

Markdown has been a formatting option for developers and widely used especially since Github became popular. .md files support this format. Personally I am comfortable with the formatting but it is the drafts that is worrisome for me.

Currenlty the team of Steem is concentrating more on the base blockchain. Steemit.com was more like an interface until others came out with better interfaces. I am not sure if Steem INC would spend lot of resources on this as they have other priorities. May be they can more people from community into this initiative so tht they don't need to burn lot of resources.

You might want to try the masdacs by beyondbitcoin. I think it lets you type one post in one place then post it to all of your sites from one spot. its masdacs.io

https://masdacs.io/profile seems to be an interesting solution. Will check it out. But Inspite of that I am looking for importing from medium so that I can do the organization management on Medium and cross post it to Steem.

Free Resteem For Steem-Bounty Users

  • Your Post Got Upvote
  • Your Post Resteemed To 800+ Followers
    How it Work You can Check Here

Untitled-2.png

I also face problems like you. This is some reason steemit is here now.

If saving draft is your main issue, I am presently using busy.org to save my drafts that I don't intend to publish immediately. There were times where I saved 3 drafts. The advantage is to write them when we have the time. You can give busy.org a try if you have not tried it before. I did not use medium at all so I can't comment much about this tool.

Hi, how do you know that I also agree with you, and I recommend you use or try busy.org, through this you can upload to steemit, and it allows you in a simpler way to interact in the network, as well as allowing you to leave drafts that later you can use. it's just a suggestion, greetings and many successes! It would be great that steemit besides being a good platform will take into account these details.

Maybe you could use some of the embed service providers, like Embed.ly or Iframely.com, although it seems that Steemit does not allow script tags as of yet.

Steemit.com doesn't allow embed tags and iframes. I wish there was a solution for that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66244.62
ETH 3320.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70