Inside NASAs Launch Control Center

in #space7 years ago

During my stay at NASA Kennedy Space Center with the International Space University in 2012, one of the highlights was seeing the inside of the Launch control center. For those of you who don’t know, Kennedy Space Center is where all the Apollo launches took place, as well as most of the Shuttle Missions. It is also where SpaceX did most of their early launches and are now operating a base. It is, in other words, the place to be if you want to see exciting launches! Want a peek inside?

425449_2937043285312_823349623_n.jpg
"The greatest launch team in the world enters through these doors"

Whoever decided on the words for the control-room door sure knew how to create a special atmosphere. I can only imagine what it’s like for the people working at launch control, to be re reminded on a daily basis that they are the very best. Considering the pressure these people have on their shoulders, I suspect it might play a positive role too. You can imagine being responsible for the life and safety of astronauts as they put their lives on the edge to push the boundaries of humanity. Or for sending crucial resupply cargo to the international space station, or military or commercial satellites worth over a billion dollars. It surely takes some nerve to say the word "go".

178324_10151034641619110_1173789449_o.jpg
View of the Launch control room from the point of view of the launch director

Me occupying the Launch Director's podium in the Launch control center
The launch control room consists mostly of a constellation of computers, packed with knobs, displays, keypads, buttons dials and a dedicated phone. These seats are occupied by the test conductors with responsibilities for different subsystems of the launch vehicles. Leading up to any launch, they will pay close attention to the information received from sensors onboard the rocket. Before the final countdown, protocols are followed where each of the different terminals is asked to confirm that their subsystems are ready for launch: "go", or "no go". If you’ve ever watched a rocket launch
Me in the launch control room Control Center
on an online stream then it’s people from this room that you hear talking before the final countdown starts. During the countdown, the sight of anything unusual from the terminals will result in a launch abortion. At which point the data that was read will be reviewed. If it's a minor issue, or a confusion that could be easily resolved, then the launch will typically be delayed until the next viable launch window. It is no easy job. On one hand, you have to be very risk-averse considering the overwhelming cost of an error. But at the same time, any cancellations can be very costly too, both for the space center and the clients waiting for their payload to be deployed.

The Apollo launch control room

I also got to see the insides of the old Apollo launch control room, which has been preserved due to its historical significance. To be honest, the only thing impressive about the room is the fact that people were able to rely on such old technologies and yet send men to the moon. It is hard for someone like myself to fully grasp just how far behind technology really was back then.

394643_2937041805275_1562800183_n.jpg
Me in the Apollo-era launch control room

The room consists partially of seats similar to the modern day control center for the launch team to communicate. Other than that, the room is filled with old computers with information mostly displayed on barometers rather than computer screens. Among other things, the panels display information on the status of fuel in the different stages of a Saturn V rocket. The information here is read off continuously from early launch preparation and until the payload has been successfully deployed by the rocket. The rocket continues to provide data through the different stage separations, allowing ground control to know if everything is playing out according to plan.

380699_10150956856303983_1552141757_n.jpg
241798_10151034642554110_457533429_o.jpg
Pictures taken of the firing room equipment and control panels used in the Apollo era

You've probably heard the fact that your average smartphone today has more computing power than the computers used to land a man on the moon. But then again, it does not take a whole lot of computing power to interpret signals sent from the sensors that the rockets are equipped with, nor do you need a fancy high definition screen to read and interpret a number. The Apollo launch systems serve as a healthy reminder, that although computing power might grow at an exponential pace, it does not necessarily mean that our ability to overcome tough challenges will improve.

Me in the launch control room Control Center
It was truly a unique experience to wander around in such a historic room. Although the equipment and computers are not that much of a spectacle, it was nevertheless fascinating to imagine how it must have been to work there during the peak of the Apollo era.

I hope you enjoyed this mini-tour of the launch control center! If you find my space adventure interesting then you may want to check out my post yesterday on getting a final glimpse of the Space Shuttles before they left for the museums, or from 2 days before about what it was like watching a Rocket Launch at NASA Kennedy Space Center! I look forward to sharing more of my experiences in the space sector, and look forward to engaging with you in the comments.

@Fredrikaa

Sort:  

Vintage control rooms are so impressive! Nowadays they look more like an office with computers... we should push for a space-era CR revival ;)

Are this guy really still making money on his FRAUD!? The whales should destroy his account for Steemits credit-ability!

Fredrik.png

He does have nice hair.

He is a fraud, he should not be paid 1 cent on Steemit, if we want Steemit to be the best place on the internet!

And he should burn what he have earned to fare of support homeless or something... which he should also do with his fiat salary!

He's a fraud? What exactly makes him a fraud?
Do you have any evidence?

Sorry, all of that supposed proof is crap. And in any case. You have not specified what makes fredrikaa, in particular, a fraud. Please elaborate.

real ballone no curve.png

If you come on Steemit with your real name and proof of identity and you are a well articulated and reasoning person, then lets have the flat earth debate in a video hang out and post it on steemit...

Else just shot up anonymous troll ballhead!!! You clearly don't know anything of value!

Everyone "working" for a "space agency" are frauds!

The horizon is below the centre point of the fish eye lens and therefore is distorted in the opposite direction to the curve. This is why it looks flat. Balloon footage with fish eye lenses can only prove anything if the horizon crosses the centre point. You can see that it's a fish eye lens if you watch the rest of the footage...


You are deflecting again. I'm not here to debate you. I asked a question. And you didn't give me any evidence of him being a fraud. Until you do your comment is baseless.

So Lasse, are you saying space is real and earth is flat, or is this fredrikaa saying that the earth is flat? :)

And how is he a fraud?

