Splitboarding Mt Shasta in June

in #sports7 years ago

My name is Brooks. I live in Reno, NV. This is my first post on Steemit so I thought I'd share my biggest life passion. It's splitboarding ( a snowboard that turns into skis to travel uphill...google it). Last Sunday (Fathers Day) I met a couple guys I know from Oregon to climb a seldom traveled route up Shastina (Shastina is a sub peak of Mt Shasta). It was an epic day. We ended up climbing close to 7000 feet and snowboarded two different sides of the mountain.

DSC00080.jpg

Looking down our first run. Pretty steep at the top! This particular run is called Angels Wing and it's been on my hit list for a long time:
DSC00082.jpg

A picture my buddy Morgan snapped of me dropping in:
DSC07694.jpg

My buddy Buell:
DSC00089.jpg

After we got to the bottom of our first run we then had to travel (skin) up the Whitney Glacier. It's biggest glacier on Shasta and crevasses and rock fall are the major hazards:
DSC00094.jpg

Looking back at my two buddies skinning up the Whitney Glacier:
DSC00096.jpg

DSC00100.jpg

The crux was negotiating a way off the glacier past a huge crevasse. Kinda scary but kinda fun too!:
DSC00103.jpg!

After getting to the top of Shastina for the second time we enjoyed a 5000 foot descent down Diller canyon to our trucks:
DSC00109.jpg

DSC00119.jpg

Morgan slashing some corn:
DSC00120.jpg

Morgan catching some air:
DSC00122.jpg

DSC00121.jpg

Buell nearing the end of our long run and our long day:
DSC00123.jpg

Sort:  

super rad man. Pretty crazy snowfall this year.

No kidding. Squaw Valley is still open for skiing!

I heard mammoth is going to open till august lmao

Congratulations @edabbeyfan! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60745.88
ETH 2640.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56