El Sandwich - A Pop-Up WeWrite Contest (English - Español)

in #spanish4 years ago

026_Concurso_003_El_Sandwich_20-02-2020_Destacada.jpg

Hola, Hola, mis amables compañeros Steemitcritores.

Soy Zulay Pulido, Ilustradora y, ahora, probando a ser Escritora.

Este historia corresponde a mi propuesta de participación en el A Pop-Up WeWrite Contest!, promovido por @freewritehouse

Las ilustraciones de esta publicación son de mi autoría.

Hello, Hello, my nice fellows Steemitwriters.

I am Zulay Pulido, Illustrator and, now, proving to be Writter.

This text corresponds to my proposal to participate in the A Pop-Up WeWrite Contest! The Sandwich, promoted by @freewritehouse

The illustrations in this publication are my own.

The Sandwich (English)

"Ugh! The bread is soaking wet! Bread is not supposed to be soaking wet!" he snarled at me as he spit a soggy mouthful of half-chewed peanut butter sandwich into a tissue. I stood at attention next to his bed. He handed the sodden and heavy tissue to me.

He was now vegan, grain free, nightshade free, lectin free, phytic acid free, and deaf to my feeble protestations. He was not free, however, from his acutely tuned palate, which was maddeningly different from mine.

He had requested a peanut butter sandwich. I knew meeting all his new diet criteria would be a bitch, but I rose to the challenge. I had to.

I chose a very small ten dollars loaf of 'bread' and bought it. I bought some raw peanuts. I shelled the peanuts. I soaked, sprouted, and dehydrated the peanuts. After very lightly roasting them, I ground those peanuts into peanut butter. I then very carefully smeared the freshly ground peanut butter onto the somewhat normal looking bread. I made sure to get the peanut butter to the edges just like I had learned in home economics class long, long ago.

I knew how to make a proper tea sandwich.

I now spent my life trying to make this man happy. I signed up for that didn't I? Wasn’t that my reason for being? To make this man happy?

Well, he was not happy with that sandwich.

At that moment, I discovered, that I was not happy with that man. It was increasingly difficult to please him. I was exhausted from trying to be happy with him, without getting it. He was too demanding, something was never right, there was always a criticism.

It was Saturday, Michael's day off and I had used to bring him breakfast to bed.

But, after several years of abuse, that despised sandwich, reached the end of my resistance.

Suddenly, I realized that I was tired of that humiliating relationship.

At that time, between sobs, I called Laura, my best friend, in charge of a hairdressing salon. I told her I would spend the day with her.

I left the house without saying goodbye and went on foot to dispel my thoughts and seek refuge and support in someone whose could understand me.

I had walked about five hundred meters when I heard a very loud explosion behind me. When I turned around, I saw how my house was flying through the air and I couldn't believe it!

The street was filled with people shouting desperately. There was a lot of smoke, fire and ashes and I couldn't see clearly what was happening.

I froze, I don't know for how long, thinking about what would have happened to Michael. My vision became blurred, a fireman came over and laid me on a stretcher. They injected something into my vein and I fell asleep.

When I woke up, I was in my bed, but Surprise! I was Michael. My wife, my two children and my dog entered the room to wish me a happy birthday and bring me a succulent breakfast. They had prepared peanut butter sandwiches, orange juice and a large cheese cake.

I sighed several times hard, because it had been a dream. I hugged, kissed and cried with my wife, my children and my dog, and thanked them greatly for the unexpected celebration.

But one thought remained latent, since that time.

Could it be that my wife wants to kill me?

026_Concurso_003_El_Sandwich_20-02-2020_Secuencia.jpg

El Sandwiche (Español)

"¡Uf! ¡El pan está mojado! ¡No se supone que el pan esté mojado!" me gruñó mientras escupía un bocado mojado de sándwich de mantequilla de maní medio masticado en un pañuelo. Me puse de pie junto a su cama. Me entregó el pañuelo mojado y pesado.

Ahora era vegano, sin granos, sin comidas nocturnas, sin lecitina, sin ácido fítico y sordo a mis débiles protestas. Sin embargo, no era libre de su paladar refinado, que era exasperantemente diferente al mío.

Había pedido un sándwich de mantequilla de maní. Sabía que cumplir con todos sus nuevos criterios de dieta sería una $%/”@&, pero acepté el desafío. Tenía que hacerlo.

Elegí una hogaza de pan de diez dólares muy pequeña y la compré. Compré algunos cacahuetes crudos. Descascaré los cacahuetes. Los pelé, germiné y deshidraté. Después de asarlos ligeramente, molí esos maníes y los mezclé con mantequilla de maní. Luego, unté con mucho cuidado la mantequilla de maní recién molida sobre el pan de aspecto algo normal. Me aseguré de llevar la mantequilla de maní hasta los bordes, tal como había aprendido en la clase de economía doméstica hace mucho, mucho tiempo.

Sabía cómo preparar un sándwich correctamente.

Ahora, me pasaba la vida tratando de hacer feliz a este hombre. Me dediqué a eso, ¿no? ¿No era esa mi razón de ser? ¿Para hacer feliz a este hombre?

