Youtuber with 25k Subscribers and over 5 million views earns NOTHING on Steem!

in #steem6 years ago


We keep talking about how we want to promote Steem to as many people as possible, but I'm starting to wonder if this is such a good idea at the moment. I mean, if a reasonably sized Youtuber can't even earn more than a few cents without spending hours upon hours interacting with obscure communities on Discord, then how can we expect the bigger ones to ever make the switch.

I've been watching this guy named @kleshguitars on Youtube for a while now, he makes video's about treasure hunting and I think he's extremely interesting to watch. I've only recently discovered that he's also on Steem, but I've noticed that he doesn't get any interaction on his videos. That's really not too great for the image of Steem or Dtube as a replacement of Youtube, right?

Okay, you can point out that he publishes more content on Youtube and doesn't put as much effort into his Steem account. Then again, why should he? It's just so damn hard to get any sort of following here, without spending a lot of time communicating with other people.

Check out one of his Youtube videos, if you're into treasure hunting:


How can we change how the system works here? How can we make it so good content gets discovered more easily? Do we really want vote buyer to rule the trending page, while genuinely good content disappears?

Kleshguitars isn't a big Youtuber, but he still has 25k subscribers and most of his videos have over 1000 views. If I didn't upvote him, he wouldn't earn anything here on Steem. I really want this to change, so consider giving him an upvote, just so he doesn't get discouraged. Leave a comment as well, if you're into treasure hunting.

I've already added him to my Steemauto for a 100% upvote on every post he makes.

Check out his Steemit profile at:
https://steemit.com/@kleshguitars

or his Youtube channel at:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCW59FgUrYH16PeAf1Ttczng

Give this guy some support, please!

Sort:  

I went to that @kleshguitars blog, and the results I see are just mind blowing. Most of his post made under $0.10 !
And I think I know why is this so. I have been watching DTUBE, and their members post, and rewards, etc.
Most of the rewards yet come from one single whale account @dtube. It is hard to calculate , what percentage of ALL rewards they generate, but with their huge 2+MLN Steem (!) voting power, I believe it is well above 50% of total rewards raised on DTube. ( I would guess 70-80%)
Now see - who they upvote? Everyone can do a small research like I did, it is simple. Go to https://steemfriends.org/

Then enter acct name (@dtube), interested time period, select (4) SP x Total weight, and hit UPDATE. You will get something like this:

The same few dozen of dtubers been upvoted again and again. And again.
I will not talk here if they all create high or low value videos. Everyone can go and check, and see those videos themselves.
I highly doubt someone is watching those videos at @dtube acct individually every time - it take enormous human work, this is so very time hungry task.
And I have noticed that good part of upvotes from @dtube could possibly be automated, upvoted without watching the content. This also would answer, why they do sometimes upvote a LOW quality videos, once it has been posted by a "established" fan DTuber.

I believe I am not the only one, who see , who notice these things. And this may not build a high desire to spend many many hours posting works on Dtube for the newcomers.
Some of them may not process this deep research. They just start posting. And get pennies in return.
@kleshguitars is not the only such unlucky. I have noticed a number of great videos here, all expiring 7 day active period with a few pennies collected.
No wonder these people will not stay here for long.

Agreed here, I see the same thing with dsound as well... On both platforms, I hear pretty ordinary music get huge upvotes over real quality. I'm a professional musician, so I can hear the difference... But it often doesn't take a lot of time to figure out of if anyone has listened, instead of an automatic upvote from dtube or dsound.

Hey Daan, thanks so much! I'll promote this as well. So I am a cryptocurrency holder / buyer and started posting on dtube when I found out about it. Right now I don't have any "dtube specific" videos, they're just the same ones I post on YT. Thanks again for helping. Nothing discourages me brother! -Shane @ KleshGuitars

You can definitely just cross-post your Youtube videos, I personally don't mind.
If you want to post some exclusives, maybe just start out with a short introduction so people get to know you :)

Glad to help, just couldn't take it anymore seeing you just earn a couple of cents!

Btw, check out:
https://steemworld.org/@kleshguitars (to see more info about your Steem account)

That's the spirit!

Being noticed on Steem requires some specific tricks. For example, when you use the tag #introduceyourself for an introduction like your first post, you will get upvotes and comments from people who track that tag in order to welcome new users.

It great that you are helping out, but I think that one of the ways that he would help get a following is if also promoted his Steem account in his YouTube. I know it isn't something that you can directly affect but if a few of his subscribers come over then they would be also supporting.

Granted it would be small, but I guess that is how it begins... But I find the same thing happens for professional content creators (artists and musicians) here, it is a place that sadly values amateur critique and curation over knowledgeable curation. It can be a tough pill to swallow...

Great idea actually, I'll mention that to him when he posts another video :) Plus it could also give Steem some exposure!

