Steem-Cartoon: Musical Retro Wo-Owl

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago (edited)

Whats'up steemit

owlbgsemidetail9_00000.jpg

This is my entry into the Steem-Cartoon competition "Musical Retro Wo-Owl"

For this competition I wanted to do something vintage like the old disney cartoon Steamboat Willie and a game called Cuphead which does an excellent job mimicking the cartoon look of that era.
.
image source


image source

So I started sketching out some rough ideas. For some reason I wanted the Wo-Owl to play the banjo . Probably because of that banjo duel scene in the movie "Deliverence".

image source

Here are the sketches, Super rough, I found that the design of the character needed to be really simple to convey the time period I was going for.
chosen2.jpg

I ended up going with this little guy here.
chosen.jpg

So the next thing that I did is create the line art over the sketch. I tweaked the head so it's slightly bigger to make him look more cartoony .
ink2.jpg

Now I picked the colors. I didn't color him yet as I couldn't decide if I wanted to just leave him white.
ink3.jpg

Now for the background, I was inspired by an article by @aurah on "Animation Title Cards" .
An animation title card is usually a still poster-like image shown before the cartoon starts. For more info on that , check out his post here .Here's an exemple of a title card from a cartoon called "Adventure Time"

image source

So for the title card I imagined the Owl playing his Banjo in the middle of the forest, with ominous eyes in the darkness looking at him and a signboard which I will put the steem-cartoons logo on later. I did a quick paint of the environment.
title card1.jpg

Next is detailing the background. I deliberately wanted the background to look separate from the character, because backgrounds in cartoons are done by a different artist .
title card2.jpg

I am a big fan of rim lights so I chose to add them on the bushes behind the Wo-Owl . I also selected the fonts. For the "steem-cartoons" font I chose a free font called "Mickey" and the "Through the woods title" is a font called "Franklin Gothic Heavy" .
firstfixsmall2.jpg

Next, I spent some time adding more details in . Finally, I decided to color him the green of the logo. I also added some fog in the foreground to give it a bit of mystery and Presto! That'll do .
owlbgsemidetail9_00000.jpg

Here is the title card without any text.
title card4.jpg

Thank you!
just_owl.jpg

image.png
image.png
credit to @zomagic

Previous Posts
Whale Wars (Steem Cartoon)
Team Malaysia Polo Design
My Introductory Post
Life Is Strange : Before the Storm review

Sort:  

Dude! Awesome job, man! Love the retro look! N-A-I-L-E-D it!

Also reminds of the that old cartoon about the outcast Owl kid.

" I love to sing-a!"

weee like to singgggg , haha yeah I was hearing this music while doing it too :D

Found the full high quality video on Vimeo with the lyrics 😀

A man with a mission! Thanks!

Nice, @wanaf! The Cuphead inspiration is so strong here. Can totally see this being as being part of the game

thank you @hanbun , did you play the game? It was too frustrating for me :D

Not yet. Time is something I kind of lack right now haha
My younger brother bought it so I'll be meaning to try it out when I get back home for the holidays

I have one word: AWESOME.

Dude I just read your article like an hour ago , you're awesome !

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by drakos from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60677.93
ETH 3360.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50