Night racing at the velodrome

in #sportsphotography7 years ago (edited)

I have been busy traveling for work all week, and didn’t get a chance to post to Steemit, but I am glad to be home in time for #SportsPhotography Saturday. Last week, I shared a couple of my shots from the Giordana Velodrome in Rock Hill, SC, and I am following up with more from later that evening. It’s a challenge to shoot fast moving subjects at night with natural light, so the options were to pan or to just accept (and embrace) the motion blur.

track-muted-1.jpg
Taken with my Nikon D50, f/4.5 at 1/80 sec.

night-race-1.jpg
Taken with my Nikon D50, f/4 at 1/60 sec.

Overall, this night of shooting was primarily a learning experience for me, but I thought a few of the shots were interesting. I like the perspective of looking down the banked wall at the riders, and the dim warm lighting gives the track a totally different feel than my colorful daytime shots.

Shared for @juliank 's #sportsphotography contest. Follow @photocontests to see the winners and to learn more about the daily contests.

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #sportsphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Sunday.

You have earned 6.00 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.20
Server time: 15:59:17
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 913.77/1600.00
Total Photos: 37
Total comments: 57
Total contest wins: 14
And have also received a 0.72 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Cycling Comunity on Steemit sends you some good wind!!

You are upvoted and resteemed by Thank You Bicycle - SteemIt Cycling Community!
It is our mission to spread good vibes of cycling across Steemit. We support you!

Keep those weels rolling and enjoy the ride!!

If you want to know more about our mission click here.
If you want to join us, click here.
If you do not like our activity, reply with STOP to this and we will leave you alone

these are awesome shots!

Thank you! I didn't really expect much because it was too dark, so I was just playing around with the camera. That's when photography is the most fun.

Another interesting shot from velodrome! Love the first one, it has got an interesting composition! And I love that the image is intriguing.

Thanks so much! I love getting the chance to shoot there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76