Conspiración de los ancianos / Conspiracy of the elders [English inside]

in #spanish5 years ago


I

Extraños en la puerta / Strangers at the door


Me despierto a la mitad de la noche y miro que la puerta que da al pasillo está abierta y el viento frío que entra por ella penetra los huesos, pienso durante un buen rato si tengo la fuerza suficiente para levantarme o si será mejor tomar el riesgo de que por fin la la hipotermia me traiga por la mañana el deseado descanso. Pienso también que lo más probable será pescar un resfriado terrible del que seguramente yo mismo seré el acusado. Me sumerjo en mis sabanas amarillentas en cuyas fibras se encuentran impregnados todos los olores de los viejos de este asilo en que me encuentro, que comentario aparte está tan sólo sostenido por la beneficencia y algunas migajas del Estado. Curiosamente todo este olor concentrado de los que viven y los que ya se fueron me ayuda a calentarme hasta que nuevamente alcanzo el sueño.

I wake up in the middle of the night and see that the door to the hallway is wide open and the chill that enters through it penetrates the bones. I think for a long time if I have enough strength to get up or if it's better to take the risk that hypothermia finally brings me the desired rest in the morning. I also think that I'll most likely catch a terrible cold for which I'll surely be pointed as the responsible. I immerse myself in my yellowed sheets in whose fibers are impregnated all the scents of the old men of this nursing home in which I find myself, which is, commentary appart, only supported by the beneficence and some crumbs from the State. Curiously, all this concentrated smell of those who live and those who have already left helps me warm up until I fall asleep again.

No somos el número acostumbrado en el comedor esta mañana, el hecho no me espanta; sin embargo, sólo para entretenerme, limpio mis gafas con la servilleta y cuento nuevamente a todos los internos. Y no es que yo lo crea pero cada vez me pica más la curiosidad por lo que me dijo hace poco otro de los viejos internos. Él piensa que se están deshaciendo de nosotros, que hay un cierto acuerdo entre el asilo y algunos laboratorios para hacer experimentos con nuestros órganos para hacer cremas para el rejuvenecimiento. Cuando acabo de contarnos por tercera vez me encuentro directo con su mirada y esa sonrisa idiota con la que quiere premiar sus hallazgos de detective. Con un dedo señalando su ojo derecho me insinúa que me de cuenta que su teoría es correcta. Estoy terminando de desayunar cuando pasa a lado mío con su andadera y me dice susurrando entre su escasa dentadura que esté pendiente de la puerta.

We're not the usual number in the dining hall this morning, the fact doesn't scare me though. However, just to entertain myself, I clean my glasses with the napkin and count all the residents again. And it's not that I believe it but every time I get more curious about what another of the old men in here told me recently. He thinks they are getting rid of us and there's some agreement between this institution and some laboratories to do experiments with our organs to make some creams for rejuvenation. When I finish to count us for the third time I find myself directly with his gaze and that idiotic smile with which he wants to reward his detective findings. With a finger pointing to his right eye, he suggests that I realize that his theory is correct. I'm finishing breakfast when he passes by me with his walker and tells me whispering among his scant teeth that I must watch carefully to my door.

Durante nuestra estancia en ese basurero que suelen llamar el patio, que es donde también se reúnen a fumar los enfermeros y le venden dulces y cigarros a los viejos que todavía reciben algún dinero para consentirse el vicio aún cuando algunos anden cargando su tanque de oxígeno; durante esta estancia pues, me concentro en todos los movimientos de los doctores, enfermeros, visitantes y de los propios internos. Debo aceptarlo, la teoría de aquel viejo está martillando bastante fuerte en mi cabeza. De cuando en cuando tengo que lidiar con el empañamiento de los lentes para distinguir mejor las señales en los rostros y los gestos más vagos en los que puedan esconderse las más negras intenciones. Quiero capturar todo lo mejor que la memoria me permita pues sé que durante nuestra hora de mirar la televisión todo se me hará confuso entre la realidad y las noticias con las que los corporativos televisivos nos entretienen.

During our stay in that dump that they're used to call the yard, which is where assistants also meet to smoke and sell candy and cigarettes to old people who still receive some money to indulge their vice even when some are carrying their oxygen tank. As I was saying, during this stay I focus on all the movements of doctors, assistants, visitors and the inmates themselves. I must accept it, that old man's theory is hammering quite hard in my head. From time to time I have to deal with the fogging of the lenses to better distinguish the signals on the faces and the vague gestures in which the blackest intentions can hide. I want to capture all the best that memory allows me because I know that during our time watching tv everything will be confusing between reality and the news which television industry uses to entertain us.

