Solar panel power output considerations, for a homestead installation!

in #solar6 years ago (edited)

Okay, let us start at the start. A solar panel confuses a lot of people; but it shouldn't. They are, at the end user level, reasonably simple. You do NOT need to understand the manufacturing process, only how to use them.

This picture is from Pixabay:
pixabay solar panel.jpg

So let's reduce the solar panels to the most basic level. All you need to know is that a single cell is similar to a 1/2 volt battery, when the sun in on the cell. The larger the area, the higher the current output, however the voltage on a cell the size of a quarter; will be the same as a cell 6 inches diameter. If you series these two cells, the output will be 1 volt, and it will be limited by the current output of the “quarter sized” cell. NOTE: IF One solar cell is in the shade, it will not generate power; and there will be no power output from the entire panel!

So now you know how to tell that this panel pictured above; is an 18 volt panel, RIGHT?

NOW, let's talk about configuration. Wait, don't run, configuration is simple; it is just how we connect cells up up to get what we want, POWER! We know that each cell acts as a ½ volt battery, so we will start there. If we want a 12 volt panel, we have to connect 24 one half volt cells in series (like the old style Christmas lights), with one connected to the next one; with the negative to the next positive.

We also need to know that the cells are fastened to the back side of a piece of a clear material, and connect as stated above, and are ordered by the planned system voltage. These clear fronts should be set up perpendicular to the angle of the sun to collect the maximum power possible. These surfaces need to kept clean or the power output will suffer.

Now, let's talk connections. You can hook up just about any way you decide, BUT, there are well designed connectors that are not very expensive, available on line; do Not skimp here, a corroded connection here can kill your system. So please buy the commercial connections, and spray, them with silicone. Size your wiring to the panel output. A 45 watt panel outputs less than 4 amps at 12 volts, and the wiring can be light duty(16 AWG). A255 watt panel (the size I have) will output over twenty amps at 12 volts, and will need much heavier wire (10 AWG).

This leads us to efficiency, or power drop. A small wire, over a long distance, especially with DC Battery voltage; will drop a lot of voltage across that wire. If you are NOT certain of voltage drop, it is always smarter to install larger diameter wire! This is the second place NOT to skimp on money! You are spending top dollar on a solar panel, don't burn up all that good with, small diameter, cheap wiring! There is no substitute for large diameter copper here. Any loss in the wire is energy you have paid a premium for, that is permanently lost.

Panel output is never solely the battery voltage, but will give you a higher voltage to allow the panel to charge the battery. A 12 volt panel will be 16 to 18 volts, to allow the charge controller to push 12 volts into the battery. This allows for some voltage drop as mentioned above, while still charging the storage batteries. Different voltage systems have similar percentage bumps, for the same reasons.

Now, we need to address the panel voltage itself. The most common (and lowest cost) alternate power system is 12 volts. The most efficient (of the more common) alternate power system is 48 Volts. The 12 volt system has the advantage of more components from more vendors. The disadvantage is that the wiring must be significantly heavier on the low voltage wiring. With a 48 Volt system, there is less loss on the lower voltage side of the inverter that makes the needed AC output Voltage. The system I chose runs at 24 Volts; which was selected because any voltage below 28 Volts can be run without added conduit, and is defined as Intrinsically safe. This also cuts my low voltage current requirement in half, while giving me better efficiency. I bought 24 volt panels, but you can series two 12 volt panels to feed a 24 volt system, and four can be wired in series to feed a 48 Volt system. So if you have not decided on system voltages before you must order panels, get 12 volt panels, then wire them to match your system voltage.

Sort:  

in our country solar panel is very useful for us.,,becouse we have a lot of load shading....

Panels are good anywhere, but they are best where the grid is worst. Then they can become a lifesaver at that time. This is a wise investment for everyone these days. Some power is good, more power is better! :D

Building everything you can is a good way to reduce costs I have purchased the first 1500 watts of panels, but I have enough cells to build 2000 watts more. The 2000 watts will cost less than half of the 1500 watts cost. I want 5000 watts in my final system. :)

I will add posts on each component, to allow someone to build an entire system. Be Blessed. :D

I can sort of follow! I have mostly done sales, but it does help me to understand what's under the hood as it were. Thanks for sharing your knowledge. I'll see if I can find some others who can geek out with you. Look forward to seeing your system come together. Some videos might be cool when you get to the building.

