The Power of AffirmationssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #spirituality5 years ago

Happy New Year everyone! I really hope that everyone has had a break from their normal routines, got to relax a bit, spend time with family and enjoy the holiday season. It is a tradition for a lot of people to set new years resolutions for themselves before the Gregorian new year to go into 2019 with a new mindset, prepared for success.

New Years Resolutions

ray-hennessy-299620-unsplash.jpg

If you are familiar with the statistics for the success rate of New Years Resolutions, they are pretty abysmal. Only around 8% of people are actually successful with their resolutions, with 80% of people failing in as early as February. A lot of the reason for this failure is the lack of will power to follow through with the resolution. That can be compounded with people setting their sights too high, for example going from a carnivore to a vegetarian over night. These types of goals are bound to fail because for most people they are unrealistic.

Gradual approaches have been shown to be much more successful. Using the previous example, a more gradual approach would give the body a lot more time to adjust to the new diet and allow you find proper substitutes for the meats that you are used to eating. A good example of a gradual approach would be to first give up eating red meat first, then when you are comfortable with that, give up chicken, until eventually you have stopped eating meat.

There is another less obvious reason why I think people fail in their new years resolutions. It has to do with the language they are using, the fact that they are making a resolution rather than an affirmation. Affirmations work so well that they have become my primary mode for self improvement, change, and transmuting the aspects of myself that I wish to change from a negative into a positive. There is a powerful difference between a resolution and an affirmation that I will explain below.

What is a Resolution?

If you look up the word resolution or (resolution etymology) it's primary use and meaning is to resolve something into simpler components. In most dictionaries it is not until the 4th or 5th use that it is used in the context that we care about here as "a formal expression of opinion, will, or intent voted by an official body or assembled group"... basically meaning that this is the expression of an opinion, will or intent.

What is an Affirmation?

The definition of affirmation or (affirmation etymology) is the state of being affirmed or the assertion that something exists or is true. In law the word is used as "a solemn declaration made under the penalties of perjury by a person who conscientiously declines taking an oath."

So yeah sure you could use a resolution, but why would you want to when you could use an affirmation instead? Words have meaning. Affirmations are even used in law for a reason, because they are a statement of the truth. By you using an affirmation instead of a resolution, you are stating to yourself and the Universe that this statement is true. That carries weight and is much more powerful than that of a resolution which is little more than an opinion or wishful thinking. You can use affirmations as a powerful tool in your tool chest to drive positive changes in your life.

Make Affirmations on astrologically significant days

bryan-goff-356687-unsplash.jpg

To make your affirmation even more powerful you should make affirmations on an astrologically significant day. From my personal experience, only making the affirmation is half the equation. If you want them to be as effective as possible you need to do it on or close to an astrologically significant date like an Equinox or Solstice.

Why? Because the Sun has a large impact on our lives whether we realize it or not. Without the Sun, life could not exist on this planet. Farmers have to pay attention to the Sun and other governing bodies in the skies to determine the best times for planting and harvesting. I have found through first hand gnosis that timing my affirmations with the astrological movement of the Sun has made them that much more powerful.

The Equinoxes are days of balance (equal day, equal night). The Solstices are where the Sun at the highest or lowest point in the sky throughout the year. The Summer Solstice is where the Sun is the most powerful and at the highest point and the Winter Solstice is where the Sun at the lowest point in the sky and at it's weakest point.

You can use this to your advantage by powering up the things you want in the Summer and suppress the things don't like in the Winter, Spring is perfect for new beginnings A lot of business start around the Vernal (Spring) Equinox for this reason. Autumnal Equinox is perfect for change and reflection.

I make my affirmations on these days because you are affirming this change to be true for yourself at a time that the Universe will hear you and help you. The Universe respects decisiveness, so doing this when it is to benefit you the most would make the most sense.

Other things to consider

ben-white-292680-unsplash.jpg

  • Work towards the things you want to make affirmations on through out the year and allow yourself some room for failure. Keep working at it until you are ready.

  • Don't make an affirmation on something that you have not truly deep inside changed or are not ready to accept.

  • Make affirmations on astrologically significant days to make your affirmations more powerful and to enlist the help of the Universe.

