A Pop-Up WeWrite Contest!

in #freewritehouse4 years ago (edited)

rust4088121_640.jpg

Please finish my story! Five you-know-whats for my favorite three entries and an equivalent amount to @freewritehouse. Deadline is the pay-out of this post, so get cracking on it!

Update! I have received a generous donation toward the prize pool of this contest from someone who chooses to remain anonymous, but of course you can go to my wallet and see who it was. Just remember, you didn't hear it from me!

The new prizes will be one you-know-what for every entry, and five you-know-whats to my top three favorites! Everyone who enters is a winner! And @freewritehouse gets matching prizes, so all of my favorite freaking people are winners.

Contest requirements are below

text15.png

The Prompt

The Sandwich

"Ugh! The bread is soaking wet! Bread is not supposed to be soaking wet!" he snarled at me as he spit a soggy mouthful of half-chewed peanut butter sandwich into a tissue. I stood at attention next to his bed. He handed the sodden and heavy tissue to me.

He was now vegan, grain free, nightshade free, lectin free, phytic acid free, and deaf to my feeble protestations. He was not free, however, from his acutely tuned palate, which was maddeningly different from mine.

He had requested a peanut butter sandwich. I knew meeting all his new diet criteria would be a bitch, but I rose to the challenge. I had to.

I chose a very small ten dollar loaf of 'bread' and bought it. I bought some raw peanuts. I shelled the peanuts. I soaked, sprouted, and dehydrated the peanuts. After very lightly roasting them, I ground those peanuts into peanut butter. I then very carefully smeared the freshly ground peanut butter onto the somewhat normal looking bread. I made sure to get the peanut butter to the edges just like I had learned in home economics class long, long ago.

I knew how to make a proper tea sandwich.

I now spent my life trying to make this man happy. I signed up for that didn't I? Wasn’t that my reason for being? To make this man happy?

Well, he was not happy with that sandwich.
text15.png

I was chatting with @mgaft earlier today about the dormancy of @freewritehouse's beloved wewrite contest, and about the difficulties of running contests. I decided to see for myself just how hard it is.

Please enter! Just write a continuation. I don't care how you do it but please:

  • Limit your entry to 750 words
  • Publish it as a Steem post.
  • Use @freewritehouse as one of your first five tags
  • Leave a link to your post in the comments below
  • I will be the judge. I prefer stories that are short, clever, take me there, and float my boat.

I'm just tagging a few of you to help get this started: @deirdyweirdy, @mariannewest (hope your travels are a smashing success), @carolkean, @mgaft, @zeldacroft, @ntowl, @tristancarax, @free-reign, @agmoore (because this reminds me of your story back in the fall). Please spread the word!

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjodFyZCPuFbZDncXQB89jd6mZkWM2QSrq2ahH2DhyyNE1pjQLgqmXzcj4F36iojmAUYgMVQ 2.png

This is also my entry to @mariannewest's freewrite challenge. Today's prompt is beans and rice.

Please come join us at @freewritehouse
Where You Do You

image is by @wales, Dean Moriarty


owasco_banner.png



Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Sort:  

Love the story and the challenge. I'll give it a go over the weekend.

Woot! Looking forward to your entry. Thanks.

May take a crack at this over the weekend, depending on schedule!

Oh I so hope you do!

Hereby my entry. Good luck with hosting. 💕

https://esteem.app/hive-114105/@wakeupkitty.pal/wet-bread

Posted using Partiko Android

He will be getting the meal he deserves! We are tracking in the same direction on our approach, but you are GENTLER...

I can't wait. )))

Ahaha... Your character is quite funny. Suck it to him! Good job! )

Ohhhh my! But, it could be worse...Ever see the movie The Help - the pie scene?

No I did not, will watch it asap. Thanks. 💕

#posh on Twitter https://twitter.com/tea_in_carolina/status/1228700796067471360
Thank you for the fun, spontaneity, inspiration, and motivation to write, @owasco!!!

Thank you for the retweet! Or the tweet. Did I tweet it? I can't remember! lol.

@owasco Excellent idea, so we cheer up, we also have fun.

I hope to see an entry from you! Maybe your newly weds, thirty years from now? Or whatever.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65800.35
ETH 3464.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68