Just trying to remove some of the mystery from the solar system. That are easier to work with if they are not a mystery. The parts are not complex, at a user level, so if I can help someone out there understand exactly what they are using, they will understand how it works, and maybe someone will be able to put together one for themselves.

I didn't know how to discord this. Can you coach me?

Progress is frustratingly slow, for reasons you know, but when I get out there, there will be videos, LOL! :)

Sure! Copy the url of the post and then paste it into one of the ecotrain channels. I think there's a renewable energy one. This post can help a lot of people.

I wish discord would run Unix, it would be a lot easier! :'( Jumping back and forth is difficult, but I will make a run at it....

Hmm. Maybe email it to yourself on the UNIX and then get it off the email on the tablet?

I got it copied, but couldn't paste it in discord. I will try again. :D

It wouldn't paste the url link? That's weird.

Learning Discord, Steemit, and a new tablet; at the same time! I am sure it is MY fault, and I won't be able to study the problem before Monday. :(

But I will figure it out! >:(

sir smithlabs! so solar panels are a good idea if you live in a 3rd world country like Oklahoma right? Now in Texas we have our own grid in case the rest of the jokers can't handle a little black out.

You have "smart meters" too, so you have no power grid either. I worked on a power problem yesterday for my BFF, and he lost a central unit and then had a wire on the power company's side melt down, from that damn meter!

He is still not back up on the central unit at that rental house. >:(

sir smithlabs..they won't give you a hard time if you're off grid?

My land, my solar, my rifle...I'm good, LOL! ♡♡♡

haha! ok sir well I suppose it should help that you're in Oklahoma instead of Florida or California.

Oklahoma is obviously best, but all states are better than Ca. and Fl.! :)

sir smithlabs, I thought you would say CA and New York, what's wrong with Florida?

No place to go, in a wilderness survival situation. Population density is too high, can't get clear to a safe location, unless you go out to sea in a large boat. Not my preferred survival skill set. NYC sucks, but up-state are kindred spirits. Ca is infested with crazies, and has no real local source for water. I can survive in a desert, but a lot of liberals will die out that direction. ☆☆☆

You should change one tag to “offgrid” or “selfsufficient”. There is more traffic to see your posts. Also “homesteading” not homested, anyways that’s what I observed.

We are cooking up a wishlist for a solar panel grid system. We have so much that needs done first, and fall is approaching fast😕

Thanks, I will make those changes.If you are willing to build your own panels, you can get chipped cells from Ebay, that are very reasonable. I have a large stack of them myself I plan to mount on the back of some plate glass I have been bartering for. :)

Thanks for that tip! It’s hard hard to things for an okay price in Alaska

Ebay might charge some extra shipping, but if you can find the glass, you have a reasonable cost solar panel

eBay shipping is bad. I might as well live on the moon.😕

What about amazon Prime? Ebay will usually offer at cost shipping, if you ask them.

Yeah great info...
I think a lot of people (including me) shy away from the intricacy of the electronic aspects of wiring and solar etc.. As if it is some 'dark art'.
I always ask loads of dumb questions and thrash out all my queries at the early stage... Then go see loads of examples of fit-outs from various places.
I always try and do things myself, but only when i am comfortable that i know most of the ins-and-outs.

A thing, once understood, becomes a tool to improve your life. Looking over what is possible, by way of working systems, is both prudent and intelligent; and a reasonable course to follow. ♡♡♡

Very interesting, Jon. I got more than half of that. How much would it cost to set up a system just for running a 12-volt refrigerator?

Depends on what the refrigerator draws. I found a full sized chest type freezer that draws only 72 watts that one homestead turned warmer, and used as a refrigerator. These panels produce 255 watts, So a single panel will make enough run that freezer for about five hours for every hour of sun. Panel $300, charger $50, Battery $150 (deep cycle), and the inverter$100.

So $600 if you buy everything, and $400 if you build your own solar panels from scratch.
:)

I have a spare deep-cycle marine battery...so $450. Except I have no idea what I am doing... Still fascinating to read and contemplate. Sounds like the payback would be about 3-4 years, huh, for a standard refrigerator?

You decide to build it, I will be happy to walk you through the process. :D

OK...I appreciate that, Toby. I may tackle that next summer at our camp...

Sounds good. Just let me know! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63687.39
ETH 3309.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93