Notes on Language: 'Superiority' in Spiritual Speech

in #spirituality7 years ago

As I am diving deeper into self-discovery and engaging myself with what might be considered more 'spiritual' aspects of the world around us, I have begun to reflect upon these more recently trending terms like ascension, raising vibration, higher self.

Bergamo, Italia.jpg

The initial pattern I noticed: all of these terms are relating to something above us. This idea of a lofty goal or a superior (from Latin root supra, 'above') sense of awareness seems to lend itself to the idea that our higher self is possibly an external extension from our current pyhsical form.

While I am all about bringing ourselves closer to our inner truths and being able to experience bliss right now, I think that these terms might be a little bit stuck in past ideological aspects of a higher power. This, in a sense, takes the power of blissful awareness and true connection out of the hands of us poor mortals, giving us something to reach for.

The need to ascend would indicate that perhaps we would not be able to find peace or spiritual tranquility in our current selves. If our 'higher self' requires us to ascend, why is it that our conscious awareness moves so freely within our body? Is our spiritual consciousness not rooted within these temporary physical vessels?


I don't consider myself a religious human, preferring to lean away from hierarchical structures. While I do not personally associate with Christianity, I do think Jesus had some radical concepts to share with his human pals.

He spoke to the people, saying:

"I am the light of the world." John 8:12

He also addressed the people, saying:

"You are the light of the world." Matthew 5:14


In my eyes, this is such a clear comment that we in our most true compassionate essence are the very divinity we seek. Choosing to honor our own connected, humble, compassionate selves, we can find the love and light we so desire.

With this new moon in Pisces today, I am recognizing the areas of my life that can be shed in order to make way for awareness and compassion. I have not felt the need to ascend up out of myself, but rather go deeper into myself to connect with the scientifically proven literal inner light of consciousness within each and every one of us.

These are just some short late-night thoughts before I take some quiet time sitting down with my altar, my tarot, and my awareness.

Till next time,
be sweet, stay wild
@coyoteom

Hungry for more?
Check out my latest posts:



Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

I agree, our language(s) are full of out-dated ideas influencing our present mindset. But specifically with the concept of higher, lofty, elevated aspirations I don't see anything wrong with. What comes to mind is looking up into the sky, wishing you could fly (as a kid, all the time). The second thing that comes close to it is climbing a mountain, offering views that foster greater understandings just by giving perspective. And then there are other ways to get high, often with similar results. Of course, you still need to carry your light to those higher places to actually perceive yourself, what there is to behold. So in a way, both high and deep are the same thing in the end. (No wonder they used the same word for it in Latin!)

These are the comments that keep me engaged with steemit!! 😍

Thank you so much for that note on 'high' and 'deep' both being altum in latin!

I love your analogy here for mountain climbing offering views. I think this also shows that to get this beautiful vista you have to put in some real work to get there.

The word for heaven and sky is the same in quite a few languages, which I feel speaks deep of the vast open spance of this blissful spiritual awareness.

Thank you so much for sharing these and bringing me some open and sweet perspective change. This is the whole purpose I share these types of thoughts.

If we are posting thoughts or 'opinions' without intent to engage with other ideas, or with the thought process of "this is the only right" how can we hope to bloom as intellectual and compassionate beings?

⚡Thanks again @stortebeker

Nicely said. It's not outside of us but what's within us. I think this separation issue caused a lot of pain for the human race. They God was outside of us and would save us, even if we did some crappy things in His name. The funny thing is we've been carrying God around inside us our whole lives. Slow learners like me might take 30+ years to figure that out :-)

Yes, the seperation of ourselves from what is essentially an omnipresent creative force does seem to take away some of our own ability to create and bring this healing compassionate light to ourselves and others.

Don't think of yourself as a slow learner on this matter though. Traditional humanity often revered old age as the time of true spiritual connection because we no longer could use the physical form to complete laborious tasks, seeking wisdom from our essential consciousness instead. You still have time to become quite the sage!

Nice one, your comment "you still have time to become quite the sage" brought a huge smile to my face :-)

Boost Your Post. Send 0.100 STEEM or SBD and your post url on memo and we will resteem your post on 5000+ followers. check our account to see the follower count.

Please don't spam people's posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61320.84
ETH 2394.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56