Statewars ~ Maryland ~ Day 2 Favorite City – A Great Day For A Walk

in #statewars7 years ago (edited)

Picking a favorite city is really hard for me. I’ve only been to a few of the cities that Maryland has and each one has been very different and terrific in different ways. Much like people and friends that we enjoy the company of for different reasons. I thought Ellicott City for the historic atmosphere, Ocean City for, well, the ocean, Annapolis for the Naval Academy and you can even see the Blue Angels fly over sometimes. Nothing was speaking to my soul though like Darlington, Maryland. That is (technically) where Conowingo Dam is. It’s just something about that place that keeps drawing me there. I feel it in almost a Spiritual way!

This is a photo I took that I titled “Rainbow In The Mist”
DSC04263.JPG

Darlington does offer more than The Dam. They host several festivals including an apple festival and a Faerie festival. You can also go fishing, hiking, bird watching, biking and camping just to name a few.
applespixabay.jpg
Photo courtesy of Pixabay

I’m going to focus on the trail that I usually walk because it is where I am most drawn to when I visit. You can go anytime of the year. We’ve been when it has been hot and when it’s been chilly.
This is the trail that we walk in the summer.
DSC01397.JPG
The trail in late fall is just as beautiful.
DSC04621.JPG

You can always find pretty things to photograph.
DSC01393.JPG

DSC01390.JPG

They have birds including vultures which are neat in their own way.
DSC04266.JPG

But the Bald Eagles are what draw many photographers there. There are amateur and professional photographers and they come from all over the world to try to photograph the Bald Eagles. I feel privileged every time I see one and able to take a photo.
DSC04712.JPG

There are also Blue Herons and frogs that you can photograph. Unfortunately, my Blue Heron photo came out blurry but I’ve gotten a few photos of the frogs. They are a lot easier to zoom in on.
DSC04690.JPG

One of the best things is the sheer beauty in all the plant life. So I will show a few photos of a pretty sky and some flowers.
DSC04279.JPG

DSC06870.JPG

DSC04615.JPG

I’m going to conclude by telling you about a particular visit. I only experienced it once while there. I am sorry to say it was a spur of the moment stop and I didn’t have my camera which I was very sorry for but I will give you an idea of what I am talking about from a photo or two from pixabay. I try to use my own photos but sometimes you gotta make do. So, this visit, we were blessed to see the Bluebells in blossom. It was truly a magical thing. Honestly, it takes my breath away just thinking about it. It is also bittersweet as I wanted so much for my mother to see them. My mother loved plants and flowers and she had a magic touch with them. My mom passed before I was able to take her to see them and I’ve not seen them since that time as well. If you don’t catch them for the week or two that they bloom then there is next year to try to see them. I’m sure my mom has a beautiful garden where she is now and quite the meadow of Bluebells. I feel like maybe that is one of the reasons I am so drawn to The Dam because it makes me feel closer to my mom. She would have loved it there too!!
bluebells2pixabay.jpg
Photo courtesy of Pixabay.
bluebells1pixabay.jpg
Photo courtesy of Pixabay.

Love and Light to you!!
#statewars hosted by @steemusa

steemusadeerjay.png

thealliancelogofromalliance.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 29 January 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Thanks so much @pixresteemer!! :)

What a touching visit that you shared with us at the end. Thank you. I can't help, but to think that your mom was there with you when you saw the bluebells and she prepared them just for your visit.

Beautiful pictures and I was hoping to get some "smaller" cities included on this day.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag ocd-resteem. Three posts using this tag will be chosen each day by our curators to be RS. Good Luck!

@Ocd now has a witness, please vote for @ocd-witness to help support other undervalued authors!

Thank you @gniksivart for your kind words!! I accept and would love to have my post shared!! I'm going to follow @ocd and add as a witness! Thank you again!!

Hi @deerjay! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.05 SBD @tipU from @tattoodjay :)

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Brooklyn Bridge And Jane’S Carousel. Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Tipuvote! - upvote any post with with 2.5 x profit :)

LOve the rainbow in the mist
and such a beautiful area you have shared with us

tip!

Thank you @tattoodjay! I love to share the photos I get from there and maybe one day I'll catch those Bluebells blooming again!!

😎👍😎

No crabs? As a Marylander that’s our thing!

Thanks @paulmoon410!! I covered that in Day 1. Day 2 is favorite city. I'm hoping not to be done with that crab angle though..lol!! I had a whole thing planned but Day 1 was symbols so still have a lot of material. I think if I get to do what I originally had planned then you will like it!!

I don’t know, we’ll see. 😉

Did you see Monday Symbols..I titled it Maryland Is For Crabs..And More!

https://steemit.com/statewars/@deerjay/statewars-maryland-monday-state-symbols-maryland-is-for-crabs-and-more
You know, you don't have to be a member of @steemusa to enter a post on our state? Variety is always welcome. Just create a post on the theme and make #statewars a tag. Take care!

Maybe... no promises

Fantastic, especially the bluebells. Keep going, you're on a roll!
Much love,
X

Thanks so much @xmaas!!

All those flowers at the end is pretty amazing! Looking forward to learning more about Maryland from you, because before all I knew about it was basically what I've learned from The Wire Tv Show about Baltimore sooooo not very good lol.

Thanks @snrm!! Yep, like many big cities Baltimore does have its problems and there are some areas that are best not to go to. I grew up in Baltimore City and there are many lovely places there still so it's not all bad.

aw beautiful pictures! I love the rainbow. And in the other picture it looks like green water? lol. Maryland seems really nice. And it's hard for me to pick a favorite city too ;) Really cool pictures

Thank you @lovablesoul!! That was a pond that the tadpoles and frogs hang out in. It gets like that in Spring from the pollen and such.

Those Bluebells are a knock-out. You have to see them in the Spring.

Thank you @manorvillemike! I saw them the one time and it really was a magical sight!! I've tried to catch them since then but our crazy weather makes it very unpredictable but I will always try to see them again.

That rainbow is fantastic! I don't know if I've ever seen one in mist quite like that. And what a beautiful tribute to your mother! Although it is bittersweet, it's lovely to be reminded of ones we have loved dearly and lost.

Thank you @plantstoplanks!! You are absolutely right. I try to look at things differently now and appreciate all the reminders around me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60925.88
ETH 2688.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46