Again, Happy New Years! and I hope everyone has a great 2019 and that you try making some affirmations come spring Equinox. If you do, please let me know. I would like to hear how others do with this approach or any modification that they have put on it.

Love to all.

Photo Credits:
Fireworks photo Ray Hennessy
Lunar Eclipse photo Bryan Goff
Thinking photo Ben White

My work can be found on:
Steemit
Minds
Gab
Patreon
Unsplash

Sort:  

I know I'm super random but I read the comment you wrote yesterday on someone's post about homelessness. It touched me so much. Your mother seems to have a heart of gold. But I'm so sorry you went through that:( Lol sorry I just had to say it to you it really got to me. 💜

Oh, yeah that was Krnel's post. I couldn't help but share my personal experience since I was in such a similar situation. She still has a heart of gold to this day. I don't see that experience as a bad thing, I learned real quick to be cautious and I got to see desperate people do desperate things. In an apophatic way, it made me appreciate the things I had and the life that I had because I saw what could be the alternative. I grew up in a very loving home and for that I am very grateful.

Your words are so touching.
That last sentence though.... ❤️

Very informative posts you're writing @dividebyzero!
Keep on the good work - I would love to read more :)

Thanks! I got so much material to get out, just not enough time. Thanks for the Resteem :)

You are very welcome!
I'm glad I could bring some traffic to you and your post in collaboration with the @pifc project :)

More to come ;)

much appreciated! 👍

Nice thoughtful post @dividebyzero! You’ve challenged us to think about the difference between these two important words – resolution vs. affirmation. Well done.

”So yeah sure you could use a resolution, but why would you want to when you could use an affirmation instead? Words have meaning. Affirmations are even used in law for a reason, because they are a statement of the truth. By you using an affirmation instead of a resolution, you are stating to yourself and the Universe that this statement is true. That carries weight and is much more powerful than that of a resolution which is little more than an opinion or wishful thinking. You can use affirmations as a powerful tool in your tool chest to drive positive changes in your life.”

Words have meaning. Absolutely! I wish we all had a deeper appreciation of the power of words … Keep up the great work!

Dropping by to support your post, after @pundito featured it in our weekly @pifc community contest. And wishing you all the best for a …

💥 Happy New Year!! 💥


P.S. Sorry to see you get “attacked” by these downvoting trolls. I just recently got attacked by this same one. Pathetic creatures … The only somewhat good news is their impact is effectively inconsequential …

Thanks @roleerob for taking the time to read and up vote my post. Yes, Nikola Tesla said "If you want to find the secrets of the Universe, think in terms of energy, frequency and vibration"... what happens when you talk and say words... you exert energy and emit a vibration frequency. I'm glad you appreciate words as well :)

Hmm, I don't see where I got attacked by down voting trolls. Would you please please be able to point me to where you see that? It is probably something I may not be familiar with on Steemit yet.

Thank you for your support!

Sure @dividebyzero.

"Hmm, I don't see where I got attacked by down voting trolls. Would you please please be able to point me to where you see that? It is probably something I may not be familiar with on Steemit yet."

There are several interfaces to the Steem blockchain (I prefer Steempeak on a computer and Partiko on my cell phone), but they typically all have your voting details down in the lower left of your post.

There you will see upvotes. And downvotes, if there are any. As I write this though on my phone, I realize I haven't used Steemit for awhile, so I may not be remembering right.

I'll have to check, when I get back to my office.

I see it now, just checked Steempeak. It looks like it has more functionality than Steemit.com so that's cool. I forget that there are other UI's to Steemit haha.

I pay no mind to the trolls, but thanks for pointing out Steempeak. I will check it out and see if I like it better :)

Sure @dividebyzero, happy to help out a little. I like Steempeak a lot for a number of factors. I particularly like being able to save:

  1. Favorite posts
  2. Templates of post types I can then reuse and save time.
  3. Drafts of post, when I am not quite ready to post them, i.e. works-in-progress.

After “Chapter One” of my journey “in here” was over, I decided to do something about it. This is what I wrote …

”You are reading what I would like to have been quickly introduced to, when I was where you are right now.”

… in the introduction of my “Flying Start” and “User's Guide” posts. You may find them of value.

The drafts feature just might win me over :) I'm sure I will get value and learn something from the posts.

