Statewars ~ Maryland ~ Monday State Symbols - Maryland Is For Crabs .. and More!

in #statewars7 years ago (edited)

I’m talking about the Maryland Blue Crab. It’s the official Maryland Crustacean and has been since 1989. We, Marylanders, love our crabs. Nothing like some steamed crabs and beer on a summer day. We love picking them, making soup with them and making crab cakes with them! We buy them by the bag, dozen, bushel and some of us even go fishing for them. You’re probably gonna need a mallet and a knife though but they are worth it!
crabs.jpg

Maryland is known for its seafood. We have the Blue Crab, oysters and our state fish is the Rockfish aka striped bass. Can you say yum?!
Gonna have to put this one back and let him grow some more!
fishinhand.jpg

The state of Maryland has strict guidelines on fishing to protect the fish populations here.
maryland flag.png
Photo courtesy of Pixabay

It’s a lot of fun taking a boat out on Maryland waters. So much so that we made our state boat The Skipjack in 1985. A Skipjack is a sailboat which is usually used as a fishing boat. This probably isn't a Skipjack but it's pretty cool looking and I took this photo when it was at the Inner Harbor in Baltimore.
boat1.jpg

Did you know that in 2008 we made walking our state exercise? I, actually, just found this out. All the times my doctor asked how much I exercised and I’ve been telling him I don’t really do much of that. Now I can say all the time. I mean, when I get up in the morning, I walk to the bathroom then I walk down to the kitchen and heck, I sometimes even walk to the mailbox! Occasionally though, I do get out and like to take a nature walk on a trail at one of the many parks that Maryland has to offer. One place I love to go to is a trail at The Conowingo Dam in Conowingo, Maryland. While there, you may be able to spot our state bird, The Baltimore Oriole. If you don’t get to see one there then don’t be too disappointed because people come from all over the world to see the Bald Eagles which you can see pretty regularly there and sometimes they even see you!
DSC04699.JPG
Hey! Is that a White Oak tree it's perched on? If it is then you're also looking at our state tree!

We also have Jousting as our state sport.
jousting1.jpg

You like “playing the ponies”? We’ve got horse racing which only makes sense because our state horse is the Thoroughbred and we host the second leg of The Triple Crown at The Preakness at the Pimlico Race Course. younghorse1.jpg
Sorry, little guy, you’re just not ready yet!

I could go on but, seriously, I gotta save some stuff for the next couple of days! Okay,maybe, just one more for the many cat lovers on steemit. In 2001 we made the Calico cat our official state cat! Being a cat lover, this made me pretty happy!

calico cat eileens1.jpg
My sisters cat named Serena!

I hope you enjoyed a little bit of Maryland!!
#statewars hosted by @steemusa

steemusadeerjay.png

thealliancelogofromalliance.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 28 January 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Thanks so much dear Pixresteemer!!

I wish I lived closer to seafood! Great state info! I will see what I can come up with.

Thanks Melinda and I that would be great!!

This is cute and awesome.. i am going to be working on mine shortly..

Thanks @deadgrlsuppastar!! I'll be looking forward to it!!

Cat gets the up vote. ha ha Nice tour so far.

Thanks @manorvillemike and you had to know that I was gonna work a cat in there..lol!!

I've had crab cakes and love them. I love all of the bits and pieces about Maryland that you gave us! The ship is pretty awesome, I'd love to see one in person. And your kitty is so pretty. :D

Thanks @debralee. I had a crab cake the other day. We don't get them often since they are a bit pricey but every now and then you just have to treat yourself! :) The ship was awesome but it was really crowded so we didn't stay long. 😽

Unfortunately, the farthest North East I've been was to Pennsylvania, but no that I'm living in Indiana and these places are so much closer (than in Texas) I'm really wanting to go check out all the North East has to offer.

I'm jealous that jousting is your state sport, what an awesome and unique sport! One thing I've been missing since moving up North is crawfish/crab boils and fish fries. I'll have to check out a crab boil if I can make it to Maryland the next couple of years.

Thanks @gniksivart! Jousting is pretty cool and in the fall we have a renaissance festival in Crownsville which is a lot of fun. They have jousting shows amongst other things and great food! It's great to see what other states offer even if we can't make it there ourselves! Loved seeing Texas and Colorado so far!!

Agreed! I'm hoping to see many more (fingers crossed)!

I've also never been to Maryland. It's one of the few states I've yet to visit. You've given me a good idea of what to expect. Thanks!

Thanks @chrisroberts!! I've always wanted to see Colorado. It looks quite scenic from many photos I've seen and heard of from people who've been there. It's gonna be fun seeing all the posts and views from different people on their states!

Neat info! You can keep the seafood, but I will happily go for a walk or maybe try some jousting if I feel spunky. 😁

Thanks @plantstoplanks! We do have lots of great parks and jousting is great fun to watch!

Very cool. I live here but haven't always so didn't know a lot of that

Thanks @chelsea88!! A couple I didn't know until last night so guess what I spent most of the night on? Going through lots of photos..lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59700.98
ETH 2415.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43