Steem USA State Wars: State Symbols--Greetings from the Peach State!

in #statewars7 years ago

The state war has begun!  @steemusa is doing a fun challenge this week where we can all throw in some support for our home state to see which one reigns supreme.  Check out today's challenge post for state symbols here:  https://steemit.com/statewars/@steemusa/day-1-state-symbols.  Even if you are not currently a member of #steemusa you can still join in!

There have been some great entries so far today, but if I'm not mistaken I may be the first to welcome y'all to Georgia! ;)  While each state has a number of symbols, I'm sticking with what I know best--food!  Let see if I can entice you into thinking that my home state is quite a delicious place to visit.

Not surprisingly given one of the state's nicknames, Georgia's state fruit is the peach.  They are unfortunately not in season right now, but when they are they are absolutely delicious!  Delicate, sweet and juicy--they are perfect when you can get them fresh from the farm.  I took this picture last year at a local farm when we went strawberry picking.  Hold your horses, it counts because they do peach u-pick, too. ;)

And if that's not good enough, drool over my vegan pancakes with chopped fresh peaches...

If you've ever driven around Atlanta, you know there are about 300 different street names with "peach" in them (maybe more).  You also can't be a true runner in the South without joining in on the Peachtree Road Race 10k at least once in your lifetime.

Oh and if that's not enough, sign up for a few of the other Atlanta Track Club races to earn your "Triple Peach" swag.

While I do love peaches, the state crop is actually the peanut.  I have mentioned in a comment on here recently peanut butter is my desert island food.  Favorite food hands down.  It's un-American to not like peanut butter.  Just putting that out there.  One of my German friends made a comment one time about how crazy it is that we like peanut butter so much here.  A few months later I watched her polish off no less than 10 Reese's Peanut Butter cups.  She has no plans to return to Germany. ;)

Mason jars should be a symbol of the South, too.  We put everything in these things.  They're not only great for canning, but also storage for dry goods, drinking your sickeningly sweet tea and I do have an obsession with overnight oats in jars.

If you really want to show your Georgia pride, they even have Atlanta Braves branded peanuts at the store.

To round out my state pride, I'll share our state vegetable--the Vidalia onion.  Slightly sweet, but it can still make you cry just like many sassy Southern women I am proud to know. ;)  I know a few people who can't eat onions.  I'm sorry you have to live your life without.

I hope you have enjoyed my peachy keen representation of my state. ;)  Now I'm off to see if the other states can bring it on!

Sort:  

A great post for Georgia indeed, those pancakes and peaches look so good

I knew of the peaches of course, the peanuts, but the Vidalla ONion I didnt know was a Georgia State symbol

Tip!

I don't think I realized it was the state vegetable until I looked it up. :) They are quite delicious, though, so it make sense! Glad I could share something a little more obscure.

It was a great post a nice bit of information and variety :)

When I first came here, I so fell in love with peanut butter!! Especially fresh ground!! So good!!!

It's addictive, isn't it? :)

HMMM Peaches. We get some good ones up here in Indiana, but I'm sure they don't compare to the ones in Georgia. I've been wanting to run some around here, but don't feel like busting it on the ice. Great entry!

Thanks! Happy to join in the fun! Peaches are supposed to be really good when you get a certain number of freezing days during the winter before, so hopefully this cold season will be rewarded with some delicious summer crops! Probably a good idea not to run on the ice! We have a sunny nice day here after a dreary weekend, so I might have to go bust out a few miles just to take advantage. (sorry to rub it in) ;)

At first I wasn't sure what the peach state was...so pretty embarrassed about that lol. One of my good friends lives in Georgia!

Haha, well if you don't spend a lot of time in the South then it's not too embarrassing! I probably couldn't tell you what a lot of the other states are!

:)

Haha, good one babe. ;)

Howdy neighbor!!! I love the smell of the georgia right after the rain!

Good morning! It can be quite a refreshing smell! Although some of the best rainbows I've seen have been in Florida. ;)

We do get huge double rainbows here all the time

Those vegan pancakes look amazing! I got to live in Georgia for like nearly 4 months a few years back and it was so interesting! I will always remember it for being the "Tree state" I believe cause everywhere you look is green. I mean I may be wrong on that but it was that way in my head. The only down side was I never got to taste a Georgia peach when I lived there as it was out of season at the time but by gosh one of these days. I would love to go and a u-pick peaches excursion. Thanks for sharing :)

Thanks! There are definitely lots of trees around! It's nice to have the blend of rural and urban so close together. We get the best of both worlds where we are. You'll definitely have to come visit and get your fresh peaches some time!

You did a great job here my dear friend! Good luck!

Thanks Maru! I'm glad you liked it!

Woohoo! Practically neighbors! Happy to have you in SteemUSA and to have met you through Ladies of Steemit.

You've been resteemed + followed as part of the #LadiesofSteemit initiative. Looking forward to keeping up with your posts!

Wahoo! Let's do it ladies! 💪💄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60937.87
ETH 2674.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49