VESTS, STEEM, and SBD in Charts

in #steem5 years ago

Something to do on a cloudy Monday - play with historical data to produce some charts and say a few words about them.




The above is the complete history of my SBD and STEEM earnings, including 0.01 SBD on the 25th August 2016, and then nothing at all for 8 months which duffs the chart up a bit. Excluding that first entry in the chart below.




SBD: The usual liquid payout route showed movement on the charts about a month after I started producing content in earnest. 5 months later and 1000 SBD has been achieved, although these charts are very much skewed by recycled SBD into Bid-bots. Towards the end of 2017, STEEM took off and so that meant you were earning a raft of SBD and it looks like almost 2000 earned in 1 month between Christmas and the the end of January 2018. Slower, but still fairly steady growth for the next 5 months, until STEEM became the liquid payout route. Since then there have been a couple of flips between the two, shown by the flat spells on the charts.




Ignoring the 25 vests earned from that payout in August 2016, a slow start again and what looked to be a good month Nov-December 2017. I was using bots regularly, but @utopian-io had recently arrived, and I was picking up some nice votes from a few friendly Orcas and Whales as well. A fairly steady climb throughout 2018, I'd gone on a bot hiatus, which only began again a few months ago with @ocdb.




The curation chart is similar with a good spell in early 2018, a long steady climb for the middle half of the year lasting around 6 months (I stopped self-voting almost completely around Feb-March 2018), and then a rapid move starting at the end of October 2018. I did adjust my timings following hard-fork 20, but I have a feeling that this noticeable change in trajectory is also due to friends picking up on @ocdb, and the fact it's holding around 4 million delegated SP.


Along with the direct promotion @ocdb provides, there's also a bit of bonus in that people are checking the queue over at: https://thegoodwhales.io/queue.html



I've got to be honest and say that since I started using @ocdb to promote the engagement league each week with a sizable bid, I've not really seen any change in the trickle of new people sign up. The post doesn't get close to top 50 Trending and so that could be why?


Some comments might get a chart, senders of ENGAGE tokens will get a chart :P

Cheers

Asher

Sort:  

Hi Asher. Need to get to steemengine and log in. I promise to do it soon. I think showing a constant growth with the line going up is hard to maintain and you have done extremely well. Good to see your curation going to the stars.

Ok cool, yours are on a fierce upward trajectory too!

Like @wolfhart, who joined/started earning around a similar time, STEEM earnings cross SBD, pretty cool to see.

Fierce is good and now I have to just keep it on that growth angle. It is actually quite fascinating to see how it just kicks off and is looking decent. Thanks Asher as it just gives me more of a boost to do more.

Yes the are similar. Interesting

I DO have lovely ENGAGE Tokens, but need very specific directions on how to send/buy tokens! That's the only reason that I, and possibly others, have not asked for a chart. It's all new to me!

I see!

Well buying/selling are different to sending, you need to visit the market for the former.

To send though is quite simple.

Go to My Token Wallet: https://steem-engine.com/?p=balances&a=melinda010100

Click on the row of the token you wish to send.

Fill these fields, and click send (engage).

I see you have 900 of them and could be the largest holder so we'll go through the market another time!

I sent you some ENG! Thanks!

Replying here to the ENGAGE send, thank you!

Oh I do like presenting data that looks like this - What an excellent start to 2019! :D

Thanks for these! It great to see my growth laid out like this.

Crazy to see that when self votes end, we get support elsewhere to make up for it! I have experienced the same this month. Incredible sign of community!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I was lucky with that and don't recommend it, but I'm glad it's worked for you also!

Those charts are actually a great motivation to new accounts, since they perfectly demonstrate that rewards increase exponentially over time. I'm pretty sure the charts of most established content creators would show a similar curve.

So if one does struggle at the very beginning (and honestly we all did :-)), then this is quite normal. It's just important to keep pushing and be consistent. The break even will come sooner or later :-)

Cloudy?? Bummer.
Puts the shorts back into her closet... 😏

😜

Yes I agree :)

I'm interested to see your charts as an 'established content creator' but will wait to see if you want them presenting.

Cloudy until Friday says the weather app. Fingers crossed!

Oh I wouldn't even know how to create those charts, haha - you gotta show me :-)))

The app tiempo on my phone says we gonna have about 20C degrees on Friday and Saturday. Sounds like a plan to me!

Good! It's been nice and sunny for months and so it would be a little unfair to cloud out the weekend.

It's interesting how the VESTs started moving long before the SBD/STEEM did. The dark ages were not good for visible earnings but the votes were still counting.

