Taking Control of Your Life: Working Through Situations, Not Problems

in #motivation6 years ago


Recently I’ve been feeling a bit like Rapunzel stuck up in a tower. Knowing what she wants, looking at the wide world in front of her, without being able to experience it.

@coyoteom (11).jpg

Since graduating university two years ago, my partner and I have been trying to work and travel abroad. We were able to go to Australia to work for a short while, and hit some of the worst luck of our lives in our time there. Somehow we ran into simply abhorrent people, terrible work situations, getting screwed over time after time. The only godsend was my sweet auntie Nikki who saved the day when it came to camping and professionally deluxe meals in the outback.

Since flying home to help out at the land, we haven’t been able to save up money to travel like we had originally wanted to, two years ago. There has been very little opportunity for making cash out here, unless we depend on odd jobs from my dad (which I don’t always like doing as it can feel more like pity pay than a professional work relationship).

@coyoteom (12).jpg

So in this month of solitude in the yurt, I have been trying hard to focus on ways to make money and reach our goals. I have been a bit set back by feeling that a lot of my talent is in language and writing, which aren’t easy money opportunities here at the land and will take a lot of time to see return.

In terms of material goods, I can dabble in a lot of things: woodworking, sewing, art, jewelry, herbal concoctions—but none of it is quite clicking.

Nothing crafty has been giving me that deep gut feeling of this is what you’re meant for that I feel when I help people through situations.

The closest thing to bring me such joy was making a custom bound-rune wooden ring for my sweetheart's mother for positive health and personal power. Maybe if I could find a way to make intentional magical power-full jewelry, but the personal connection, time and detail needed make it an unlikely income.


I was watching a ted talk the other day, and the speaker Ashley Stahl was talking about how our careers shouldn’t be based on our passions but on who we are.
So then, who am I?

I look back on the material things I keep with me through the years and I have a surprising amount of little letters from friends current and past that show deep appreciation for my presence, for my ability to listen and help them with situations. Remember from my last post we work with situations, not problems.

@coyoteom (13).jpg

I would love to be able to research how we can change our personal use of language in order to become more balanced individuals, more connected with our native ways, and change the way our brains experience the world around us.

I really enjoyed working with my university for two years as a resident assistant, helping students through the everyday worries of balancing school, family, social relationships and self-care. I felt a lot of motivation to bring people towards the highest versions of their happier selves.

Encouraging and motivating people by opening space for deep personal sharing felt very meaningful and human. I know that at the very minimum, I can identify that I am human. This connection is deep for me.


I don’t want to be living someone else’s dream, and I don’t want to feel confined. I can’t make big steps on my own without making some real moves to get there. I find a luxurious attachment to material things, this attachment to objects has been something I’ve tried to work out of my system recently.

The universe definitely teaches me a lesson when I become too attached to material goods, and I will often lose little things that I really love. These losses remind me that home is not necessarily where your things are, home is where your heart is. My heart yearns for deep personal connections, and my heart is still yearning for the big wild world.


A quote from a recent author-love of mine, Henry David Thoreau:

“It is not enough to be busy… The question is: what are we busy about?”


How can you challenge yourself in order to better align with your heart desires?
What can you let go to make your life easier?

It's time to buckle down and make things happen.


till next time,
be sweet, stay wild
@coyoteom


Homesteaders Online

Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

I'm sure you will figure it out. Helping people has also always been something that brings me a lot of joy.

I feel you. I never thought of it like Rapunzel but that sounds very like how I have been feeling. I know what I want but finding the time and energy to get it done days seems out of reach and others so close. Best of luck. We are always looking for posts like this the curate through @asapers. We curate from our followers. 😁

I think in some way what you are passionate about shows who you are because it brings out the best in you. I have to listen to that ted talk :)

Up until now I haven't figured out what I want to do. I'm not good in self-analyzing. I do know that what I want is to provide for the family. I am a person, I think, who accepts things as they are (or I just have gave up fighting for what I really want).

This post is sponsored by @appreciator in collaboration with #steemitbloggers. Keep up the good work

Great post! Congrats on being selected by the Appreciator!

Such heartfelt post @coyoteom. I think in life we would be asking the questions above from time to time because we tend to be busy with things, lost ourselves and somehow find a little bit of our ways. Maybe life isn't meant to be figured out but to be lived? I would admire many who know what they want and what dreams they are chasing after. I too can sometimes be on the quest to think and search for what am I meant to do, my purpose etc and then I settle with being a mom and even with that, I still wonder. Maybe this is part of life, that's my personal conclusion and it is perfectly okay to be thinking about this from time to time, so long it doesn't drag us down. Well that's just my little opinion, Hehe. There are lovely things that you do and you feel alive doing them, so I think those would be great for you. Sometimes the mundane may trick our mind that we aren't living to the fullest, but it's the mundane that keeps us going faithfully.

I like what your favorite author said:

“It is not enough to be busy… The question is: what are we busy about?”

I think it is healthy to think about that question! :)

Beautiful Share... I am enjoying the getting more real and personal you are doing!

In my life I have found that if we can put away Fear and Follow our Passions that things seem to just Click.

Your individual essence IS what you have to offer. Be it at a job or in a creative manner... Be you! Shine your glorious self!

I am curious to see what you come up with...

Hugs!

The struggle is real. I am called to share the wise words of Rilke, from Letters to a Young Poet:

“Be patient toward all that is unsolved in your heart and try to love the questions themselves, like locked rooms and like books that are now written in a very foreign tongue. Do not now seek the answers, which cannot be given you because you would not be able to live them. And the point is, to live everything. Live the questions now. Perhaps you will then gradually, without noticing it, live along some distant day into the answer.”

I think Steemit is the right place for you, as you say you feel "a lot of my talent is in language and writing," and your writing is definitely engaging! That you for sharing this lovely introspective and inspirational piece with #steemitbloggers and I wish you well in getting back to a point where you feel "on track" with your dreams! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64564.26
ETH 3223.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65