You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Youtuber with 25k Subscribers and over 5 million views earns NOTHING on Steem!

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I actually don't agree that this is a problem related to Steemit. As @bengy says, it's the YouTubers who promote Steemit who tend to build a good following here. I first heard about Steemit from James Corbett and Jeff Berwick - both of these video producers did YouTubes all about Steemit, and as a result, thousands of their followers came over to try it out.
I follow @nanzo-scoop on Steemit, who has a rep of 73 and whose videos on Steemit regularly receive more than 1,000 upvotes, yet on YouTube his videos only get a handful of views. Usually it takes at least a year to build up a YouTube channel to any significant number (although there are some that see faster success - usually due to lurid promotional techniques!).
I totally agree with some other comments that the 7-day payout on Steemit can be very disheartening. However I've been making YouTubes for a couple of years now, and although some of them have thousands of views, I have 500 subscribers and I get comments to them on a daily basis, I have not received ONE SINGLE PENNY from YouTube. Not one cent! My videos cannot be monetised until I have at least 1,000 subscribers. And by the time I have that number, YouTube will probably move the goalposts again!
Oh - and by the way, YouTube can post ads on my videos and make money out of them if it wants to. But I'm not allowed to make any money from my own work until I have at least 1,000 subs. That's why I create on Steemit and haven't uploaded any videos to YouTube for months.
Interesting topic though. I hope @kleshguitars sees some success on Steemit.

Sort:  

I respectfully disagree that this isn't a problem with Steemit. I mean, you can't expect new users to have to engage with the community, just to be able to make any sort of income of off Steemit. Good content should make its way to the Trending page organically and that's absolutely not the case right now.

Let's forget about the trending page, just simply finding good content here is, just by using the Steemit website itself is pretty much impossible. There's absolutely no decent system in place to filter out good content. I'm a bit more optimistic about the ways certain other Steem-based platforms are trying to solve this problem, but fact of the matter is that most new users start out by using Steemit.com.

I really hope something like @steeve becomes more popular in the future, they have the right idea IMO.

I'm not saying there aren't any problems with Steemit. I totally agree that the trending page is dreadful – I certainly never look at it. I definitely agree that there should be more filters there. But that wasn't the point I was making. I'm saying that I think YouTube is generally worse than Steemit for users, unless you're producing the kind of lurid content that can gain massive views very quickly. And if YouTubers with large followings move to Steemit AND market Steemit to their YouTube followers, that can help them build a strong following on Steemit.
But I definitely agree that we need a better way to filter quality content on Steemit, and for users to be able to find the kind of content they want. I also hope that Steeve can help this situation.

Sorry that I misread what you were saying, I can definitely agree with all of the above! I'll definitely share that message to him, maybe he can make a short Youtube video about it :)

Happy holidays to you btw @natubat!

That would be great, with potentially positive results for him and for Steemit. Happy holidays to you too @daan!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58493.60
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41