Truce With Haejin - Personal Thoughts

in #steem7 years ago

Quick Thoughts

Just gonna post some quick thoughts as I do not have internet for my computer to spend a lot of time formatting or finding pictures. Currently moving to Texas and just drove 12 hours today from Illinois to Texas.

Head In the Sand

The newest truce rules which can be found on the walls of @berniesanders or @netuoso.

The agreement is basically, stop flagging, commenting, complaining, or accusing either side of anything negative.

And by doing this, @Haejin agrees to 100% powerup 6 votes of every 10.

This seems like a cop out. It basically makes me feel like the whole movement to stop this was pointless and useless. Like we should just put our heads in the sand.

Negatives

There was a lot of friendly fire going on during the flame war. Many legitimate accounts on both sides got flagged for very little reasons, and emotions ran high.

Idk how many followers of Haejin are legitimate. But I know there has to be legitimate followers and I don't want them to hurt for being mis-informed. Likewise, people on either side shouldn't be hurt for trying to correct something they see as wrong.

So what did we learn?

Flagging To Fix Payouts Will Not Work

Flag wars are horrible ideas. Minnows get caught in the crossfire and it's impossible to tell who's legitimate and who's not. It saddens me to know that many people on BOTH sides were flagged into oblivion because nobody knew who or what was actually going on.

If I ever flagged a legitimate account, I apologize to you as my intention was to never hurt a LEGITIMATE user of the Steem blockchain.

Please understand, that the legitimate users on both sides felt they were doing what was right at the time.

The Next Step

This is obviously a huge issue with the platform. I think this needs to be talked about and fixed in a way that does not involve a war that hurts the platform as much as the act that was flagged.

I still believe a hard cap on the reward pool percentages could be a viable answer to this issue. (i.e. one account cannot make more than 1% of the reward pool. Or some other amount that seems reasonable to the COMMUNITY. Not to the whales who abuse this ability.)

Please my fellow Steemians, remember that when you get a payout, it is taken from a community pool that is shared with all other content creators and curators.

When you make your single picture post, and upvote it to 100's of dollars, you are taking from legitimate users who are working to build the community and the content it provides.

I am willing to talk about anything with anyone who feels they want to share their thoughts!

Request of Haejin

As someone who says he has 15+ years of experience. Could you make a post about the differences you have found between crypto markets and regular stock markets?

What patterns hold true and are there any NEW patterns that emerged with this new investing opportunity!

-BiasNarrative

Sort:  

I just wanted to throw a quick comment in here to say.. really like that you didn't let it get to personal.. and even though this isn't a real solution ( i'm liking our cap idea a whole lot) you put out legit questions that could keep some peace and possibly see if @haejin actually knows his shit lol

I don't doubt he knows what he's doing for the most part.

I'm just trying to send out an olive branch. Give him a chance to respond in kind to a nice request.

Can't say that I am happy with what is going on. But maybe fixing some bridges can help in the future more than beating my head against a wall haha. I can be persitent, but it seems the other side is as persistent as I am xD.

I would like to see Haejin make some posts for his followers on how Steem works, how the reward pool operates, how supporting everyone on the Steem platform benefits everyone as it brings more legitimacy to it. The more wealth we can spread, the more people will buy, and the more the price will rise.

Seems like a simple formula to me! Haha.

Help me Help you!!!!!! how loud must i scream it for you to listen hahahahaha.... seems like such a simple concept...

This flagging methode is really a bad to a good commantator.. some of the peoples who have a high power and they are send sbd to bots snd get a high sbd vote and come to top of the trendings .but theire is no matter usefull and no content also if we read comments of that posts that are also not related to the post...if we want to ask that in comment .we get a scare they have a high power if they flagged me .my reputation is down...so lot of things happends lik this here....@biasnarrative

I totally agree that flagging is a horrible idea that doesn't work. Maybe the concept of flagging is in the right place (trying to let the users balance payouts where they think they are deserved). However, I think there is too much emotional attachment with flagging.

When people are flagged there is a sense of being attacked personally. Even if the flag was just to decrease your payout, I think you can't help but feel some sense of personal attack. This causes emotions to get involved which can escalate into the wars we have seen.

I think that there should be flagging, and possibly some anonymous way to decrease payouts on people's posts. It should still deduct from you in some way (so people don't randomly flag), but it also means that people can flag feeling safe they wont be flagged just for trying to show their honest feelings.

Then again, this would have a lot of problems too...

I can't understand what difference does it make by powering up 6 posts out of 10? :D
He's still gulping up a large share for little effort.
I see you're a sensitive guy but don't torture yourself with this issue brother.
There's very little we can do unless we're a whale or a witness!

I would say campaigning for a change in a HF might be something the little guys can do :)

I havent followed this story until I found your previous article last week. I came across the bernie fella once and he was trolling the shit out of someone for posting a photo without proper citation. His goal was to turn in a parking infraction into a murder case. The bottom line is, these guys appear to be full blown trolls. My guess is they only made the truce so they could break it later. The psyche of an internet troll is that of a sadist. They derive pleasure from the frustration of others. Any solution that relies on their cooperation will eventually fail IMO. Sadly, I think we will be back to the drawing board on this one soon, but I appreciate you keeping us updated on the situation.

I am still confused by the discussion of this post.
can you tell HAEJIN what is it? @biasnarrative
sorry i'm too plain ..
@biasnarrative

how to let us know that a legitimate account or an unauthorized account I do not understand please help @biasnarrative

My doubt is also that can you tell me...@biasnarrative

Please refer too this post. https://steemit.com/steemitabuse/@biasnarrative/when-you-speak-out-back-down-to-54-rep

There is no 100% way to know, but you can definitely put pieces together to figure it out.

The collateral damage of the whole war, just like with any other (real) war, was way too big. As always, bystanders and occasional participants, suffered more than those at the front.

That said tho, I am happy that a truce, and agreement, has been reached. At least this reallocates huge amount of VP to be used positively. As for the solution, it’s a loose-loose for anyone involved, also the community. But it will refocus many on doing what matters. And maybe, just maybe, one or two may have learned something from it and it can have been an eye-opener to them to learn how the pool works.

Your story is absolutely fascinating to readers.
From today I will read you every day
sweared.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61251.21
ETH 2951.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52