You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Initial Perceptions of Steemit!

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

Yeah, it all feels like a bit of a catch 22 to me. It's like I want to post solid, good quality content, yet you put your heart and soul into your work and generally nobody sees it anyway. So you try to build a bit of a following by going out and interacting but because I have no Steem power, nobody tends to really want to associate, so you try to post more quality content, but nobody sees it and it just goes to waste and around and around I go... At a bit of a loss really and don't know how much more time to invest here before I cut my losses and head elsewhere.

Sort:  

wow - you hit the nail on the head. That's exactly the cycle I find myself going through - but as @whoib suggests - I am sticking at it - because really , I am trying to grow a community more so than earn income - although I cannot deny that I would like to earn something for my post that think are well thought out and full of valuable of interesting information. Still - I fell like if I can spend time building up a full community of not just myself , but everyone interested in real estate and investing in real estate - then the benefits will transcend Steemit and overflow into the real world. I have already had the opportunity to help answer questions and educate others about real estate strategies and it was very rewarding.

After posting this, I had a thought. Perhaps I should post less and comment more. Will it be as viable from a money standpoint? No. However, by adding a little of my own money, which is an investment, and giving some value to my vote, I am doing my, albeit small, part.

I think that may be what is option going forward.

I've seen quality replies to trending posts make over $150. It is very possible to profit and gain quality followers from replies alone. Also, upvotes to those replies by people with high reputations is the best way to raise your reputation.

In that process may be the key to get started. Gathering followers to actually display your work to.

It is one of the reasons I go through intro posts personally and not using automation. I'm doing it for many reasons, but one of them is to find other friends of liberty. Those are the people I want to follow. I of course want them following me too. Anyone can go through intro posts. Yes, it takes time, but I've gained a TON of quality followers because of my efforts. As in the #libertyprofessionals channel description, there are two main ways to get quality followers:

  1. Post quality content, and have your friends resteem it.
  2. Post quality replies to existing trending and popular posts, and have your friends upvote that quality reply to raise it to the top of the list for better visibility.

Those two things get you a lot of followers. I've had a single reply post of mine get me over 25 people in a day. That's a lot in my opinion. Using those two tactics above and engaging people directly in intro posts has gotten me close to 1K followers. That's with only two months of activity too. My account was made last year, but I didn't use it until August of this year. I'm not gaming the system, posting crap, or begging at all either (not saying you or anyone here is).

great strategy - I am trying to implement the same. I look for opportunities to contribute to the conversation - I love that you are looking to connect with "friends of liberty" . I'm a friend of liberty , but sometimes I feel like we're just friends with benefits ... :) I'll have to check out your page - sounds like something that would interest me.

Yeah I think helping to add value to other people's posts seems to help build things a lot more and to be real, it's a lot of fun too haha.

Yeah I know what you mean @jolauski I'm mainly here for the community aspect myself, however I feel that there are lots of people on here who are doing quite well who seem to really want to hold onto their wealth (understandably) and keep it within their own small circles or "cliques" as @jimni17 so eloquently put it before, which seems to almost prevent them from interacting with anybody new and therefore kind of breaks down the "community" aspect. Does what I just said make any sense? Like, because everybody is trying to protect their piece of the pie, nobody else seems to get a look in.... Perhaps I'm too cynical but this was just the impression I got when I initially started out a number of weeks ago and I thought "oh well, time will tell" yet time doesn't really seem to be changing much, if you know what I mean (which perhaps in itself is telling). I'm happy to stick it out for a while longer and I really hope to make some good friends here and make some connections with people, I just hope that the money doesn't get in the way of that.

In your case I'd suggest sticking to Steemit. Many new things are being developed in the background. It's future will prevail for you. In the long run that penny you earn will one day add up and become more than it's value today.
It is about making community and coins. Don't give up.

Yeah that's it! Cheers @whoib, see how it all pans out I guess :)

Quality engagement, I have found at least, is the best way to get noticed by whales. People who have a lot of SP are rather picky about who they support it seems. I'm not here for their support though. Do we really need whale votes if we build a quality follower base? Pennies add up. I've seen people like Hilarski do it. He has 5K followers, so his posts make decent money without having whales supporting him.

You bring up an interesting point. I wonder if earnings/values of the upvote were somehow private or obfuscated from initial posts.

Something interesting to think on for sure!

Yeah I dunno man, all I know is I don't seem to really be going anywhere haha. I have a feeling it might just be an all chiefs/no Indians type situation where there aren't really any content consumers here, just content creators. I really like the idea and the platform itself but I seem to just be talking to myself on here a lot of the time haha.

Hopefully it's just a minor setback. It's bound to happen where all the currency binds itself to a small number of people. The trick is to get it going back through the community again while those that earned what they have keep it.

There is a way forward, of that I am sure.

Yeah for sure! Here's hoping :)

@grow-pro and I were discussing this. Here's a theory:

To sell your STEEM you need buyers. To get people to have their own power here, they have to invest their own money into Steem Power.

That creates buyers for the whales to sell. It's just a theory though... ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44