Looking Back and to the Future of Steem

in #steem5 years ago

I was just thinking I wonder if during the next bull if the market will price in all the new dapps on the Steem blockchain. If you don't understand what I mean or weren't around during the last crypto bull run let me explain.

I joined Steem in June of 2017 right when alts were all taking off to the moon. I even managed to buy some Digibyte at the top of alt season and spent the next 6 months watching all the crypto that I bought with Bitcoin loose value. During this time I spent a lot of time on Steem to try and make up for my losses.

At the time I learned about eSteem which is what initially kept me on the platform. I figured out that if I used the app once about every 24 hours. I don't remember when these dapps came out, but you had the likes of zappl, busy, dmania, dlive, dtube, and dsound.

Some of these apps are still around, one moved to another platform, and the rest have either died off or are just quietly continuing to build. A lot of projects were announced which received large upvotes and delegations, but never do anything besides make an announcement. O yeah, and besides eSteem MSP was another way to get a small vote on the platform.

Fast forward to now and we have Steem Engine, Drug Wars, Magic-Dice, Steem Monsters, Fundition, Actifit, and SteemHunt just to name a few I can think of off the top of my head. You also have Partiko for mobile and SteemPeak for access to "Steemit" while it's being DDOSed as well. We seem to be making good progress improving the overall resource demand of running nodes and if you can believe Steemit Inc, it sounds like we could possibly be ever so closer to getting SMTs released.

Even if they don't we don't need to focus on Steemit Inc making updates and changes anymore as we have the worker proposal that's being worked on by @blocktrades and we have the Steem Alliance which appears to be spearheaded by @aggroed.

I'm sure by the time we hit the next peak price in Steem and head down to the bottom of the next bull market at least a few of these projects will no longer exist due to a better option or the project members just decided to move on for one reason or another. I'm looking forward to seeing what the next all-time high for Steem will be and what new projects will be created and die off that we don't even know about.

It's great to see all these improvements coming to the blockchain, but we must remember the competition isn't sitting still either. The moment we quit buidling, hodling, or take a moment to relax is when the next new social blockchain will overtake Steem.

Honestly, I would like to see at least $10 Steem during the next bull run and think it will be completely possible. I'd like to see SMTs released or the folks at Steem Engine have the project developed enough that it's a replacement for SMTs and Steemit Inc has moved on to other projects. I would like to see a full fledge Dex as part of the chain to support SMTs and people buying and selling. It would be nice to see the Beta booster packs completely sold out and the next "expansion" released in SteemMonsters with the next released already being teased.

When Steem hits it's all-time high in the next bull market, what are some things you'd like to see on the platform?

Sort:  

We have seen highs and lows with Steem, but I to am hopeful we can see steem rise again to $10

Yeah looking forward to a crazy crypto market again.

We can but hope that comes to pass :)

Hi G.

Steem has certainly come a long way since we started, but is far short of the promises which were made.

I am not complaining though, continued Dapp development will build value in the system over time; plus, it is still fun, which is important.

Well considered post G.

SK.

Posted using Partiko Android

Agreed it is far short of what steemit inc promised, but I think this is what makes me even more bullish on the platform. Its not fully decentralized, but its not a single entity pushing the blockchain forward anymore.

Posted using Partiko Android

@gniksivart We will all be Steemmonster Millionaires..........

Im accumulating a small amount of cards a few times a week. Wont get there over night, but id be happy with a few hundred thousand :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I like the points here. I think steemit's new focus should be "We are a gaming network and/or dapp network that also happens to have a social media component to blog as well. Come for the dapps but also feel free to mess around on the social media platform as well. Glad you stayed, best of luck in the next crypto run. One that I didn't buy and am kicking myself is Ravencoin. I liked a lot more when it was at 0.0105 versus like 0.06 or something crazy like that. Lol, I wish I was smart enough to be able to download their wallet when I was going to buy some about 6 weeks ago. Oh well, live learn... best of luck on the next crazy crypto run that we are due for at some point again.

There is always another coin thats waiting to make a run. Just don't fomo find another good coin that hasn't moved yet and start accumulating small amounts.

Posted using Partiko Android

Do you think that Dan is still going to do an EOS Steemit-like social alternative?

Who knows. I'm not too worried about it as there are already a lot of other Steem cloans and look alikes out there and none of them really compare as of yet.

If he can create something better than great, but I would think he's already helped create steem so why build something else just like it.

thanks for informations.

Youre welcome!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @gniksivart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 14000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I would also enjoy Steem back at $10. Hell, even Steem up at $5 would be great. These below $1 times are depressing.

On the plus side, I agree SteemMonsters is amazing and it seems to be getting better and better.

Which reminds me. I need to buy some Beta packs before they're all gone!

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't mind the low Steem. From what I've noticed my posts get seen more as there is less spam and I seem to be growing my SP faster right now.

I am ready for higher prices so I can put some liquid Steem to work though for sure. Seeing how much Steem a $2 booster pack cost is depressing.

Great post my friend! I think that more time passes it will be great to get Dapps to go more mobile within the ecosystem!

Posted using Partiko iOS

My hope and prediction as well!

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all the latest news on the Steem blockchain.

Thanks for the mention!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63686.15
ETH 2727.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59