The End of a Long Distance Relationship

in #sndbox7 years ago

Our journey to parenthood is quite typical for Filipino parents. For a few years we had to entrust raising our kids to their grandparents as @dandalion and I try our hardest to build a career in our chosen field.

received_10155562447919900.jpeg

Our first born Lucy was raised in @dandalion's hometown in Davao, while we were working in Manila. In distance that's nearly a thousand Kilometers if travelled in straight line, an hour and fourty five minutes flight, or three whole days by boat. Because we were saving up, we were not able to see her very often. Summer of this year is yet the happiest vacation I took from my fourteen years in the corporate world. Not so much because of the break from the monotony of things in office, but really more because it was a trip when we fetched our Lucy to finally live with us.

Summer of 2008 when @dandalion gave birth to our youngest daughter. We were both working in Makati at the time. When asked about what is my happiest moment, my answer is always "meeting my daughters for the first time". I still remember the feeling of awe seeing our newly born Sam for the first time. I wasn't arround when our Lucy was born, and she's not quite a baby anymore when I first get to meet her, but that's for another post. Still, seeing her for the first time felt no different from seeing our newly born Sam for the first time.

Sam lived with my folks in Bulacan for five years. Unlike the long intervals of our visits to Davao to be with Lucy, we got to see Sam at least every weekend. Bulacan being only fourty five Kilometers from where were working, and nothing but an hour and a half travel by bus, costing us no more than five dollars a trip; we took it as often as possible for five years so we can spend more time with at least one of our children. Never without feeling bad for not being able to do the same with Lucy.

FB_IMG_1512482023310.jpg

When Lucy turned nine years old, and Sam five, I got a promotion which gave me a raise enough to cover for @dandalion's salary. Even before that we already had some target income in mind for when she will quit the corporate world, and focus her time and energy on affording ourselves with a life where we can finally live as a normal family; together.

FB_IMG_1512483006551.jpg

With @dandalion's corporate handcuff removed, we moved to Bulacan, got our own place, and finally got Sam. This meant that I'd have to travel 3-4 hours a day in Manila traffic to and from the office, been doing this for the past four years, and the sacrifice is all worth it. I wouldn't trade a more comfortable way for the joy I get from seeing the kids everyday.

Four years more from @dandalion's quiting her work -planning our finances, searching for the perfect place to raise Sam and Lucy, some safety net from investing, and surviving daily away from our Lucy led us to this point when we can finally be together as a family.

Here is a timelapse video of putting our first Christmas tree as a family introduced by our Sam:

@dandalion and I are normally confident persons, we only ever question ourselves about being good parents. For a bit, while we were preparing for a life with our kids, we spent reading some materials on parenthood. This activity stopped quickly enough upon realizing that nobody can can tell us how to be expert parents to "OUR" kids. To be honest, we still are not sure we are doing it right, we don't even know what "doing it right" means. For as long as we are using our heads and our experiences as a guide, and our love for Lucy and Sam first and foremost, I think they'll grow up to be fine young adults, and hopefully much much later; good parents themselves.

follow_steemitph.gif

STEEMITPH.png

Sort:  

walay sama kanindot lantawon kundi ang malipayon ug kompleto nga pamilya Sir. Merry Christmas :)

Malipayong Pasko pud ninyo ma'am. ☺

From where I stand, you definitely are doing it right. Lucy and Sam hit the jackpot in the parent lottery :)

nothing is better as bein surrounded by people who love eachother, it is the biggest treasure we get in our live. I wish you good health love, happiness and steem

Thanks. You're right. Delighted that we are all finally together.

Yes it is a common thing in the Philippines, but it usually is never an easy thing to do. I have a niece with 6 children and 2 of them live with her mother most of the year. They do get to visit once or twice a year though, sometimes more.

Wow! 6 kids, that's a lot! We had a hard time with just 2. I hope things work out for them too in the end.

It is really hard to love away from your children. I can personally attest to that. That's why when we had the chance, we also made it a point that our eldest son who lived with my parents for the first 4 years of his life, be reunited with us. He is now 8. I cannot say that it's been all candies and chocolates ever since but bottom line is we are now living as a complete family through thick or thin.
Cheers, arrliinn
😉

Ma'am @arrliinn, I am happy you for you and Kenny. It sure isn't easy living away from family.

Great that your life is working out now. I do wonder why you had kids so young when you had work plans that would get in the way. Why not wait until now to have a family?

Wish I met you some 14 years ago :-). You're right, things could have been a lot better (easier too) for us have we waited. Our kids are amazing, and I can truly say we have no regrets.

That's all that matters. You are happy.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Me and my husband are working here in UAE where I born my son too. My husband's employer didnt want to pay for my son's insurance even it is in UAE's labor law (i'l just skip to that). In short, we paid for it for about 80K pesos - insurance and visa which we loaned from my sister na gang ngaun inuunti unti pa naming binabayran because we also have other bills to settle. The thought of leaving our son in the Philippines is unbearable. kaya kahit medyo baon2 sa utang, kinakaya as long na kasama namin anak namin. Kaya congratulations po sa inyo. Kahit anong hirap basta magkasama lang ang pamilya, Ok na.

Happy holidays sir Red and @dandalion . Reading this post is really heart warming.

Nothing really beats having your loved ones together in one place.

You're right. No one can tell you how you can be an expert parents to your kids. This is a journey of growth you all undertake together as a family and to be honest I really admire the way you have both handled it all and how far you have come.

Lucy is a STAR and I really enjoyed your video. Thanks for sharing your family with us 🎄 🎄 🎄 🎄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58981.94
ETH 3097.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38