[BOUNTY] WE NEED THIS NOW. ALL STEEMDOLLARS WILL GO TO THE BEST SOLUTION.

in #steem8 years ago (edited)


by @cryptoctopus

Hello Everyone!

I believe I am not the only in this situation. I have acquired quite a bit of STEEMPOWER through the author's reward and I am now doing my best as a content curator. But I am getting slowly into despair.

People who are looking to do a quick buck and don't want to put any efforts creating actual unique and creative content simply copy/paste articles from other authors either from within steemit or outside on 3rd party websites and post here. Most people don't bother to check by copy/pasting in google to see if it's an original piece of content.

The sheer volume of new article is overwhelming and there are not enough of dolphins and whale to police it all.

This is a big problem

The value of the platform depends largely on Google giving us rankings for articles. When people do that, it hurts all of us...especially people like me who have a bigger stake in the platform.

Solution - Automation

I am putting a bounty up of all the SBD this article will earn for anyone who has the technical know-how to create a bot that searches new articles, check if its been copied elsewhere on the internet(or steemit), flag the article if it is the case, add a comment to put everyone on notice with a link to the original article.

This overtime should get the message across that this isn't the right thing to do.

Claiming your bounty

Demonstrate it's capability and then contact me directly via the slack channel. Also, I will be happy to upvote the comment from this bot anytime I see it since it is a major help to keep this platform clean from copy/pasted content.

EDITS

EDIT [1]IMPORTANT: The solution must be scale-able...I am not convinced yet that mechanical turks are the way to go for automation and scaleability.
Edit [2]: The article shouldn't be penalized from duplicate content if they use the quoting function

like this

EDIT [3]: The bot shouldn't flag links and pictures
EDIT [4]: Should flag the post after a certain threshold of plagiarizing to not flag anyone who just happened to write a sentence that is the same as somewhere else on the net.

Sort:  

This post should easily cover $500 and I would recommend to donate ALL income of this post as a bounty .. but it's up to you.

For those looking to code this .. you may want to look into http://piston.rocks if you intend to code this using python ..

If I hadn't some other projects that could be beneficial for steem, I would do this my self. I'll let others try it first!

Go

yes, your piston.rocks is definitely the tool to use. I am taking your suggestion into account. Changing the title now.
I am looking for a solution that can scale and I doubt amazon mechanical turks can perform this task.

You gotta love how easy steemit makes crowdfunding, this is insane on so many levels. :D

I think the problem lies in the distribution itself.

piston is nice for bots! cool more voting bots here soon

I upvoted in support of this idea.

And\Or, Steemit could just make it easier to embed content than it is to steal it.

There is an open source project that does this with almost all content, from amazon to soundcloud to twitter to vimeo. It displays the content, credits the author, and provides a link to their domain, and it works just like steemit shares youtube videos right now.
http://embed.ly
http://oembed.com/
https://noembed.com/

These projects are open source, and just waiting in github.
https://github.com/iamcal/oembed/tree/master/providers
https://github.com/leedo/noembed

The reason I keep posting this, is because it is not a winnable war and wasting energy on policing when you could be sharing 100x more cool stuff ethically is just dumb.

I agree. Its a lot of wasted energy and efforts but something has to be done. A solution like the above would probably take a long time to integrate right now...but in the meanwhile we need something to deter people from copy/pasting

I cautiously agree that a downvote brigade would work fine temporarily.

This is a disruptive platform, it needs more disruptive services like embedding youtube videos. Embed.ly has built a enterprise level business that turns "plagiarism" into sharing, by simply making it easier to do the right thing and credit the author. Steemit needs this concept more than police and content bots.

Just keep in mind. Once a police force is created and given power, they never get disbanded. And once a bot coded to detect and censor stuff is created, it's a tiny step away from being used to censor ideas. Those 2 things are how you get reddit and facebook in their current states. Building them the first month on a decentralized platform is just plain scary.

Yep. And this is my fear. I think a bot should only post a comment linking the original source. Then be subject to flagging if the plagiarist claim is wrong.

This bot would be golden. I've noticed it happening so many times lately, and I believe I saw a post (was it maybe you) who warned people to google search the content and not just the title to see who steals content without even giving and credit to the creator.

As you can see from my post history I try to tell people in the #introduceyourself posts to verify in some way that they are the owner of the account and the ones they claim to be in the pictures.

Remember creating accounts is anonymous and people with many facebook or reddit accounts can create a lot of them. Its easy for them to just take pictures from facebook or other social media platforms and claim to be them here for a quick profit. How much would it suck in the future for someone to come on here and realize someone else has been acting to be them for years. I know I would be creeped out.

Excellent idea! The anonymity that mean "no morals". This is not only a robbery to another person, but also to the whole community Steemit. In real society, such theft could be sued with backrest justice.

It'd also be nice if occasionally one of you whales would give a dolphin a boost.

I write funny shit like this, and it gets drowned in spam before anyone notices it.

https://steemit.com/satire/@business/what-2026-will-be-like-when-your-steem-power-reaches-infinity

its really tough dude. Im actually a dolphin and I get drown trying to figure out which post are authentic and which on are copy/paste. That's where my despair come from.

This problem for me is more about stealing then actually copy/pasting. I might be wrong but I don't see any problem for anyone to actually repost their own content they already worked very hard to create in here. However, the problem becomes : how can we verify the original author for both entries is the same person. Maybe a platform like keybase.io could be leveraged to automate author verification?

I have the same concern. I have posted my own original content all over, including here.

For mass plagiarizers it might be good idea to downvote everything that they post so that their accounts will become useless.

In the blockchain reputation is everything. When you lose the reputation of your account, you basically destroy the account. Nobody will trust it anymore.

If i could remember the username of all spammers I would. But I cant 😤

That's why we need tools for it. It'd like to be able to mark users so that I'll see immediately if they have done something unwanted earlier.

But of course this is mostly a job for bots. Once a spammer is in the automatic downvote list, his account will be useless.

I agree there's too many reposts and we need to clean up these posts that are just reposts of already posted content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58809.44
ETH 3151.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43