If I can help you further with any questions @dividebyzero, just tag them with my name somewhere and I'll do what I can to help. I have certainly been helped along the way. Part of adding value to our Steem blockchain ...

P.S. Now back in my office, I see Steemit 1) lumps all votes altogether and 2) doesn't allow you to see either more than the top votes nor what the amount of their votes are. A good reminder why I don't use it anymore ...

Yep, good point.

P.P.S. You are a good writer @dividebyzero. 👍 Communities are important to our success "in here." If interested, you should check into the Pay-It-Forward Community, which brought you to our attention. You're welcome to "join the cause!" 😊

Thought I'd throw in a little affirmation ... 😉

Well thank you kindly. I certainly will check into it. Everyone who has posted on here has been very nice and welcoming. Seems like a great community you all have built. I'm telling you, affirmations are the way to go haha!

Yes, @dividebyzero ...

"I'm telling you, affirmations are the way to go haha!"

... absolutely. Speaking of the power of words, of what value is an encouraging word received at the right time? I do not myself profess to be wise enough to know, but I certainly can say from experience it is very high.

My Chapter Two post details how this played a significant role in my decision to invest my time into this particular community, rather than just my $$.

I think one key to the potential of the Steem blockchain is the rich diversity of people engaged "in here" from all over the world. This has had a huge impact on me, since I had never been online prior to deciding to "jump in."

I say that to close with this. I am not intending this "pitch" to be any more than just a little nudge to explore the possibility. There are a great number of communities "in here" and I think most anyone can find their "niche" in one or more of them. Overall, I think that is a major key to success, so just providing some encouragement to take the time to try and find one that "works" for you, if you haven't already.

Have a great day!

What an interesting post @dividebyzero 😉 couldn't agree more with you, affirmative action is the key make everything that we need to solve working like we want it. Why? Because affirmative action and affirmation supported by others not just us, it is a massive movement including the universe👍

Thanks for sharing your thoughtful post with us and I found your post through @pundito entry post in the pay it forward contest this week😉 Happy new year, best wishes and many happy returns!

I started doing affirmations a few years ago and what a difference it has made in my life. Thanks for the awesome comment! You are right on the money :) Thanks and best wishes to you as well.

I talked with my mother about it with one simple example whatever you do..... don't think of the pink elephant and what do you do? Yessss that is the same like I'm forgetting that. Yes I will forget it now it is gone. Now I have that too and I follow the jim kwik way of thinking now. It is better but if my mother has it maybe it is a brain ziekte English word is gone... hmm you see? The affirmation is handling it.

The world around you is created by your mind if you think you are nothing you will be nothing. If you think you are rich you will get rich. That is the power of your mind. But you know what? Life isn't about the destination but about the journey. 😋😇

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha, yes the example with the pink elephant is the "magic" I am talking about. You get it :) I have heard of Jim Kwik, I think he has some memorization and brain performance seminars that he does. I haven't looked into any of it though. Your reference to a "brain ziekte", are you referring to a brain disease? Not quite sure what you are referring to there.

Yes you are right in the fact that everything comes through mind. Nothing in this physicality will ever come to existence without first coming through mind. That is why it is important to be aware of the power of your mind and your thoughts and how you should be focusing your energy.

I agree, life is about the journey :) Thanks for the comment!


giphy.gif


Your post was featured in an entry into @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 39. Posts are selected because the entrant felt you are producing great content and deserve more attention (& rewards) on your post. As such your post has been upvoted and will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community.

We are always looking for new people to join our curation efforts. This is a great way to meet new people and become part of a community that focuses on helping one another.

Want to promote a post for free and have a chance to find some other great content? Check out this week's Pimp Your Post.

The Pay It Forward community also has a Discord Channel if you are interested in learning more about us.

Awesome. Thanks!

Great suggestions. @dividebyzero. People look at affirmations in so many different ways. Ultimately it does have to be something deep inside you. If you are unsure in your belief in the affirmation it doesn't work. I completely agree with planning your affirmation with the solstices or moon cycles. Thank you for sharing with us.

You were featured in week 39 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @pundito. If you're looking for ways to grow and help others please take a moment to check out @pifc.

Thanks! Yeah I have been poking around @pifc seeing what it is all about. It seems pretty cool.

Congratulations @dividebyzero! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65090.19
ETH 3379.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.55