Are you doing the necessary work?

in #spirituality6 years ago (edited)

asien-balance-buddhismus-784928.jpg

My mentor told me about a metaphor which made me realize that I'm not doing the much-needed work to get to the point where I want to be in life. I kind of knew that I need to do so much more to achieve my goals. But him saying it to me was a huge step for me to actually do the work.

What did he say to me?

The metaphor itself is pretty simple. He taught me that there are three kinds of people.
Imagine a big garden with all kinds of flowers and plants, a big wooden fence that surrounds the garden and a house that is built in the middle of the area which is pitch black inside.

  • There are people looking over the fence to enjoy the beautiful garden. They like what they see but they are not going inside to work there. They keep walking around and never enter the garden.

  • The few people that will enter the garden, work there every day. They water the plants so everything can bloom. They nurse sick flowers to heal them. They plant new vegetables. They are becoming masters of their art form.

  • Only a really small percentage are curious about the house. What is inside? Why is it so dark? Why would I ever go in? Because it's so nice to work in this majestic garden!
    These people mostly cut themselves off of society and sit on a mountain and meditate the whole day I guess. I would call them real masters.

This made me realize that I'm still not doing the garden work. I'm still roaming around the fenced area. I really thought that I’m already in the garden. But I'm not. He also added that a true master practices daily. This changed now for me.

art-background-beautiful-1253187.jpg

The Conclusion

I’m waking up early in the morning to do my meditation and yoga. I want to this every day for a while now to see the changes inside and outside. This will probably solve a lot of stress and stuff that lies deep inside me. I'm really thankful to him for letting me know about this. But I kind of knew that I have to do more but I wasn't actually focusing and listening to myself.

Some friends are out and having drinks and doing the stupid stuff they always do. This was me too for a really long time. I’m really happy that I said no to this. Instead, I’m writing this blog post and I will go to bed soon so I can wake up early. Waking up without having a hangover. How cool is that? No more wasting time! I deserve this! Let’s go!

Are you doing what has to be done to achieve the physical and mental state you want to be in?

banner-6

join my Discord https://discord.gg/zq8yzcz

gratitude toward's all my supporters

Sort:  

Hopefully hes not an Occultist like so many of his generation.

Your judgement is the lock on the house door.

(Though, one first requires the desire to enter, preceded by the curiosity of what’s inside, anyways so it’s all perfect now)....

😉🎱🐇

(Great Ba Gua pic/design, BTW!)

Your judgement is the lock on the house door.

I try not to judge. But sometimes the unconcious program is running. But i wouldn't say that this statement was a judgment? Judgment can only take place when I do know someone or see someone, right?

Thank you :)

But sometimes the unconcious program is running.

24/7, mate. 24/7. Takes years - if not decades or lifetimes - to deprogram.

But i wouldn't say that this statement was a judgment?

The statement itself may not have been a judgement, though analyze the language pattern: what’s the implied context behind the “hopefully...?”

Judgment can only take place when I do know someone or see someone, right?

Extreme example, for demonstrative purpose: how many white people are racist against blacks without having ever known or seen them...?

...the ”when”, simply during the playing out of those deeply-imbedded programs - typically, 24/7 in the subconscious...

24/7, mate. 24/7. Takes years - if not decades or lifetimes - to deprogram.

Yes, indeed. Those small reprogram steps we can do every day lead to a brighter future.

what’s the implied context behind the “hopefully...?

For some reason, I attracted a lot of Occultists in the past month. This was just me making fun of the situation. Sure you can't know that. That's why it maybe comes off wrong. Or as a judgment.
I am always open for something new! I listen to everybody. After doing that I decide which way I want to go. If I agree with someone or not.

Extreme example, for demonstrative purpose: how many white people are racist against blacks without having ever known or seen them...?

That's true. Haven't thought of that situation.

Ahhhh, definitely a lost-in/mistranslation...

Nice very thought provoking thanks for sharing. I think I have entered the garden but not regularly and sometimes let the dying plants be sadly. Recently I have neglected to do my yoga in the morning for one reason or another. Sure I need to get back in that garden thanks 💯🐒

That's beautiful! Let's go! :)

Your on. Starting with my morning yoga which I have failed to do for the least two weeks 💯🐒

It's okay to fail! I failed for a long time too!

Indeed makes us stronger. Have just done my Yoga this morning feels rather good 💯🐒

It's good to start to try to achieve a higher mental state that this would bring. Lots of people go out, drink, party and try to use that social aspect as a way to escape reality. They are using this drinking and social behavior to stay in their comfort zone while not allowing themselves to expand. It is certainly important to have socialization but doing it all the time is detrimental.

It is certainly important to have socialization but doing it all the time is detrimental.

Yes, socializing is important. But you can actually do that without going to Bar's and stuff like that. Sadly a majority of the people in the west understand it like that. Specifically people of my age. I'm living in India right now. Here it's a little bit different. I really love the aspect of not going to Bar's in the evening. We just sit and talk and have a lot of fun. Drinking tea and such! I love it!

Lots of people go out, drink, party and try to use that social aspect as a way to escape reality.

I did it for a long time when I was younger. I guess to a certain degree it's fine to do that. But when you do it all the time it's definitely not healthy.

Your post woke me too!! This is kind of a booster pack to get my things going right with necessary effort required from my side. Kudos to you for the awakening!!

I'm glad I could inspire you :)

@aaronhawk, go and place your daily vote for Steem on netcoins! http://contest.gonetcoins.com/

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @aaronhawk! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

My sources say no

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63548.34
ETH 2646.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74