Why I dumped my Steem... then re-bought and hit the POWER DOWN switch.

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

Pure greed in the true short term sense. It got the better of me, a simple fact. I bought at 0.60 and jumped out the market at $4. It wasn't a great deal, 1100 in total but represented a nice profit for a few days as a part time trader.

Then curiosity killed the cat. What have I just done! Time for a coffee and actually read the white paper https://steem.io/#whitepaper

I engaged with those those close to the dev team and everything just made more sense. More than sense. It's close to perfect even in this frontier initial stage. Hack, meh. Steemit team handled it as good as you can. i was convinced.

So, to cut a long story short, i bought back my STEEM and caught it in the drop, managed to fill my boots and make a little extra. I've left the bulk on the markets but decided to POWER DOWN 500-ish for now.

If the ETH hardfork doesn't go the way I want it (and I can't buy ETH at sub $4USD) then I'll invest more and make STEEMIT my home for the next couple of years.

All in all, I believe this platform is going to be something special. It took me a while but I'm in for the long haul.

My advice to anyone wanting to know more about the platform: READ THE WHITEPAPER before you do anything else!!!

More updates as I go.

Sort:  

I recently dumped about 500 eth @ 12$. Im also hoping it drops so i can buy back in later... I thought ether was the greatest thing since sliced bread, but now that title goes to steem, sliced bread is still a close 2nd...lol....

I think we could both reap the rewards of the HF. Either it works and DAO holders dump or the hacker blocks it and it creates a loss of confidence and the price tanks.

I can't seeing it not taking a hit but it is the land of the unknowns.

EXP and NXT worth looking at in case HF fails and the smart money looks for alternatives.

Best of luck for the 20th :)

Thank you for the insight.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94