Esta noche no puedo dormir bien, al parecer los medicamentos para el sueño ya no me hacen efecto. Entre las vueltas que doy en mis sábanas amarillentas escucho el rechinido peculiar del picaporte de la puerta de mi habitación, ya me vienen de inmediato a la memoria las palabras del paciente que me platica en los desayunos. Mi primer instinto es el de hacerme al dormido mientras la puerta se abre y entre las sombras de la noche y la nubes de mi vista alcanzo a distinguir unas figuras que se cuchichean entre sí. Eso sí, el oído me funciona bien todavía aunque no sé si deba darme orgullo o sentirme preocupado pues entre sus murmullos alcanzo a escuchar que dicen "dentro de tres días". Miro ahora cómo se cierra muy lentamente la puerta, pero algo pasa con la cerradura que luego de un rato vuelve a abrirse dejando entrar ese frío que me recorre toda la espina. Sin pensarlo mucho me levanto y tomo el bastón para ir a cerrarla, por un segundo me viene la idea de que pueden hacer lo que quieran conmigo pero no estoy dispuesto a morir de un resfrío.

I can't sleep well tonight, apparently the sleep medications no longer work for me. Among the spins in between the bed and my yellowed sheets I hear the peculiar squeak of the door handle of my room, the words from the fellow internee who talks to me at breakfast come to mind immediately. My first instinct is to pretend to be asleep while the door opens and between the shadows of the night and the clouds of my sight I can distinguish figures that whisper to each other. Of course, the ear works well for me even though I don't know if I should take pride or feel worried because among his murmurs I get to hear them say "in three days". I watch now how the door closes very slowly but something happens with the lock that opens again after a while letting in that chill that runs through all my spine. Without thinking too much I get up and take the cane to go to close that door, for a second I have the idea that they can do whatever they want with me but I'm not willing to die from a cold.
A la mañana siguiente durante el desayuno no puedo contar muy bien a mis compañeros, aparte de un fuerte dolor de cabeza ya van tres veces que me quedo dormido a la mitad de la cuenta. Creo que durante toda esta noche debo haber dormido intermitentemente no más de una hora. Decido que no tiene ningún caso contar y voy a buscar a mi amigo de las ideas locas pero no tengo que hacer ningún esfuerzo ya que pronto me encuentro con su mirada. Esta vez soy yo quien va con la charola del desayuno hasta su mesa. Enseguida me pregunta si me he fijado en la puerta, yo afirmo simplemente con la cabeza. Ante su insistencia le cuento lo que vi, omitiendo mis problemas con el frío y mi reumatismo y resaltando esa parte importante donde fueron mencionados los tres días. Me dice que él se va a escapar en un par de días, que ya lo tiene todo arreglado y que si yo tengo familia sería mejor rogarles que me sacaran, si no, que estaba más que invitado a escaparnos juntos para evitar terminar hechos literalmente pomada. Dice que más que nada me invitaba a mí porque nadie más le ha hecho caso a sus advertencias y ya lo tachaban de loco en las reuniones en aquel basurero al que todos suelen llamarle patio.
The next morning during breakfast I can not tell my classmates very well, apart from a severe headache, I've found myself asleep three times in the middle of the count. I think that during all this night I must have slept intermittently for no more than an hour. I decide that it has no case to count and I look for my friend of the crazy ideas but I don't have to make any effort since I soon meet his gaze. This time it's me who goes with the breakfast tray to his table. He immediately asks me if I've noticed something strange in my door, I simply affirm with my head. At his insistence I tell him what I saw, omitting my problems with the cold and my rheumatism and highlighting that important part where the three days were mentioned. He tells me that he is going to escape in a couple of days, that he already has everything fixed and that if I have family it would be better to beg them to take me out, if not, that I was more than invited to escape together to avoid finishing literally turned to pomade. He says that mostly he invited me because no one else heeded his warnings and they already called him crazy at the meetups in that garbage dump that everyone usually calls the yard.

Envuelto en el olor de mis sábanas, ya entrada la noche, trato de recordar todos los detalles que me había contado sobre cómo abrir la ventana del pasillo a la vuelta de los dormitorios y cómo esta daba directo a la calle pero ahora todo se me confunde con las noticias de asaltos, protestas e intrigas políticas que dieron a la hora del noticiero. Pienso que debería de avisarle a mi hija pero además de que eso podría levantar sospechas también es posible que sólo la preocupe en vano por culpa de las teorías excéntricas de un par de locos en el asilo de ancianos. Me parece llegar a la mejor decisión casi con la primera luz del sol, lo que me hace enfurecerme un poco porque al parecer me están dando los peores inductores del sueño que encuentran en la farmacia. De cualquier forma me quito la pijama y tomo el bastón para ir a desayunar y comunicarle a mi compañero que me fugaré con él, que cuente conmigo. No le llamaré a mi hija será mucho más fácil que me crea si de repente ve a este par de viejos llegando a su casa por sorpresa.

Wrapped in the smell of my sheets, and late at night, I try to remember all the details he had told me about how to open the corridor window around the bedrooms and how it faced the street but now everything turns confusing with the news of assaults, protests and political intrigues they gave at the news on tv. I think I should let my daughter know but besides that it could raise suspicions it is also possible that I only worry her in vain because of the eccentric theories of a couple of crazy old men in the nursing home. I seem to reach the best decision almost in the first sunlight, which makes me a little angry because apparently they are giving me the worst sleep inductors they find in the pharmacy. Anyway, I take off my pajamas and take the cane to go to breakfast and tell my partner that I will run away with him, that he can count on me. I will not call my daughter, it will be much easier for her to believe me if she suddenly sees this pair of old men coming home by surprise.