I'm interested in the topic and I'd like to know more!

Space is fake and earth is flat.

Here is my proof: https://steemit.com/flatearth/@lasseehlers/flat-earth-proof-1-my-first-flat-earth-proof-debunking-ball-earther-mathias-kp-who-made-the-turning-torso-ball-proof-video

All space agencies are fake and therefore are any person working for a "space agency" a fraud.

In your so-called "proof", the horizon is below the centre point of the fish eye lens and therefore is distorted in the opposite direction to the curve. This is why it looks flat. Balloon footage with fish eye lenses can only prove anything if the horizon crosses the centre point. You can see that it's a fish eye lens if you watch the rest of the footage...


Ok, lets just say, I dont know if it is flat or a ball. Or more precisely, it could be any shape, I am just mostly convinced that it is flat...

Ah, interesting. However that focused on how the earth is flat, but how space is fake? Isn't it up there above us?

Check out flatearthasshole at youtube.

Maybe I will,I just don't trust random people on youtube too much. Thanks for the tip anyway.

Earth is flat and space is fake! There are no ISS and NASA never been to the moon! Research it and yes I recommend FlatEarthAsshole on youtube on this topic among others.

For instance this video:

That is outstanding fredrikaa! I just got my Master's in Applied Math in December! I think I will be applying to NASA towards the end of the school year. I want bigger and better things than teaching. How insanely difficult is the interview process?

Thank you for reading @hansenator.
That's an awesome degree to have! I wish I took even more maths than I did, but hey, one can always learn new things on the side. :) I was never a NASA employee, as I state initially, I was there while at the International Space University, whose programme allowed me to stay 9 weeks at Kennedy Space Center in Florida.

I now work at the European Space Agency though, and one of my best friends is a planetary scientist at NASA JPL. There is, obviously, a lot of competitions for the jobs. Most of my friends also went to the International Space University for at least a summer to get some networks and field-knowledge in the space sector.

The good thing is, from your point of view, that most space agencies are facing a new need for young people. All those who were inspired by Apollo are now getting older, and so there is a need for new blood :) So try and apply! I would recommend going to something like ISU, just to get a better understanding of what specifically you want to do in the space sector, so that you can write an application that shows that you know exactly what you want, and can show that you're the right person for the job.

Thank you for commenting! I hope we can have some fruitful conversations here on steemit :) Followed you.

I'll apply to ISU for next Summer, should be fun! Too bad there aren't branches near me. I can apply to NASA throughout the year though. Haha. I already see that you are an amazing blogger. I can't wait to hear from you again! steemit.chat is good for contact too!

That's awesome to hear! Perhaps I will see you there then as I tend to try and attend the alumni weekends that are during the program :) Feel free to ask if you want some recommendations for writing the application!

Very happy to hear that you like what I'm writing. Happy to speak on either steem.chat or the steemspeak discord channel.

Take care

Ummmm.... YES! Lol. I will definitely let you know when I apply to either! My boss probably won't like the call from NASA for a rec. because she kinda needs me there. I will get you on steemit.chat when I'm ready. How early should I apply for the school?

I applied in January, but I would recommend you to read the questions and looking into whether there are some scholarship-opportunities in your country. For me, the Norwegian Space Agency were of great help.

Will do! Thank you! I wouldn't mind a Scholarship. Saving is important at this stage of life.... or any.

That is so cool, the old and the new control room! I like the pic of you behind the launch director podium, ha-ha. And you mentioned the thing about smart phones having the power of the Apollo computers that I was thinking about! Also, I gave you a shout out as my steemit Carl Sagan in my latest post. Please keep posting awesome articles like these.

Thank you very much @travelman, I really appreciate your comments :)
Hehe yes, I've used the picture behind the launch director podium in a few presentations and memes ^^ a fun picture to have!

Really appreciate you gicing me a shoutout! I'll go and have a look at the post :)

I'm loving the tour of the Space Center.

This is because of you I am able to see inside the space center. I never thought it will be possible to watch it even online.

You welcome! Hope you're enjoying the posts :) more to come!

I am just waiting for more stuff from you. You can also get some great stuff at my posts from photo manipulations to 3D architectural visualizations.

i hope NASA today upgraded all their equipment digitally cause by the look of these photos, they seem so old fashioned

Haha, well don't expect much! As I wrote in the article, it doesn't require a whole lot computing-wise. The space sector is very conservative when it comes to implementing new and untested technologies. The gains of slightly better computers in this particular instance is not very high, while the loss of something going wrong is enormous!

Hey I don't know if you remember me telling you about my late uncle being an astronaut in NASA. But I recently found out his father, George M. Low, was actually the guy who told John F Kennedy to pursue the moon missions and thus was in charge of the Apollo missions.

Whats the freaking chances my friend? I couldnt believe it when I found out. I thought out of anyone you would appreciate this especially with this post in particular.

Here here is: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/George_Low

Yes, I do remember! :)
But I thought George David Low was born 1956? Or did you write your uncle's name instead?

Oh I guess you must have edited it, yes George M. Low sounds more like it :)

Yep yep sorry my bad hahaha :)

That is a great experience to be sharing!!!

You should team up with a big YouTuber: Cody Dawne of the channel: Cody's Lab
He is training and on the waiting list for SpaceX or another space initiative.

Anyway, good stuff, you have my Follow!!

Thanks a lot @em3 I'm happy to hear that you liked it :)

And thank you also for the recommendation, I will check him out.

The control room looks like it can be use for Gravitation experiments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60728.44
ETH 2653.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59