SPIRITUAL FOOD 4 THOUGHT - LAYING UP TREASURES IN HEAVEN

in #spirituality6 years ago

There is a concept revealed in the Bible that could be called "Laying Up Treasures in Heaven."


A lot of giving within the church and within Christianity has this goal in mind to some degree when they give. It seems that when we first see what Jesus says about the matter, many modern givers may not really be reaching the heavenly storehouses with their gifts.

In this video, I take a look at what Jesus actually says about laying up treasures in heaven, and about alms. I share what I believe is the biblical model for actually laying up treasures in heaven, and contrast it with the common misconception.

It's just some more spiritual food for thought, but I hope it helps. Be blessed.

LAYING UP TREASURES IN HEAVEN VIDEO


Also, if any of you enjoy these videos, please feel free to subscribe to my new channel Spiritual Food 4 Thought and share these videos wherever you think people may either enjoy them or need them. Thanks everyone!

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


Bitcoin (BTC) - 35jP794XJ1yHUaoxuQUXwGPyCuy6zyiQA5

TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

I will watch it later after 3hours... Good am here 4:56 AM bro!!!

Oh man! Sooo early!

Interesting @papa=pepper. So laying up treasures in heaven or giving alms is separate from tithing? Or can that be our tithing? I think of bringing everything to the storehouse - Malachi 3:10. That is tithing to the church right?Is helping on the building fund or project separate from 3:10? Would enjoy your feedback. Enjoy your series.

I think that the modern view of tithing is flawed personally. I do not believe that the old temple/tabernacle and levitical priesthood have been replaced by church buildings and paid clergy. I'll cover more on that later, but I think that alms is one of the main New Testament forms of giving.

If we look at Malachi 3:10 and consider that the storehouse may now be a heavenly ones, then alms would be the way to go if we are going to be "giving to God" with the intent of it ending up in His storehouse.

Thanks for a thoughtful response @papa-pepper

Thank you. I needed to hear your point of view.

Glad to hear it.

Thank you for the video, Papa. Really makes you think. Like that Chapter from Mark.

Cool man. Glad to hear it!

It's definitely food for thought. I'll admit that I've sometimes thought of giving to the local organization as "getting credit." It was for God. You're making me think though. I can't really argue with Jesus, so I'm not going to argue to keep traditions just because that's what we have.

Additionally, we need to live lives of surrender and obedience. I don't want to be someone who keeps score with God. I do sometimes, but I don't want to. I don't want to be someone who says, "Well, I gave that money to someone in need, so I don't have to give as much in my tithe." I think that's a very legalistic way of thinking and falls short of the heart of God. Sorry, that's not directly related. It's more of a tangent, but still sort of related.

I think that'll be pretty in line with the next video. Should be posting it tomorrow

Mattew 6:1-4 was about Hypocrites if you are doing good in front of all people to know that you are a good person. (^_^) This means that what you have helped people is not true from your heart! (PLASTIC PERSON)

MARK 10:21 It is about following Christ. It implies your own freedom of what you choose; if you can give up all your wealth for Christ. Because a Christian will endure hardship if you choose to obey his law and it is absolutely probable at this time. And the cross that is referred to is not literally cross. It is his misery, so bear with him his suffering. In this way, he is pleased.

Luke 12:33-34 Do not forget this sign ( ; ), that is very important. Yes, you are right this is similar in Mark 10:21 which is your own choice or freedom. "Here is the RIGHT PATH and the Rotten road, you choose," Jesus said.

That was really insane that most of the PASTOR at this time is thinking only about their wealth and they are using the money of all member of their church! I am very thankful to God to have a Brother Eli Soriano in our life. He is not like of all Pastor in the World! He is one of a kind... And no one defeats him in all debates even he is Spanish, Portuguese, German, American, and many more. (^_^) I'm proud to say that he is a Filipino and now he was in Brazil to spread the word of God.

We can reach out PEOPLE bro! Continue spreading the word of God...

@papa-pepper a question: In the Torah usually you see the poor in a category with "widows, orphans, poor and the stranger among you" Do you believe that Messiah was specifically addressing the poor here? Or is it still in the same spirit of caring for widow, orphan, stranger and poor?

Challenging food for thought indeed, thanks @papa-pepper

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62274.69
ETH 3366.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43