What Are Your Expectations Out Of Steem?

in #steem5 years ago

We have come a long way since 2016 and yet not a lot has changed since then. A limited reward pool and stake weighted method of distributing it hasn't quite resulted in mass exodus that was originally anticipated from other social media platforms or cryptocurrencies into Steem and it's dapps.

Mostly due to the tech not quite catching up to the original roadmap from Inc, but let's move away from this fact for once.

Screen Shot 2019-02-02 at 3.05.11 PM.png

To be fair there weren't many dapps outside of Steemit.com in the first 2 years atleast. But we're here and new users are still signing up which is great. But the retention rate is bad and it's also hard to keep users using the platform over long periods of time.

I've seen many users with unrealistic expectations out of Steem over the past few years. I've seen some of my own expectations being met and others being proved unrealistic and yet I continue using this place in hopes that we can bring the necessary changes needed to scale to many millions of users who find this tech ultimately worthwhile.

Anyway, I want to know from you dear Steemian, what are your expectations out of Steem? What do you think it can do for you that brings you here everyday to use it.


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Why You Should Vote For Firepower As Witness—Witness Campaign Post From India!
  2. Steem.Chat Contest #63

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

I expect steem to be here every day when I wake up and go full bore to make it succeed within my limited abilities to do so. I try and usually succeed in ignoring the nonsense at the top.

In the long term:

Either:
The current big guys will continue to ignore positive developments while fighting among themselves. A certain number will lose faith and collapse the platform when they take their money out.

or:
New money will come in fast enough to make the current big guys irrelevant when/if they do leave.

I have a very limited understanding of the financial issues here but the game seems to be rigged in ways I cannot comprehend.

On a personal level, steem has supported my life of poverty in SE Asia since December 2017. I will be very grateful for this to continue. I also can create great looking posts in my niche topics of weight loss and alt-health to spread to my other social media.

And never forget this lady at the front door. Creating "unrealistic expectations out of Steem" since before I got here and still yet.

get paid for your good content.PNG

She was sent to me by one of the 20+ content creators I brought in here when he left in disgust in November 2017. The rest of them all left quietly.

The most promising developments I notice are the development of many easier-to-use dapps and good and growing community support in an abundance of wide-ranging communities.

Second to that, but potentially more important are some new blood with money coming in to invest and try the place out. Hopefully they fly under the radar and do not get killed by whales as I have seen in the past.

That is an interesting question and I believe that we should keep our expectation as realistic as possible if we're planning to be here for a long run.

I started last year in March after the boom (I didn't know about the boom at the time when I started) and I've seen Steem going up and down all the time. It is hard to see for those who are here only for short term financial reasons. Not all people are educated in terms of investing and what it means so they freak out when it doesn't go the way they wish for and leave the platform.

I joined the platform mainly to establish my blog and build worldwide network. I wasn't happy with other social media and wanted to give Steemit a chance. And it was a good decision.

My expectations are very low so that I can enjoy the platform without worry every day. Of course I hope that I will be able to cash some Steem out one day when the price will be more favorable but if this day come in a year or five years doesn't really matter for me.

I expect that the platform will be growing and new dapps will be developed. I expect more people to join the fun and I hope that the retention rate will get better.

Thank you for your question!

I'm not sure I have expectations but my hope is that it will be possible to build an empire here when the tools & UI catch up with a better on-boarding system. I'd love to see greater interest by those vested in curating people they enjoy and think could thrive here. A hefty chunk of borrowed power, maybe an introduction to dApp creators that want them here too in case they have ideas...

Having a potential whale that wants to be verified bite & have to wait maybe a week or more and take a step back in UIs & learn a new way of seeing the world is a tough sell when other communities make it easier & they don't have to take out their wallets.

I wish it was easier to curate people that I think have awesome stories, good hearts & content worth my time. Where maybe we watch their show & we link inspired stories or artwork. The ability to have branding deals on the spot & connect.

To me it's cool as a connection space where artists, programmers, investors & all the multitude of skilled & talented people come together to meet & perhaps get the opportunity to enrich each other's lives with good stuff and I wish the interface was up to par with it's potential. It feels a bit like stepping back in time and trying not to feel held back. I feel like such a jerk saying that since I haven't even gotten drawn in enough to to complete an introduction without falling apart. 😊😂

It hurts me to say this my friend, however my expectations for Steem are that it will be completely dead within 2 years.

We have a saying in England, couldn't organise a piss up in a brewery. Meaning that even with everything in place, some people are just bad at organisation.

@ned has almost run this place into the ground, from the moment @dan left us, we were on a long slippery slope to the bottom.

I'm just hoping that other d'apps can come and save the steem blockchain.

Cg

Sad but true. CG telling it like it is!

I hear you man! :( Disappointing state of affairs really. :(

I’m still here because Steemit is still better than other social media that doesn’t have any slightest means of compensating it’s users.

My expectation here is that people like you who really have the power to make steemit last a taste of time could come together and continually looking for means to strengthen this platform.

I believe that there’s is always room for making things better, but when the supposed leaders begins to lose faith, then we’re finished! I AM OPTIMISTIC THAT STEEM AND STEEMIT SHALL STAND AND BECOME BETTER, INCLUSIVE OF OTHER DAPPs IN STEEM BLOCKCHAIN.

Thanks @firepower.

For me the best here that unlike fb or other platforms here they will dont delete any posts.
But we have serious problema with onboarding and if that one we can solve we face another problem how to keep the people here.
I stay here now around 8 months and it is just because i find out the oportunity what dapps can give. But without the mass adoption that oportunity will also disapier.
But still i believe in steem i think step by step everything will be fine.

Posted using Partiko Android

@firepower, The first most thing is, Steem Ecosystem is giving value to zero levellers means who are just beginning and it's an greatest plus point because, it's possible that many have high expectations but they are failing but i think that many are individuals who are coming from Third World Country and Steem is helping them in many forms.

In my case, i don't know if i can explain in definite words but here i can feel unique conscious energy which always boost me to come up with my passion, engage with people, build up my network, most importantly the greatest feeling is part of particular community. Stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's one thing I noticed about Steemit is it is making a difference in their lives right now. What we might consider low payouts, is helping others to survive another day. That's beautiful.

That's true. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts.

To experience higher level of perks, we have to put efforts in times of low, what you seed it will harvest just you need self belief. Stay blessed.

That's right

Posted using Partiko Android

"Expectation reduces Joy" ...this is the only lesson I learnt in " Art of Living" . To be very fair..I do not set any expectation...but I am just enjoying my stay. Ever since I have been part of it.. I always made myself active every day. even though I have seen many had left it were less active all these days.
But love to see Steem to Moon that keep everyone busy and committed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Probably we lack in reaching out to masses and the means of promotions.
And the consistency we steemians maintain matters. I believe we need more powerful applications user handy and effective by time to keep the wheels rolling towards the light.

Posted using Partiko Android

If we have serious project that is ready for mass adoption, probably a web app better than fb will shoot steem towards the sun and shine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63079.17
ETH 3466.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51