We traded in an XBOX controller for a baseball bat... These were the results.

in #sports7 years ago (edited)

  Just to give you some insight into our home, we have 2 XBOX One's, 2 Gaming PC's, and an HTC Vive among others. This summer my wife I found this imperative to get the kids into some sort of sports. Now don’t get me wrong, we have family outdoor adventures quite often but sports are peer social. My oldest has chosen basketball and his season has not started yet. My youngest son chose tee-ball (my personal choice) and these are the results from the first day of practice. 

HITTING

Everyone knows that hitting is the most exciting part about watching baseball. A player that can hit well can clutch the attention of even casual fans of the sport. Remember one of the most exciting parts of watching baseball was that Babe Ruth was going to “call his shot” and hit a homerun out of the park. Well to achieve this, you must practice hitting. Tee ball introduces the child to the concept of hitting by using a “tee” which holds the ball at batting height. It trains the child on timing, hand eye coordination, and depth perception.   



FIELDING

Fielding is what renders the sport interesting to those who enjoy the core of the sport. Fielding is one of the more difficult aspects for the younger kids because they are afraid of the ball coming at them. It is very counter-intuitive to jump in front of a ball that is flying at you. The kids are trained with softer balls that are lightly batted toward them and then they are encouraged to stand squarely in front of the ball and catch it with their glove. Fielding includes catching balls that are flying or balls that are rolling on the ground.   




THROWING

 Do I even need to explain this? Not really, but I can add that to execute a proper defensive play, you must be able to throw precise, swiftly, and at a great distance. As you can see, my son and I have been practicing his throwing for quite some time.   


BASERUNNING

 At this level, the kids are simply learning that there are 3 bases and the home plate. Learning the fundamentals means that they are being taught to run counter-clockwise around the baseball diamond. They are also learning that touching the home plate means that your team scores a point. 


SAEFTY 

Although it is up to the parents, the couches are stressing safety. Don’t swing the bat reckless, try to not injure other players, and stay hydrated.   PANIC ATTACK This poor kid was so nervous he had a panic attack and started hyper-ventilating. Couple that with the obvious signs of dehydration, his mom called the paramedics to assess his medical state. This did hamper the children’s ability to focus, but they learned the importance of hydration.    



 SITTING AND FOOLING AROUND 

Anyone who has played sports as a child or even watched their kids play sports, they know how dreamy it can be. My son is no exceptipon. As he day dreamed, he chose to sit down and gaze intently into the Texas Sky. When I asked why, he said because he wanted to think while he waited. I couldn’t blame him one bit.  



TAKE AWAY

 I'm very excited to see my son take on this new chapter in his life. Whether he chooses to continue on with this sport or another I hope that lesson carry on. I will keep all of my fellow steemians updated on our season in The Sandlot. You maybe have a front row seat to the making of the new Benny ”THE JET" Rodriguez    

The Sandlot Courtesy of 20th Century Fox

There's Adventure in all of Us

I took you inside our 3rd homebirth experience
I took you gator wrasslin' in Texas
I took you on a day as Urkle
I took you to @ned scott's funeral (RIP)
I took you to #STEEMITGUNCLUB 

STEEM ON & I WILL TAKE YOU PLACES

...mostly in Texas LOL 

Animation graciously donated to @xtrodinarypilot by @xtrodinarypilot

Sort:  

great Post! However, I believe you run Counter-clockwise around the bases? Clockwise would be running to 3rd base first? I love baseball too, but the Rules are a little tough for the youngsters! Fundamentals at this age is most important,IMO! Hell, some of the Pro's can't do the Fundamentals, and that really gets me upset as long as they have been playing! LOL..

whatsoever do you mean?

Ah, these are great memories that you're making. What a joy to see the pictures of your son as I can easily remember my boys running the bases or passing a basketball. Now I've got 2 in bootcamp and they're not so little anymore. :D

BOOT CAMP?!?! OHHHH MYYYY, Army or Marines? Or are they following in yall's footsteps? Excuse my Texas Talk.

Two boys on Parris Island three weeks apart. Marine Corps. Oorah! (oh how they test their mama!)

Braving that South Carolina heat. Two Boys will come out Two Men. I have an USMC friend who told me that "When you can't be a marine, you just be all that you can be" lol No hard feelings here because I saved his ass once or twice.

My ex was a Marine. I'm currently married to an airman. I won't hold that against my boys. hahaha.

Thats great sports are way better than xbox lol I am a soccer mom to my 8 year old son since he was 3. Its fun for the whole family. Good luck to your son in this new chapter 😉 @xtrodinarypilot

Thanks a lot. I will definitely keep you updated.

Wayyy better than the xbox controller haha

I'm inclined to agree. Better to play baseball than play baseball on the XBOX

All about balance, save the Xbox for rainy days. Played baseball growing up, was never great, but it was an experience, first chance I got (at 11), I quit baseball and got a summer job instead, selling hot dogs at the ball games :) great post.

I love it that you are enjoying outdoor sports. It is an awesome experience every time you have it going with everyone on the field. Upvoted!

Yes. As we get older, we tend to forget how fun these things are.

Exactly... I am happy that you are enjoying every bit of it. Have fun, as always.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63219.83
ETH 2574.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78