A final glimpse of the Space Shuttles before they left for the museums

in #space7 years ago (edited)

In my last post, I wrote about the day I watched a rocket launch at NASA Kennedy Space Center. As it happened, this was also the day that Space Shuttle Atlantis, the final Shuttle in the Shuttle-program, was moved out of Kennedy Space Center and sent to the Visitor’s Complex to feature in their space museum. In other words, it was the last chance to see any of the Shuttles outside an American museum.

me shuttle.jpg
Me standing behind Space Shuttle Atlantis as it is moved out of Kennedy Space Center for the last time

The two last Space Shuttles to fly, Endeavour (May 2011) and Atlantis (June 2011), were both been kept inside the Vehicle Assembly Building (VAB) at Kennedy when we arrived. Here they were being prepared one last time before being sent to different museums, allowing us to have a final close-up look inside and outside.


Space Shuttle Atlantis inside the VAB, the fifth largest building in the world by volume


A view from the Shuttle door and up towards the ceiling.

The VAB is not like any other building you’ve seen. Despite the building being 160 meters tall, it has no floors and is instead only one giant room. Indeed, it is so huge that clouds have sometimes formed indoors underneath the ceiling, resulting in rain pouring down on the spacecraft and employees. While standing inside I could not help but feel small. I can only imagine what it would be like when the 110-meter-tall Saturn V rocket was standing inside, whilst engineers were working at different levels of the rocket.

269862_1832059322793_7466845_n.jpg
A little sneak-peek of the cockpit inside Space Shuttle Endeavour

As awesome of a day that it was for me, it was very special for the seniors working at Kennedy Space Center. For decades, the Shuttle program had been occupying most of their time and energy. With the first test launches in 1981, the Shuttle program had then lasted for 30 years until its cancellation in November 2011. You can imagine how many Kennedy-employees had worked on hardly anything else for most of their adult careers, making it very special to watch it come to an end. Following the cancellation of the Shuttle-program, Kennedy was forced to lay off a high number of engineers and the United States was then, for the first time since the Apollo era, left without the ability to send astronauts to orbit using American launch vehicles. In other words, it was a significant day for American space history.

202620_10151140715221550_370748982_o.jpg
Space Shuttle Atlantis as it's being tugged away

Later on, the Space Shuttle Endeavour was then flown away on top of an airplane. I remember watching the video, which is quite a unique thing to witness when you know that the Shuttle weighs around 75 000kg (165 000 pounds). I remember first thinking “there goes a piece of space-history”, before joking to my friends later on that I now call BS on airlines charging over-weight fees for heavy luggage. If it can carry the Shuttle, then it can carry my extra clothes too!

250381_3787471526876_2044471039_n.jpg
Space Shuttle Endeavour on top of a modified Boeing 747-100

Today, the Shuttles are scattered across the United States. For those of you interested in seeing them, you can find Shuttle Atlantis at the Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex in Florida, Shuttle Discovery at the Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center in Virginia, Shuttle Endeavour at California Science Center, and Shuttle Enterprise at the Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum in New York. Below you can see Space Shuttle Atlantis, the one from most of my pictures, displayed at the Visitor's Complex.


Space Shuttle Atlantis at the Kennedy Space Center Visitor's Complex.
source

Needless to say, it was an extraordinary day. First witnessing a rocket launch from a VIP terrace at the Space Center, and then getting to see the Shuttles up close on such a historic day. Tomorrow I will take you inside the NASA Kennedy Space Center’s mission control room, including the preserved room used during the Apollo era! So stay tuned ;)

Sort:  
Loading...

good post
110c32d95bc603b1503d21e0ad266e5b--picture-comments-comment-memes.jpg

Really cool post and how amazing to be able to se this close up 😃 must have been a good experience.
Really powerful mashine the raket.
Thank you for sharing this post it was very interesting reading.
Have a great day. Upvoted and Resteemed

Thanks a lot @saffisara !
Really appreciate your comments and engagement:) It sure was an amazing day! And a great set of memories to have with me:)

I hope you'll have a great day too!

You are welcome 😊 It was a really interesting reading. Can emagine many great memories from that day. So cool to see the pictures.
Have a great day.

When I visited the Shuttle Discovery for the first time, I was taken aback at just how large it is. I was amazed because watching them on TV for years made them seem so small, especially against the sky during launches. I'm sure it was great getting to see the shuttles before they were carried away. The 747s they transported them on have also always been a marvel of engineering to me. Thanks for sharing, I really enjoyed the photos!

Indeed. To think that this beast could be launched into orbit too is really impressive.
Seeing them up close inside the Kennedy facilities was especially cool, knowing it was the end of a chapter in human history.

Very glad that you liked the post! Appreciate having you here :)

I'll have to try to visit the other shuttles some day. I'll be on the lookout for more fun posts from you. Looks like you have a great job!

Great work on this post. I like the views of the shuttle and the facts mentioned in the post. I never thought of buildings big enough that clouds from in them, thats pretty cool.

Thanks a lot! I'm happy you read it and liked it :)
Yeah, I remember being blown away by it as well. but then again, I remember walking alongside the top of the Fjords back home in Norway. There I experienced seeing think clouds inside the fjords beneath my feet. So I knew that they could form at a few hundred meters from ground level. So not that surprising when you think about it.

wow I can only imagine what an awesome experience this must've been. Really nice pics too. Thanks for sharing.

It was pretty damn awesome!
Knowing just how many times those had gone to space and back. Marvellous technology, just too bad they were so bloody expensive to run :/

Very interesting... and cool that you got to see this, up close and personal! This is such an interesting part of humanity's recent history-- appreciate the share!

Totally agree. Glad you liked it :)

Thanks for the great post. I am happy you were able to experience this.

I do not work for NASA but growing up 10 minutes from the Johnson Space Center in Houston, and later working in fields/companies closely related, the space program has always been a part of my life. I was fortunate enough to participate in a non-public, behind scenes directors tour of the Johnson Space Center a few years before the shuttle program ended. It was an amazing experience.

Finally, on the day of Endeavor's final flight from Florida to California, they made a low altitude fly-by in Houston to honor the city's role in the space program. I was fortunate enough to witness that event. Here is the Endeavor as it flies over Intercontinental Airport in Houston.

Endeavor.png

That's awesome man! It must be amazing to see the space shuttles that close

You have too much fun to call this "work". How about you create a "My day at work" post?^^

I already did that here!. But also, this was from when I went to the International Space University. So it was during a space studies program and not while at work :p

Then we need a follow up post haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62261.29
ETH 2614.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56