See you on (a hopefully sunny) Friday! :D

Oh WOW, thank you so much for the charts!!! How cool's that! I didn't expect you to generate the data right away 🙃

It's really interesting to see how the curves behave. And one of my biggest takeaway is that I need to get back to a regular curation - not just to improve my own earnings, but to support others.

See ya 😉

:D

I noticed you vote a lot of comments on your posts, which I think is a good thing to do. But I guess for earnings then some curation of posts is required, and these days the best timing seems to be around 8-12 minutes - hard to do manually!

See ya :D

Oh No😢 I don't have ENGAGE😢😢😢😢

😢
But it has such a nice logo!

I'll do you one for Curation, it's looking a lot better in recent months!

Thank you @abh12345 😉 it started better after your delegation😊

😊

And now you have almost 900 SP with delegations it should hopefully rise even faster!

Just 100 SP to be free... and you can take it back soon😊 and when I found it's hard to survive.. I'll beg for a little more time 😂😂

Hopefully you'll be a minnow by the summer :D

End of April is my target 😉 perhaps I could 20SP every week😁, still.. couldn't thanked you enough...I will just start my own project once I reach minnow 3

I am on my phone and can't send ENGAGE but I am good for them... I swear .... Just one hit... A little bump... Just a taste...

I trust you :)

Interesting final chart, I'll let you post about it later to find out more :)

Thanks Asher, I will have a look at making up a credible story when I have a chance ;D

Cool. I wasn't aware STEEM was in the payouts in (late 2016?) early 2017.

I started the end of January but they removed SBD soon after as the price went to 7 cents.

😂🤣😂🤣😂 ......
Will you share with me....i promise ill pay you back......someday.
Just...
Needa.....
Real quick fix.......

So you are only tracking earned incomes here, right? So any invested amounts wouldn't show up? Also, since im on the subject, how much steem have you bought? Annnnd......HAPPY MONDAY!!!!😂

That's right John, this is only earnings related. I'm not sure exactly how much SP I've bought in total, i think it's somewhere between 1500-2000, and the vast majority of it was prior to September/October 2017.

Thank you very much, and the same to you!

Damn. I wish I could say I only bought 1500-2000. Lol. I unfortunately purchased way more than that sadly. 😞

Yeah, i was lucky with timing and it could have even better if I knew how to do it a month earlier which was when I first started trying to buy. Was much easier when I located Coinbase. Hopefully you'll be right in the next year or so after buying into this dip we've had. What's the lowest you've paid?

The lowest was I believe about .22 cents in December but I didn’t buy much then. Was tapped. I’ve also bought as high a 3 bucks (ugh) when I first entered....and everywhere in between.

But I’m going to keep buying when I can here and there in drips and drabs, and I’m using sone of your “advice” to help strengthen my positions as well.

Might actually pick your brain and send ya a message this week. Got some questions that maybe you can help answer as I’m dumb. Lol

Almost 5 STEEM for a dollar, nice!

3.. could have been worse, I know a few that are still here who bought close to the high in January last year.

You have a decent chunk of SP and so curation/auto's are worth getting right for the people/content you enjoy.

Send one over whenever, I'll try to help :)

Yeah I wish I would have had a boatload to chuck in at that point. Ah...what if’s...

Definitely brother. Thx. Bother you soon.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am hoping it will include vested growth too where the vests of SP make a chart ... I haven't sent any engage tokens yet... Let's see :)

Theres a place to go to see your vested SP in a chart. Heres mine....Screenshot_20190318-102509_Chrome.jpg

Where is that from?

Yep, ol' asher nailed it. Steempeak. In the drop down menu. Then pick tools. Hppe it helps dear friend.

Yeah, but every time I try it crashes as i click backwards...

I only use my mobile and it works great for me. Refresh is horribly slow because it actually has to look backwards down the chain and do all the calculations in real time. Maybe just click it once, then literally give it 30 seconds to a minute. And click it again until you get where you want to be. Or if your not using mobile, give that a try. Also hope this helps. Let me know if you have any luck and if you are willing. I'd love to see your graph.

I ma on laptop and it is going to take me 700+ clicks to get back to the start.. I will stay in the dark instead ;D

I think it's from steempeak?

This is very interesting, but much of this still Greek to me...

Thanks!

My Greek is non-existent so I'm impressed you found some here! :D

Your Greek is excellent. As is my understanding of what you said above :D

Hi @abh12345!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.886 which ranks you at #102 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 246 contributions, your post is ranked at #2. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

@abh12345, Good to see that you time to time go back in time with these Charts. And in my opinion with these charts you've also shared some stories related to these charts and some stories and situations good to hear because we will get to know that from what situation this platform came through and where today it's standing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87