Edición digital a partir de las fotografías libres para su uso de Ulrich Joho /
Digital edition from the creative commons photography by Ulrich Joho:




Click en las imágenes para ir a la fuente / Click on the image to go to the source



@LeVeuf




Este trabajo por Miguel Ángel Canto está bajo una licencia Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
.
Sort:  

It's amazing! You so well conveyed the atmosphere that prevails in this institution and the image and character of the main character. I await the continuation of this history.Best wishes, my friend! I wish You all the best and success.

I'm glad you like it my dear Friend!! And it's important to know that the story catch the attention and generates the atmosphere and the image of the characters. Of course it's a compliment that the reading has aroused the desire to read more. Many turns are surrounding my imagination I hope to make the best choices!! 🙂
I send you lots of hugs and good wishes for your studies and every project!!
Much Love and Light for each day, dear @MadlenFox!!

Votado por el trail @team-mexico
Servidor en Discord TeamMexicoPRO ¡Te esperamos!

Delegaciones para @team-mexico ¡Ayúdanos a crecer!

10 SP - 25 SP - 50 SP - 100 SP - 150 SP- Mas información.
teammexico (1).png

Curado manualmente por @bonzopoe

Muy agradecido por el apoyo de @Team-Mexico, aprovecho para mandar un abrazo con afecto y los mejores deseos en el desarrollo de todos los proyectos. Va un saludo y mi agradecimiento por la valoración de @Bonzopoe!!
Los mejores vientos para todo el Equipo!!

Saludos, no hay nada que agradecer! Gracias por tu trabajo.

Más abrazos y buenas vibras para todo el Equipo!! 🤗

Agradezco mucho el aliento y la valoración para este trabajo. Siempre es muy estímulo a seguir desarrollando el trabajo, la difusión y el disfrute literario. Todo lo mejor para @Don.Quijote y el gran Equipo @Cervantes!!

Amigo @leveuf, de vuelta por estos lares y muy feliz al encontrarme esta grandiosa narración. Extraordinaria calidad, fruto de tu trabajo profesional y creatividad.
Te felicito y dejo un abrazo

Que alegría verte de vuelta por estos rumbos!! Y más alegría darme cuenta que ya has estado publicando de nuevo ahí en tu blog!! Creo que ya te has ido poniendo al día de todo lo nuevo que hay por acá con las tribus y nueva economía!! Parece que aún se vienen más novedades con la SMT's!! Mucho que aprender y un gran futuro al parecer se avecina!! Que bueno que ya te veo por aquí!!

Te mando abrazos grandes con alegría por ese gran viaje del que seguro traes un gran bagaje! Mucho Buenos Vientos mi querida amiga @Mllg!! Y por aquí y por allá nos seguiremos encontrando!!

Hola amigo!
Me encontré con un inmenso caudal de novedades. Es mucho por aprender, especialmente lo relativo a la economía. Muchas nuevas monedas, jeejej.
Quisiera yo que hubiese una solita, con paridad al dólar, jejeje.
Como vienen más novedadses pues la iré aprendiendo juntas, por los momentos estoy concentrada en visitar a mis grandes amigos y publicar con cierta frecuencia.
Me encanta encontrar us siempree bellas publicaciones y tu afecto.
Un abrazo súper grande y
¡Hasta siempre!

Wow! totalmente atrapada. Me vinieron tristes recuerdos de un lugar muy parecido al descrito en este relato, esperaré el desarrollo de la trama, parece otro gran éxito! Gusto en leerte nuevamente. Saludos cordiales.

Que bueno que esta historia contará con una lectora tan destacada, me da mucho gusto que te haya enganchado la trama y las conexiones a la experiencia que con ella vienen. Ojalá que se consigan diferentes emociones y atmósferas en este recorrido.
Te mando muchos abrazos, bendiciones y Buenos Vientos, @Blkisa758, muchas gracias por tu compañía!!

La descripción del lugar, los sentimientos descritos. Creo que siempre nos sorprendes con tus relatos tan especiales.

Me alegra leerte.
Saludos cordiales Miguel.

Posted using Partiko Android

Y a mí me pone contento que hayas visitado este relato en su mero comienzo. Además de la alegría de tu visita es importante percibir el reflejo en el lector de estas letras. Que bueno que te ha gustado y ya iremos viendo qué giros toma el relato!!
Van muchos abrazos @SLwzL con bendiciones y buenos vientos!! 🤗
Para ti sólo lo más Bello!!

Congratulations @leveuf! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 200 posts. Your next target is to reach 250 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ - Meet the Steemians Contest

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

This is great news for me! Maybe they are not too much posts but everyone represents something important!! Thanks for the info and Best Vibes on SteemFest4

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you very Much for your support, always admired for you great work in the app and the page!!
Best Regards!!

Hi @leveuf!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.526 which ranks you at #6779 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 88 contributions, your post is ranked at #64.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thanks a lot!! 🤗

Hi, @leveuf!

You just got a 4.48% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

The best vibes for everybody in the Team!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60157.20
ETH 2416.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43