Bueno, no estaba contento con ese sándwich.

Y yo, en ese instante descubrí, que no estaba contenta con ese hombre. Cada vez era más difícil complacerlo. Estaba agotada de tanto intentar ser feliz con él, sin conseguirlo. Él, era demasiado exigente, nunca algo estaba bien, siempre había una crítica.

Era sábado, el día libre de Michael y yo lo había acostumbrado a llevarle el desayuno a la cama.

Pero, luego de varios años de maltrato, ese sándwich despreciado, llegó al extremo de mi resistencia.

De pronto, me di cuenta de que estaba harta de esa relación humillante.

En ese momento, entre sollozos, llamé a Laura, mi mejor amiga, encargada de un salón de peluquería. Le comuniqué que pasaría el día con ella.

Salí de la casa sin despedirme y me fui a pie a disipar mis pensamientos y a buscar refugio y apoyo en quien sí me podía comprender.

Había caminado como quinientos metros cuando escuché una explosión muy fuerte detrás de mí. Al voltear, vi como mi casa volaba por los aires en pedazos y no lo podía creer.

La calle se llenó de gente que gritaba desesperadamente. Había mucho humo, fuego y cenizas y no podía ver con claridad lo que ocurría.

Me paralicé, no sé por cuánto tiempo, al pensar en lo que le habría pasado a Michael. Mi visión se hizo borrosa, un bombero se acercó y me acostó sobre una camilla. Me inyectaron algo en la vena y me quedé dormida.

Cuando desperté, estaba en mi cama, pero ¡Sorpresa! Yo era Michael. Mi esposa, mis dos hijos y mi perro entraron a la habitación para desearme feliz cumpleaños y traerme un suculento desayuno. Habían preparado sándwiches de mantequilla de maní, jugo de naranja y una gran torta de queso.

Suspiré varias veces con fuerza, porque había sido un sueño. Abracé, besé y lloré con mi esposa, mis hijos y mi perro, y les agradecí enormemente la inesperada celebración.

Pero un pensamiento me quedó latente, desde aquella ocasión.

¿Será que mi esposa quiere matarme?

Mis Redes Sociales personales son:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/zupulido,
y Twitter: https://twitter.com/zupulido, pero no las uso con frecuencia.

Sin embargo, las de la FAVTachira,
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/FAVTachira/,
Twiiter: https://twitter.com/favtachira
e Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/favtachira/,
sí se actualizan constantemente.

If you liked my proposal, I invite you to leave me your comments and observations, to improve in this beautiful community.

I hope to comply with the regulations and expectations of this contest.

Remember, you can find me at https://steemit.com/@librepensadora

A big hug from Venezuela, a country where great writers have been born.

Si te gustó mi propuesta, te invito a dejarme tus comentarios y observaciones, para mejorar en esta hermosa comunidad.

Espero cumplir con las normativas y expectativas de este concurso.

Recuerda, puedes encontrarme en https://steemit.com/@librepensadora

Un gran abrazo desde Venezuela, un país donde han nacido grandes escritores.

Cintillo_votame_3.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you for your entry!
I love this switch of characters, one dreaming that he is the other. I think they love him. It was just a bad dream. but I now wonder if many invalids have this thought, that their caretakers would like to kill them. hm...
Excellent twist to the story.

Hello, my dear @owasco I hope that my story is liked by everyone and that it meets the requirements of the contest to be awarded. Thank you for creating such opportunities for new steemians. Have a happy day

Yes! A theme in these stories seems to prompt this, @owasco: I now wonder if many invalids have this thought, that their caretakers would like to kill them. I've read that in nursing homes, it's far more common than we suspect, but who wants to think about THAT... gotta hand it to @mgaft1 for taking care of his mom in his own home, her last two years. (See his comment on phil's post...)

Hello, @carollkea Thank you for your comment. Remember, it's just fantasy, not a real wish jeje

Esta publicación ha sido seleccionada para el reporte de Curación Diaria.

final de post.png¡¡¡Felicidades!!!

Hola, mis queridos @mayvileros Muchísimas gracias por tomar en cuenta mi trabajo, una vez más. Feliz dia, mi amor

Buenos días amiga, siempre a la orden. Saludos.

Hello @librepensadora. I loved your story. If he was nicer, he wouldn't have had dreams of someone taking revenge on him. Guilty conscious.

I like how you give the English and Spanish versions.

Do you mind accepting a DM from me at Steem Terminal's discord. I see you in there already?

Thanks for sharing.

Hi, @justclickindiva Thank you very much for your kind comment. Please tell me what is a DM? I am in Steem Terminal Discord

Direct Message. A friend request. I sent you one. Top left hand corner you will see my name. just click on it to accept friend request. That is where you talk to someone in Discord private conversation.

I want to ask you about the Redfish Rally.

We are connected. I left you a message.

Muy buena historia. Me gustó el giro que le diste al inicio de @owasco.
Bien hecho, @librepensadora. ¡El final te quedó genial!

Hola, amiga @zeleiracordero Muchas gracias, por tu amable comentario. Espero vernos por aquí nuevamente jeje

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55041.56
ETH 2459.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18