My Son Has Come Home At Last!!

in #spiritual7 years ago

Out of the ashes, rises the phoenix, as the legend goes in Greek mythology. The phoenix is most closely associated with the sun and the story goes that he would perish in a show of flames and combustion, only to regenerate from the ashes of it's former self, thus being reborn.

So it seems, with my son, Rodney. Several of you have followed his journey from the days immediately following his horrific roll over accident to the culmination of the last two months....his return home!! There were several days just prior to his awakening from the coma that fever would tear through his body, causing much concern as to his brain function as well as internal organ failures. The photo below shows his body packed on ice, with ice packs tucked into armpits and groin. The air conditioning in the room was turned down as low as it could go and a separate portable air conditioner was brought in and pointed directly over his body.

It seemed as though he would suffer spontaneous combustion at any moment. Those days were some of the most intense and frightening times of the whole ordeal. The feeling of helplessness and ineptitude is something I never wish to experience again. I had dealt with fever and illness in children before and never once did I feel like it was out of control. This was a different beast entirely. Something had a hold of that man's body and the attack was relentless.

A Body In Peril

22499259_734988050045367_7492594620475811667_o.jpg

After a handful of days had passed in that icy tomb of a room, the raging fire left his body and he became cool and still. One doctor or another, I'm not sure who as there were so many, would broach the subject of brain function. It was decided one day to take him off of the ventilator for the purpose of rearranging the medical equipment. He would be disconnected and bagged in the event he would not breathe on his own.

Never missing a beat in his true drummer's heart, he started to breathe long and deep, and at that point we knew he could function free from the ventilator. Rodney continued to improve daily from those feverish, dread filled days, and after 37 days in the CCU and ICU, he left the hospital and headed for an acute rehab hospital. He would spend the next 18 days in intense rehab and was discharged this past Wednesday.

One of the first things Rodney wanted to do upon his return home, was to look over his truck. The photos of him looking at that wrecked hunk of metal bring tears to my eyes, though I can't say if they are tears of sadness for the pain he has and will endure during rehab, or if they are tears of gratitude that he is here at all....I'm guessing both. I ache at his thin frame and butchered hair.

It Could Have Been So Much Worse

And so it is, out of the ashes of a boy, a man is born. May he regain his former glory, his zest for life, his infectious enthusiasm, and his kind and soulful heart. He is my son, Rodney <3

19437409_10209285311077803_1580673678276587915_n.jpg

If you are interested in reading his story, previous posts are as follows:

https://steemit.com/poetry/@tamaralovelace/prayers-please-and-a-poem-for-my-son
https://steemit.com/prayer/@tamaralovelace/the-road-to-recovery
https://steemit.com/writing/@tamaralovelace/what-are-you-thinking-today-son
https://steemit.com/healing/@tamaralovelace/the-longest-journey-starts-with-a-single-step
https://steemit.com/healing/@tamaralovelace/i-got-a-kiss-today
https://steemit.com/healing/@tamaralovelace/the-calm-after-the-storm
https://steemit.com/healing/@tamaralovelace/a-moment-s-grace
https://steemit.com/christian/@tamaralovelace/a-prelude-to-rebuilding
https://steemit.com/healing/@tamaralovelace/the-rebuilding-of-a-man

Sort:  

Oh Dear .....I am heartbroken and all I can do right now is sending you my love and strength. All will be good! Your beautiful son is ALIVE!

I remembered an article I posted a while ago ....https://steemit.com/rebirth/@mammasitta/how-can-you-rise-if-you-have-not-burned-the-theme-of-rebirth

YES, @mammasitta! He's alive :) Thank you so, so much for your love and strength! I have gotten through these past couple of months thanks to the kind and warm hearts I've found here on Steemit <3

I went to read the article you mentioned and it is a beautifully written piece of work. I would like to have read it before writing my own article so that I could have referred back to it. The images are glorious. I am grateful to you for pointing me in the direction of that piece as it has resonated well with my own soul <3 <3 As one mother to another, I offer you many, many blessings and peace to you and your daughter :)

I am still in shock and short on proper words because I just can’t imagine what rollercoaster of emotions you must have been through. I am so happy I discovered you and mostly at the point to receive the best of news ever! He rose like a phoenix out of those ashes! A True miracle! I hug you so strongly right now. 💕💕🌺

Thank you so much @mammasitta for your kindness and especially your hugs!! I am so happy to have met you here and am thrilled to catch a small glimpse of your life with your daughter. I am sending you warm hugs and lots of love <3

Wow....I cannot imagine how terrifying it must have been for you....thank God its all over nw..

Thank you @tolarnee! Yes! Thank God! It has been a wild two months, at times slow as the ages and sometimes flying by at dizzying speeds. I am thankful that part is over. The rebuilding will be slow, but then again, what have we truly, but time :) I thank you for caring <3 <3

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

It would be an honor and I accept! Thank you so much :)

Your write-up of this has such great style- but more than that, I feel every bit of the emotion. Glad that he is back home with you and on the mend!

Oh, Thank you SO much @sunravelme! I am thrilled beyond measure to have him home :) Thank you, thank you!!!

God I am glad he is alive! I wish you tons of luck and strength

Thanks so much! I appreciate your reading our story..it sure has been a journey!!

Thanks so much! I appreciate your reading our story..it sure has been a journey!!

That is great news! Thank goodness he is out of the woods and back home now. :-) I can bet that you are super relieved, and a happy camper.

Have a great night. :-)

Oh my goodness, Yesss!! I am much relieved and so very, very happy. Thank you so much for reading and following along!! You have a good night, too!!

Absolutely fantastic to see and hear about your son's recovery. He has a good strong heart and is a fighter. There is so much more life in him.
It just makes one realise how precious life is, and how powerful the love between mother and son is.
Your post made my day today.
Blessings to both of you.

Thank you so so much for your blessings! Thanks for spending time with us today. I agree, he has a good strong heart :) I hope you have a fantastic evening/night <3

Oh, God - this is really a good news! So happy for you both!
That first picture is terrifying, so much you've been true. And than, the last picture - back on his feet! Amazing.
Don't worry, he'll get stronger, he's proven what a tough guy he is!

Oh my word...I have run the gamut of emotion....I look at him and think what a treasure I almost lost! I can't wait until I can post a video of him drumming again lol. Might be awhile yet !! Thank you so very much @ladyrebecca!! <3

Such good news! This makes me very happy @tamaralovelace - sending a huge hug from Denver!

Thank you SO SO much, @geke!! I'll take that hug :D <3 You helped me immensely these last weeks and I am so grateful for your friendship and for authoring such great works for me to read and enjoy :D

What a trial you have been through. Bless you both. <3

Thank you so much Tina! Thank you for following along on this sad/happy weird/wonderful journey!! During the hospital days it sure did help to pass the time reading all the comments of support! Those who stuck with me through that will forever be a part of my heart <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59388.60
ETH 2528.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50