#StateWars Day 2 - Favorite City - Chicago is My Kind of Town

in #statewars7 years ago (edited)

Hey, Steemit! War has been declared by #steemusa, and it looks like @gniksivart has been taken captive in Indiana. Obviously, Michigan and Ohio aren't going to do anything about it, and Kentucky...don't even get me started on them. You need a real state to come to your aid...and since about 99.99% of the Illinois population lives in Chicago or one of its suburbs (because people from outside IL assume every town is a suburb of Chicago), we're sending in the Windy City!

chicago-illinois-skyline-skyscrapers-161963.jpeg

Photo Source

The only things that can defeat Chicago are fiscal responsibility (we have the lowest state credit rating in the nation) and Mrs. O'Leary's cow (supposedly started the Great Chicago Fire)!

Do you think you can attack us? It doesn't matter where you are coming from, since we have this thing, you can't sneak up on us. We can see in EVERY direction at the same time!

chicago-bean-463272_960_720.jpg

Photo Source

Going back to that whole fiscal responsibility thing, we only paid 23 million for "The Bean". Don't worry, we budgeted for 9 million.

We are so tough that Scarface himself, Al Capone, moved here. The only people more gangster than our gangsters, are our politicians. Four of our past governors went from office to prison. Now, that is tough! This doesn't include the countless other state political officers that headed to the big house.

Scared yet? Ok, we can go to the top of the Willis (pronounced Sears) Tower and see your weaknesses. It is 110 stories tall and is the tallest building in the Western Hemisphere.

chicago-skyline-at-night-1505924497Nhc.jpg

Photo Source

We're more athletic than you, so you can't out run us. Look what sports stars played here: Jordan, Pippen, Kane, Toews, Hull, Mikita, Fisk, Thomas, Konerko, Payton, Butkus, Ditka, Urlacher, and maybe even a Cub (you can see where my loyalty lies). Need more? We invented 16 inch softball. Gloves, we don't need no stinkin' gloves!

Plus we can soothe you to sleep with our music. We are the birthplace of Jazz. Ol' Blue Eyes sang about us, and you'll never guess what band started here. I'll let you guess...give up yet...it's Chicago! They rock...but with horns!

So waive your white flag every other city. The war is over, and Chi-town wins!

TL:DR - This is a joke. This is my entry into @steemusa #statewars contest. Want to know more, check out today's contest at https://steemit.com/statewars/@steemusa/statewars-day-2-favorite-city

Sources:
State credit ratings - https://ballotpedia.org/State_credit_ratings
Many of the state facts - https://www.choosechicago.com/plan-your-trip/chicago-fun-facts/
Info on the Bean - http://www.billslater.com/cloudgate/
Our Governors in Prison - https://www.thrillist.com/entertainment/chicago/most-corrupt-illinois-politicians-of-all-time

Alliance1.jpg

Sort:  

Wow what a kick@$$ entry. I was rolling the entire time reading this. My wife loves Chicago and loves reading about gangsters. Here favorite is John Dillinger and she's read a few books on him.

Well, it sounds like the troops are coming my way so just waiting for the sound of marching as Indianians flee to South Bend.

buenas tardes y disculpe mi pregunta, pero esta guerra de estados es solo para su país.. puede participar otro estado que no sea del país. o puedo tal vez opinar sobre algun estado de su país que yo conozca.

I must get back to Chicago sometime such a beautiful and interesting city

WOW never knew the bean cost so much

tip!

I did not know that either, until I was researching for this post. I read how over budget it was, and thought that was so Chicago.

Probably the same with similar projects in so many cities

You must live on the South Side...I grew up in the south Suburbs. I would have added Konerko to the list...I can make a case he makes the Hall of Fame still

I've been a Sox fan since birth. Since I am open to suggestion, and love Paulie K, he's been added to the post!

A really fun post @mikeshuh!! I like your Gangsta style!!

Thanks! It comes natural, from my Chi-Town upbringing.

You're very welcome!!

I did Chicago too actually! I died laughing at the “he only people more gangster than us is our politicians” hahaha.

I commented on your post and only noticed it right after I posted mine : )

Hi @mikeshuh! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.05 SBD @tipU from @tattoodjay :)

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Heading Out On A Warm And Moody Morning. Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Tipuvote! - upvote any post with with 2.5 x profit :)

You got a 12.69% upvote from @bid4joy courtesy of @mikeshuh!

Definitely I want to visit Chicago! I have been want to visit it, for a while now! I know I will!

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Woop woop lol second IL i seen so far...but Orgrimmar is still the best... lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60925.88
ETH 2688.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46