How Often Do You Mention Steem on Other Websites or Platforms? Spread The Word!

in #steem5 years ago

promo-steem.jpg
Source


Lately I've been noticing that there's quite a bit of hype surrounding the emergence of dApps into the crypto-sphere. As a result, many news websites have been covering this subject and usually Steem-based dApps are not even being mentioned. I've also noticed that in discussions on forum and social media, Steem is more often than not being left out.

I've been making it my personal mission to leave more comments on dApp-related articles, to remind the readers that there are also many popular Steem-based dApps out there. However, it seems that I'm usually the only one doing so.


My Comments

Today, I saw this article on ambcrypto.com that mentioned EOS, Tron & Ethereum dApps. I found it to be a little weird that the author hadn't mentioned Steem, since some of our dApps are definitely not doing bad in terms of usage.

So I left this comment, which is still awaiting moderation:


Then I searched on Google for high ranking articles that mentioned comparisons between different dApp platforms and found this slightly older article from January 2019. Since the article ranked high for some important keywords, I thought it would still be useful to add a comment mentioning Steem.

This comment did get published immediately and it's the only one even mentioning Steem, among the 3 other comments that were there.


Back in December of last year, there was a discussion over at the Bitcointalk forum, where someone was looking for the best dApp platform. I got in pretty quickly and left a detailed reply where I was promoting Steem as a viable dApp platform.

I have many more examples of instances where I'm promoting Steem on the Bitcointalk forum, but I won't bore you with those. My point is that small bits of low-key promotion like this can have a big effect on the public perception of Steem.


Join Me!

Look, I get it, typing out a somewhat decent comment takes a little bit of time and effort. Most of the time people won't even read it, nor will they give you any answers. Despite that, I still think it's a good way to influence the public perception of the Steem blockchain.

So, next time when you're reading an article or following a discussion where mentioning Steem might be relevant. Just leave a comment and give Steem just that little bit of extra exposure.

Who knows, maybe we'll attract someone who'll become very active in the community. Anyone who's joining Steem and becomes an active contributor while the prices are this low is an invaluable asset to the community. New people do join after reading honest positive feedback from other people. Let's reach those people by talking about Steem on other platforms.


Sort:  

I know I don't do as good of a job as I should linking to stuff on Steemit. I could probably get a lot of people interested if I tried to link more stories on my Facebook page. I have done that in the past, but there are some things on Steemit that I like to keep separate.

I tried to get friends and family on here, nobody cares :(
Mentioned it on my twitter when someone asked for a "decentralised social network".
Fun fact: I have more meaningful interactions on steemit than on LinkedIn and Twitter combined.

Good work! I don't participate in many online forums, but I have shared Steemit posts (not just my own!) on Facebook.
I use YouTube quite a lot, and it was hearing about Dtube from a YouTuber that brought me over to Steemit in the first place.

I will be the first to admit I don't promote steemit on other platforms. I would but that would mean I would have to be on them and I only use steemit.
I do talk to friends about steemit but they are all FB people and like being censored I guess. Great that you are spreading the word and helping, much appreciated by all of us here I am sure.

If we are to say we want to promote steem, we should also take part in promoting steem and steemit around. I have mentioned steemit to some of my friends and I have try to promote it also so as for them to

Hi @daan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.968 which ranks you at #3856 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 11 places in the last three days (old rank 3845).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 380 contributions, your post is ranked at #98.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



Congratulations @daan! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 22000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 23000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22