Forget About Social Media Campaigns for a Second - Who's Been Contacting Journalists About Steem?

in #steem5 years ago

newspaper-154444_1280.png
Source


So, I know that a lot of people have been putting enormous amounts of effort into promoting Steem through various social media channels, like Twitter, Youtube & Medium. This has gotten us some decent exposure and as a result, some news websites have even written a few stories, thanks to those campaigns on social media.

Now my question is: Why don't we ask journalists themselves to write about Steem?

I know a few journalists personally and through them I know that they usually appreciate getting tips from readers. Anything that allows them to get a scoop on a particular story is generally well received.

Some news websites also have a dedicated e-mail address to send in tips, I think it's about time we start using this option to promote Steem. Alternatively, striking up a conversation with individual journalists through e-mail or via Twitter is probably also a good idea.

Though, I would recommend writing high-quality suggestions for articles, instead of just suggesting vague concepts.


Remember when Steem got featured on Yahoo News?

After Steem was added to State of the DApps, Yahoo News wrote an article about this. Right after this article was published, the Steem price went up to over $0.30.

https://uk.finance.yahoo.com/news/steem-added-state-dapps-listings-132414745.html

We need more journalists that post regular stories about Steem and the only way to achieve this, is by letting them know that the Steem community is alive and thriving.


Cointelegraph might not be an option, but smaller publications are!

Look, I'm not saying that we're going to be able to get Cointelegraph to publish an article about Steemit. They charge companies a pretty huge amount of money, just to publish a press release for example. I doubt that they'll take user suggestions into consideration.

I'd look at smaller publications, like CCN for example. They have a dedicated e-mail address for suggestions, so we might actually have a chance to get a story about Steem published on there.

Aside from CCN, there are dozens of similar news websites that would accept user-submitted suggestions for articles. All we need to do is send them enticing ideas. Below is a list of such news websites:


Conclusion

Look, I know that making this suggestion is very easy, the hard work is actually in contacting all these news websites and journalists. I'm more than willing to work together with anyone, just to get a coordinated effort going.

I'm not sure if there's already a group on Steem working towards this. Maybe this would be something that #oracle-d is interested in doing? If so, I'm more than happy to join and help reach out to some of these journalists.

Let me know if anyone is interested in working with me on this!

Sort:  

Top idea... All you need is someone brave enough to send blind contact emails, and if you get a single (or more) hit, then it makes it all worthwhile! I wonder if it is also the sort of thing that more traditional news outlets would be interested in... or would they just get obsessed about the less savoury aspects of the Steem chain, whilst looking for a "story angle"....

This is a great idea and how awesome that you have already started a list for people to use. I hope that you get some people who are interested to work with you on this. If there is anything I can do to help just let me know. I feel like news outlets are going to be more interested in the State of Steem and new things coming to Steem than the things I post about, but I can try to help.

I'd actually love to see news websites post some articles about Steem Monsters for example. I haven't come across any articles about that, which is a real shame.

I'll get in touch with you if I find come other people who might be interested in this too.

Awesome, sounds like a plan!

I think that may be a good idea, I'm curious to read about the outcomes. I'm not in the position to commit to that at the moment, sorry :)

Posted using Partiko Android

We'd love to cooperate.

Our goal within ImpactN is to set up a purpose-driven economy on Steem - creating money in an impact-driven way.

This certainly would be a topic for both crypto-related media and media interested in everything around impact investing.

Let's get in touch and see how we can combine forces. On discord I'm traveller7761#9847.

Read more on ImpactN here: https://busy.org/@impactn/locally-active-for-global-action-p-1-business-plan-impactn

This post has been included in the latest edition of SOS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



I'm also going to promote Steem on my websites, social media pages etc

Thanks @daan for remind me

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @daan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.929 which ranks you at #3986 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 7 places in the last three days (old rank 3979).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 256 contributions, your post is ranked at #53.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 365 (01/08/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62