My application for the community Curators project.

in #steem4 years ago (edited)

Greek heroes analog collage 100,70cm 2014.jpg

About me.

My name is George Boya i studied interior decoration and conservation of art. I am an active artist for the past 16 years using handcut and digital collage as my medium of expression. I made solo exhibitions in my country and abroad, collaborated with theatrical productions and magazines. I am fluent in English and Greek which is my native language.

I joined Steem back at July of 2017. I started as a content creator, presenting my artworks, taking part in contests and collaborating with other users to create new projects. A year ago i decided to focus more in curation than content creation as i believe it is very important to ensure that the distribution of rewards in the system remains fair. Also i find it very democratic as even the smallest stakeholder can have an opinion about what is valuable and what is not, i always encourage users to join curation groups for this reason. By bringing the valuable posts to the top the curator brings more value to the platform and more value to Steem as coin. I strongly believe that what Steem needs to succeed is more art and creativity of every kind and a strong curation group to support them.

Venus di aqua analogue collage 80,70cm.jpg

The curation project.

I would like to use the community account you offer in order to start off a new curation group.

  • It will curate art and creative posts from all over the platform and it would target new users in order to give them a push to move forward and leave room for new users to join.
  • It will include a Community and an an active Discord server where the curation would take place.
  • It will be open to all users who would like to join and contribute in the fair distribution of the rewards.
  • It will have three different tiers of rewards, Modest, Fair and Exceptional, according to the value of the post.
  • It will have language curators in order to support non English valuable posts.
  • It will host weekly creative contests and distribute the prizes to the winners.
  • It will host a daily comment contest and it will reward helpful comments by experienced users to new posters.
  • It will have a daily curation post to bring to the spotlight exceptional and creative posts that did not receive the proper attention.
  • It will include a Twitter, Facebook and Instagram account to attract attention to the project outside Steem community.

Waiting for the end of time analogue collage 40,45cm018.jpg

My experience.

The first curation project i joined was nTopaz which was an art oriented community and platform. I was leading the curation of crafts and creative posts, organize contests and made curation posts giving helpful tips and presenting undiscovered artists. Also i was in charge of mentoring the new curators.

I then joined C-Squared which is an all around curation group, where i am curating and voting art and photography posts of different levels of value.

At the same time i joined Helpie, a really sweet curation project and again brought art posts to be rewarded and authored a few curation posts, presenting undervalued artists.

Later i was accepted as curator at Curie bringing undiscovered low rewarded valuable posts from new users and act as a community curator for Lightpainters United and my own Collage community.

At the same time i was invited to join the Creative Coin community as curator and help with the distribution of the tokens in valuable creative posts. I also authored weekly curation reports, presenting undiscovered artists.

Last but not least i was accepted at O.C.D curating creative posts that deserve high rewards and also author some of the daily compilation posts.

RealityUndone analogue collage 50,70cm002.JPG

To conclude, i believe i will be a fair curator. I have a good share of experience and i have my daily routine spending 4-5 per day reading posts. I am checking for abuse and plagiarism, know how to use tools like Steemlookup and Steemworld to get all the information i want and i can also teach others how to curate. But more importantly i am curating because i like it and i enjoy the process.

Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Discord

Sort:  

Well, you have done a lot for the communities, I wish you good luck...

Well, you have done a
Lot of the communities,
I wish you good luck...

                 - priyanarc


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Thank you so much Priya:)

I would definitely recommend @georgeboya as a curator, I have done some time with him on some curation projects and he is definitely a great curator with a good sense of both curation and ethics.

Thank you so much for the support and your kind words Bengy:)

Hi @georgeboya, I'm glad to hear about your application as Community Curator.

George has extensive experience as a curator in the artistic field, which is why I recommend him.

It is noteworthy that art in its different ramifications is an area that deserves to be taken into account in healing projects since its real authors usually strive to present the best of their talent and that gives value to crypto Steem.

Thank you so much for the support @acostaeladio:) It is true that art and creative posts must be the backbone of the platform. Without them and without a support mechanism behind Steem cannot expand.

I like the idea from start to finish. I shared that curating experience at nTOPAZ with you, George, and I admired you, you always had your criteria and clear ideas on how to treat artists and give them the support they deserve. I see what you want, artists are a great influence in every community, art attracts all kinds of people, it would be beneficial for both the artist and the steem community.

Thank you so much for the support Elison:) We all did our best to support valuable artists when we were curating at ntopaz. A fresh curation group can give us a chance to continue our good work:)

george you are one of the most consistent, energetic and enthusiastic curators i know, one who isnt bogged down in favoritism or posturing. you would be a wonderful choice, and i very much hope you achieve your goal!

Thank you so much for the support and the good wishes Tor:) I did my best to always keep my judgement fair and curate posts that bring value.

Your contributions to all these communities are great and show the level of your commitment to curating good & original content. I totally agree with your views on curation and how it will help steem, through quality-posts and exposure to other media.

As you were the one that introduced me to this great community, and helped so many other content-creators, I wish you all the good luck with this project; i am sure that being chosen as a Community Curator will be greatly in favor of the community.

Thank you for the support Great Old One:) By supporting valuable creative posts we bring more value to the platform and more new content creators. The stars are right and everyone is staying home, experimenting with their creativity and passing time at social media, there is now better time than now for new users to come:)

Wow, that's an impressive curation CV. Thank you so much for your help with Light Painters United. You're the best!

Thank you so much for the support and the kind words @oddballgraphics:)

I think it's a fantastic initiative, and who better than you can support it?
I really hope that the project is realized!

Thank you so much for the support and kind words @phage93. Coming from you, a curator with integrity and good taste, it is an honor:)

Discovery-it supports this initiative!

Thank you very much for the support @discovery-it, it means a lot to me:)

It is great finally to see your post-application, as one of the experienced Curator even without being in any community you did yourself curation and guidance and helped many people around with your words and support. You always very attentive to posts and your comments have such comprehensive and thoughtful content. In order to do that the person has to read and understand what the post is about and this is in its turn time consuming process. Wishing you good luck!

It took me a bit of time to decide what i want to do and make a plan:) Thank you very much for your kind words and support, but i must tell you that you were one of the people who inspired me to start curating:) Your example was my guide and in turn tried to make an example so that other people will follow:) I am wishing you best of luck also:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84