Whale Wars : Killer Orca with Trident Hook action

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians ,

orcafin.jpg

I made a new piece for the Whale Wars series that I am doing . I decided to do an Orca or also known as Killer Whale . Fun Fact : Orcas are actually categorised as dolphins not whales. If you are curious as to why ? check out this article here

Orcas are usually considered quite friendly and harmless in the wild. I recommend the documentary "Blackfish" which will change the way you think of "Free Willy". A small pool is not where these majestic animals belong.


image source

The Process

So I started with doing some rough sketches while looking at reference pictures of killer whales, I try to keep things loose and be in the moment as possible. I don't really know what kind of accessories I am going to give him yet, I just want to get that silhouette right. A good silhouette is a key to making a good image.

sketch5.jpg

Here is an example that sadly I didn't make, but excellently illustrates the silhouettes. The idea should be that just by looking at the silhouettes you can tell what it is. If it is a character, it's even better if you can show the emotional state he/she is in. The more information you can portray in the silhouette the better.


image source

I ended up settling with this one because I feel it showed the best silhouette.

sketch4.jpg

Next stage is blocking the accessories over him. I knew I wanted to have armor but as for weapons I was at a lost for while. As I was googling around for inspiration I came across a trident. A trident is most famously associated with Poseidon, A Greek god of the sea.


Check out those abs
image source

That's it! He is gonna shoot a trident out of some launcher. But then I thought, how is he going to retrieve it? He's got fins for hands. So I decided to add a line at the end of the trident that he can pull it back and also use it as a grappling hook . I should be in the action figure industry, lol
skethacc.jpg

So now I trace over the line art .

lineart.jpg

Picking the basic color. I wanted the material of the armor to be like those sea shells that reflects different colors, I am not sure whats the word for it but here's an exemple.


insert image
basic color.jpg

Adding shadows.
shadow.jpg

Adding highlights.
highlight gold shell.jpg

Blue secondary color to the armor.
highlight blue shell.jpg

A little bit more details and that's it! Here's the finished design.
orcafin.jpg

What do you think? Thanks for watching and have a great day :D


The logo designed by @cartoonistpandan and the banner by @orenisme!

Previous Posts
Wo-Owl Retro Musical (Steem Cartoon)
Whale Wars (Steem Cartoon)
Team Malaysia Polo Design
My Introductory Post
Life Is Strange : Before the Storm review

Sort:  

@nkkb Superb an armored whale.

Solving the world problems one whale at a time :D

Great stuff! It reminds of Street Sharks. (My favorite show growing up)

Street sharks and biker mice from mars !

Really liked the thought process @wanaf 😊

cool idea bro 👍..

thanks mate :D

Wow! You gonna make this a series? If it picks up, you might even be able to pitch for the movie next year hahahaha!

yeah , each of them gets their own origin movie first , then the big tent-pole movie . To quote Peter Venkman the MD of the successful startup Ghostbusters
"The franchise rights alone will make us rich beyond our wildest dreams"

great imagination n design..superb wanaf!!

thank you very much bro :D

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61680.81
ETH 3443.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51