To become flexible is easy! A few useful tips from me.

in #sports7 years ago

DSC_3961.jpg

Do not worry if you are not flexible, because this is just the issue of time.

I myself spent hours per week doing this or that...And week after week it seemed there was no result. But one day it just went smoothly. As if my muscles said to me - ok...we give up..here is your split.

It is never too late to start. And this is not just about stretching :)

It does not matter how old you are and what body shape you have. If you want to be flexible or maybe in your 40-ies you wanna master a split, it is possible! Believe me, I saw dozens of real examples when ladies who never stretched befire could do a split in two months already!

I am omitting all the reasons why stretching is good. It is obvious. Taking care about the body is always a present to it.

So I would identify several small "rules":

  1. Before stretching there should be done a very profound warmup.
  2. If you are a beginner, start a stretching session from 15 till 30 minutes. In case if you are an advanced "stretcher" then do it up to 1 hour.
  3. In each position you should keep your body for min 20 seconds and if you train a split then it is better to prolong the time till 2-3 minutes.
  4. The level of pain should be bearable. You must have it, but not too much!
  5. Follow breathing: on inhalation you prepare you body for a position and on air exhalation you should take the position.
  6. All movements should be slow and without jerks.

AND THE MAIN GOLDEN SECRET IS THIS ONE:

STRETCH ALMOST EVERY DAY IF YOU WANT FAST RESULTS.

Here are some pictures of my stretching session.

DSC_3950.jpg

DSC_3951.jpg

DSC_3973.jpg

DSC_3969.jpg

Believe you can do it!

Sort:  

This is a great post. I think your first picture fits your username quite nicely - your smile is almost verging into the crazy - I mean that in a good way :) I consider myself pretty flexible for a 37 year old man (I can easily put both palms flat on the ground in front of me) but I have been battling some tightness in my hip. When I saw a physical therapist and we started discussing what changes had happened in my life I realized that when Thing One was born a few years back I had almost entirely stopped stretching. I used to work out and stretch for about an hour every evening and while I still do body weight exercises, push ups, pull ups, planks, etc., I had pretty much stopped stretching.

Now that I am conscious of this and stretching regularly again it has made a huge difference not just in my hip but also in some soreness that had been cropping up in my knee. I highly recommend stretching and you have some great tips here!

I would add to your tip on following breathing for readying on inhalation and assuming position on exhalation, that I have personally found that staying conscious of breathing deeply and evenly throughout a stretch has made the gains much more noticeable.

Wow! Thank you very much for such a profound comment! You know...as for the age I am not far away from you)) I am 33.
That is great that you have found the breath technique that makes you progress fast. Actually we all have to do this, I mean listen to somebody's tips, but then to experiment with our own body and feel what suits us better. Keep stretching! Your body is happy about it)

This is what I​ call flexible.
Great :)

Congratulations @crazy-daisy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I am trying to stretch more at the gym, it just feel as if I am not getting anywhere, its very painful to stretch lol, but i will keep going till i can touch my feet

Yes, do it! The main thing - do it regularly. And imagine that you already touch your feet as you want ) This visualization will bring you further. Be stubborn. I know you can!)

ya I am getting close, I am in pretty good shape just I always avoided the flexibility part, now i am going back on it. its hard, but i do it for about 10 or so minutes before and after my workouts. how long do you think before and after hard workouts for?

Before your workout you should not stretch, you should just warm up. Stretching is after workout, 10-15 min would be good!

This post has received a 3.66 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @crazy-daisy.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!


Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.

Hi, as a sign of my support for the tag #sports and #football, I vote for you and begin to follow you

The problem about exercise is the consistency of doing it and lack of motivation. I need that badly

You are absolutely right. Consistency - this is the first rule to have a result. Find your individual motivation, the thing for which you want to go to the gym, for instance, and make your body better)

That was amazing post and @originalworks,
Congrat for u .. and come to join with my blog also reestem, comment, and upvote too.

Dont leave before following me @agmalirsadi . Thanks

Thanks! I will check)

Impressive!

You look like you have developed strength with your flexibility routine. That backward flip thingy looks like it will cook your shoulders, back and abdominal muscles.

I need to do more stretches. I used to do lots, but I have lost some flexibility over the years and a little range of motion due to injuries etc.

Thank you!
Step by step, everything will come. Just do it. Regularly. And keep your aim in mind)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57034.02
ETH 3084.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41