I actually don't agree that this is a problem related to Steemit. As @bengy says, it's the YouTubers who promote Steemit who tend to build a good following here. I first heard about Steemit from James Corbett and Jeff Berwick - both of these video producers did YouTubes all about Steemit, and as a result, thousands of their followers came over to try it out.
I follow @nanzo-scoop on Steemit, who has a rep of 73 and whose videos on Steemit regularly receive more than 1,000 upvotes, yet on YouTube his videos only get a handful of views. Usually it takes at least a year to build up a YouTube channel to any significant number (although there are some that see faster success - usually due to lurid promotional techniques!).
I totally agree with some other comments that the 7-day payout on Steemit can be very disheartening. However I've been making YouTubes for a couple of years now, and although some of them have thousands of views, I have 500 subscribers and I get comments to them on a daily basis, I have not received ONE SINGLE PENNY from YouTube. Not one cent! My videos cannot be monetised until I have at least 1,000 subscribers. And by the time I have that number, YouTube will probably move the goalposts again!
Oh - and by the way, YouTube can post ads on my videos and make money out of them if it wants to. But I'm not allowed to make any money from my own work until I have at least 1,000 subs. That's why I create on Steemit and haven't uploaded any videos to YouTube for months.
Interesting topic though. I hope @kleshguitars sees some success on Steemit.

I respectfully disagree that this isn't a problem with Steemit. I mean, you can't expect new users to have to engage with the community, just to be able to make any sort of income of off Steemit. Good content should make its way to the Trending page organically and that's absolutely not the case right now.

Let's forget about the trending page, just simply finding good content here is, just by using the Steemit website itself is pretty much impossible. There's absolutely no decent system in place to filter out good content. I'm a bit more optimistic about the ways certain other Steem-based platforms are trying to solve this problem, but fact of the matter is that most new users start out by using Steemit.com.

I really hope something like @steeve becomes more popular in the future, they have the right idea IMO.

I'm not saying there aren't any problems with Steemit. I totally agree that the trending page is dreadful – I certainly never look at it. I definitely agree that there should be more filters there. But that wasn't the point I was making. I'm saying that I think YouTube is generally worse than Steemit for users, unless you're producing the kind of lurid content that can gain massive views very quickly. And if YouTubers with large followings move to Steemit AND market Steemit to their YouTube followers, that can help them build a strong following on Steemit.
But I definitely agree that we need a better way to filter quality content on Steemit, and for users to be able to find the kind of content they want. I also hope that Steeve can help this situation.

Sorry that I misread what you were saying, I can definitely agree with all of the above! I'll definitely share that message to him, maybe he can make a short Youtube video about it :)

Happy holidays to you btw @natubat!

That would be great, with potentially positive results for him and for Steemit. Happy holidays to you too @daan!

Yeah, I noticed that and it's sad. It seems like it works only one way but not both - I've met lots of people who have a bunch of success on YT but over here earn almost nothing and there is the other side where people from YT who doesn't have success, earn a lot over here.

Didn't find the receipt of going both in their favour though.

On the Steem Blockchain you need to earn your rewards in the first seven days, on YouTube it lasts forever. That makes a huge difference. I do believe that content creators like him have a future here, but for that to happen, we need loads more traffic...

Posted using Partiko iOS

There are two real issues that I see. The 7 day payout is a killer for content creators as everything dissappears from sight straight after that. Once it cant earn anymore nobody cares about it. So why would people produce really good lasting content since in a months time it will never be seen. On most platforms content takes a long time to reach an audience and the videos with millions of views are years old. We are encouraging instant gratification here which does not add up to consistency or quality.

If you keep producing the quality content then over time people discover you and your following grows leading to quicker and larger payouts. What we need is a 7 window for all votes recieved regardless of how old the content is.

The second issue is finding these people. Finding and supporting the good content creators so that they stick around and enjoy what they do. There are plenty of curation groups and initiatives for this but the creators tend to have to find them rather than being found. What you have done as an established user is put this person on the radar which is huge. Now it's not for me but I can appreciate the content that he has put together and if it was able to earn for the next few years would probably get decent daily payouts when there are more users on the site.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, youtube has some billion users/viewers.
Here on steemit we have 60k active users?
But I'll support this guy too - he's cool :)

Very true, but before I'd found him here, he had ZERO upvotes almost. That's not right either ;)

Steemauto settings:

And this was @dog-marley ;)
I'll do the same :)

Ahh nice! Thanks for the support, I've left a comment on his latest video about this post. I hope he sees your comment!

My settings are the same:

Now we three (you, dog-marley and me) did all we can :)

Indeed ;)

Was he featured @pifc already?
As long he's below 55 rep. he can - and I would love to do so in the next contest which should start in the weekend.

The contest starts Tuesday at 12:01am Chicago time (CST w/daylight savings). It then ends on Saturday at 11:59pm.

I had checked this guy out briefly when @daan mentioned him in chat during the state of steemit call yesterday.

Thank you for sharing this, it's important we continue to provide feedback and analysis that leads to improvements and ultimately adoption.

<Hey @daan i like stuff like these... Smile hopped over and spread some Love... smile feel freee to invote this dude to the Helpie-Caster Community smile... he fits into it :)

Great that you gave him some support! Yeah I'll talk to him about joining Helpie-caster ;) I think I need explain him a bit more about the different Steem communities.

So he joinbed us, is set him to a caster...

Also i try to get a talk to him, so i can help him to get a bit fdorward with his possibilities ;) smile Thats why i started the Helpie Caster ;)

Maybe one Day i can reach some of the BIG FISHES to help this idea ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66996.66
ETH 3235.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63